Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't know what guide you are using but the NBA does not come on INHD. I would suggest you try using Titantv.com for a guide. It's free and shows what is on in HD after you enter the cable channels and your zip code.

The voice/audio is frequently out of sync. This is not a TWC problem but a network problem. I get the channels both OTA and via Cable and there is no difference. The sync problem was much worse a couple of years ago and has gotten better but it is still a problem.

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DianaTWCSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The answer is IN HD 1 & IN HD 2 are not yet launched in Summerville due to bandwidth constraints. We have just begun an upgrade of the Summerville system. Upon completion of the upgrade in your area, you will receive these channels. If you will PM me your home telephone number I will make sure that (1) you do not have the service code for the HD Tier on your account - in Columbia and Florence-Myrtle Beach, where we have been able to launch these services, they are currently free, so even if you have had the code put on your account, you will not have received any charges for them to date (2) check to see what sort of installation fees appear on your account. TWC DOES NOT charge for installation of Digital Converters of any type (SD or HD), so if you received a charge I need to see why and issue credits accordingly.

So, problem one is a problem is with the guide data, IN HD programming should not appear on the IPG in Summerville. I will take the steps to correct this tomorrow.

The lip-sync is something I don't have an answer for, but I will touch base with the Tech Ops Manager in Summerville and have him look into your account and what is going on with it. Which HD converter model do you have? 3100, 3250 or 8000HD?

Diana Smith
Director of Marketing for Video Services
Read our Phil the Cable Guy Blog!
DianaTWCSC is offline  
post #723 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
M_OReilly16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Matthews,NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the channel guide on my remote. It's TW channel guide. And yes NBA is on INHD, so is NHL hockey according to INHD previews for next week. If this is not true, INHD is false advertising.
M_OReilly16 is offline  
post #724 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
M_OReilly16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Matthews,NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DianaTWCSC, I live in Matthews, NC. It is just outside of Charlotte. Thanks for the quick responses, now this is what I call customer support!
M_OReilly16 is offline  
post #725 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DianaTWCSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by DianaTWCSC
The answer is IN HD 1 & IN HD 2 are not yet launched in Summerville due to bandwidth constraints. We have just begun an upgrade of the Summerville system. Upon completion of the upgrade in your area, you will receive these channels. If you will PM me your home telephone number I will make sure that (1) you do not have the service code for the HD Tier on your account - in Columbia and Florence-Myrtle Beach, where we have been able to launch these services, they are currently free, so even if you have had the code put on your account, you will not have received any charges for them to date (2) check to see what sort of installation fees appear on your account. TWC DOES NOT charge for installation of Digital Converters of any type (SD or HD), so if you received a charge I need to see why and issue credits accordingly.

So, problem one is a problem is with the guide data, IN HD programming should not appear on the IPG in Summerville. I will take the steps to correct this tomorrow.

The lip-sync is something I don't have an answer for, but I will touch base with the Tech Ops Manager in Summerville and have him look into your account and what is going on with it. Which HD converter model do you have? 3100, 3250 or 8000HD?


What I bozo am I - I thought this was the Charleston thread! My entry is correct for Summerville, SC - if anyone cares, but have nothing to do with Charlotte!

I'm so sorry.

Diana Smith
Director of Marketing for Video Services
Read our Phil the Cable Guy Blog!
DianaTWCSC is offline  
post #726 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You must be confusing INHD with HDnet as INHD does not have NBA, NHL, etc. HDnet does have these programs. Your INHD channels are 290 and 291 and HDnet is 292 and 293. This applies to the Charlotte area.

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #727 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
M_OReilly16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Matthews,NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I guess your right about that. Those are the channels I am talking about. Sorry .But the issue is still the same, they are not showing what is on the TW channel guide.
M_OReilly16 is offline  
post #728 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 05:39 PM
Member
 
e137811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't know what the deal is but when TW Charlotte shows an NBA game on channel 141 NBA TV they usually show the same game in High Definition on one of the 2 INHD stations. A game is on right now on channel 290. New Orleans vs Milwaukee. It's the same feed as NBA TV channel 141 except it is in high definition. They don't have many games & I think the next one is on 2/17. It's not listed on the INHD schedule on there web site?
e137811 is offline  
post #729 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
rcase13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by e137811
I don't know what the deal is but when TW Charlotte shows an NBA game on channel 141 NBA TV they usually show the same game in High Definition on one of the 2 INHD stations. A game is on right now on channel 290. New Orleans vs Milwaukee. It's the same feed as NBA TV channel 141 except it is in high definition. They don't have many games & I think the next one is on 2/17. It's not listed on the INHD schedule on there web site?

I see these from time to time. They do have NBA games but there doesn't seem to be any ryhme or reason as to when they will play what. Looks great though!

Rodney
rcase13 is offline  
post #730 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 06:00 PM
Member
 
e137811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Time Warner in Raleigh has a schedule posted at
http://www.twcnc.com/digital_cable/NBA_hd_sched.htm
Of course I don't know if this has anything to do with TW Charlotte's schedule for NBA HD games.
Also TW Texas has a press release at
http://www.timewarneraustin.com/news...leases1_62.asp
It says TW will be carrying 33 NBA HDTV games this season on INHD.
I would assume we would get these games on TW Charlotte
e137811 is offline  
post #731 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 06:18 PM
Newbie
 
M_OReilly16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Matthews,NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, there showing the NBA game right now. LOL, as soon as I start complaining, it starts working right. Go figure. I just hope that it stays consistent from here on out. There is also suppose to be some NHL hockey games on next week too. I sure hope they show em.
M_OReilly16 is offline  
post #732 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 06:24 PM
Member
 
e137811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The NHL High Definition games are on HDNET.
The schedule is at
http://www.hd.net/nhlinhd.html
e137811 is offline  
post #733 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The picture on channel 190 right now is not in HD. These are not presented by INHD and I don't know where the feed comes from.

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #734 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 07:31 PM
Member
 
e137811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It sure is HD & It's an agreement Time Warner made with NBA-TV to show NBA Games in HD on the two INJD channels carried on TW. The feed is coming from NBA-TV HD & not from INHD.
e137811 is offline  
post #735 of 7911 Old 02-07-2004, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
M_OReilly16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Matthews,NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you e137811. I can't wait to see the Flyers/Devils game Tuesday.
M_OReilly16 is offline  
post #736 of 7911 Old 02-08-2004, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by e137811
It sure is HD & It's an agreement Time Warner made with NBA-TV to show NBA Games in HD on the two INJD channels carried on TW. The feed is coming from NBA-TV HD & not from INHD.

I know you are right but the picture I've got is not HD by a long shot. Don't know why as INHD always is and so is HDnet. But this picture I've got is horrible compared to HD. It looked like SD and each time I went back to check it out it looked the same. Very strange. And I'm aware of the agreement between TWC and Fox was involved as well. TWC sure hasn't advertised it anywhere and that is very poor.

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #737 of 7911 Old 02-08-2004, 09:07 AM
Member
 
e137811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's strange that the picture you got for this NBA game on TW Charlotte 290 is so poor. The picture I got for the actual game is among the best I have gotten. Rates right up there with the CBS College football games that were HDTV. But you are sure right about TW Charlotte keeping this a secret. TW Raleigh has a schedule right on there web site.
e137811 is offline  
post #738 of 7911 Old 02-08-2004, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kevinivey is offline  
post #739 of 7911 Old 02-08-2004, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by kevinivey
Us to : http://www.twcsc.com/hdtv_NBA.htm

Keith,

Why can't Charlotte post something like this on your site? We really need it as you never tell us when this programming is going to be available.

Hugh

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #740 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 06:13 AM
Member
 
whiteoakct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if this thread is just for TWC issues or not but here goes.....

Did anyone else watching last night's Grammys OTA lose the HD feed at about 11:00pm ? Could WBTV have "set the timer" to go off at 11:00 and cut over to SD ?
whiteoakct is offline  
post #741 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
cajunlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it happend to us also.
cajunlab is offline  
post #742 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Most likely yes.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #743 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 06:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WBTV does that all the time and it drives me crazy. I should also add that WSOC also does it as well and frequently it will go off two or three minutes before 11 so their clocks don't work either.

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #744 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Charles C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was afraid that was going to happen. I had waited the whole night to see Outkast sing "Hey Ya," only to have to watch it in expanded SD mode. Which after 3 hours of brilliant HD and 5.1 DD sound, was quite anticlimactic.

But the rest of the telecast was amazing. One thing, though: Did anyone get a little pixelization during the "information heavy" scenes, like when strobe lights were going off? I didn't know if that was an MPEG decoding issue on the transmission end and everyone gets it, or if it's inherent to software/hardware on 1080i CRT televisions (which I have).

Charles
Charles C is offline  
post #745 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
lstokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Charles- I'm glad you mentioned the strobes. I noticed significant pixilation when the strobes were hitting the camera lens. I assume this had to do with unusually quick transitions from darker scenes to totally white. But that pixilation was very short.

I'm watching a Sammy DLP.
lstokes is offline  
post #746 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 01:53 PM
Member
 
savagez3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what package I have to get from TWC Charlotte to get HD from them? Looking at their pricing and reading between the lines, it looks like I need "basic cable" and "cable service" and "navigator+" and "digital variety tier" just to get the HD channels that are available OTA. This seems crazy to have to pay $62.45 just to get the OTA HD channels, especially when several of the channels (ABC and WB) are not actually broadcasting the HD versions.

By comparison, it would appear I can get HD HBO with 'Basic Cable" and "Navigator+" and "HBO" for $32.04.
savagez3 is offline  
post #747 of 7911 Old 02-09-2004, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
doppler1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Verona, WI (Charter/OTA)
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by savagez3
Does anyone know what package I have to get from TWC Charlotte to get HD from them? Looking at their pricing and reading between the lines, it looks like I need "basic cable" and "cable service" and "navigator+" and "digital variety tier" just to get the HD channels that are available OTA. This seems crazy to have to pay $62.45 just to get the OTA HD channels, especially when several of the channels (ABC and WB) are not actually broadcasting the HD versions.

By comparison, it would appear I can get HD HBO with 'Basic Cable" and "Navigator+" and "HBO" for $32.04.

I'm not 100% sure, but I believe that you can get the basic HD (CBS, ABC, NBC, Fox) channels for "free" as long as you subscribe to Basic + Navigator+ ($9.38+7.61 = 16.99), and you should? be able to add HBO for $11.95 = $28.94/month.

If you want to have the digital channels, it's cheaper to subscribe to a package - $59.00/month for the Digital variety package which includes the box and everything... If you want HBO with the digital channels and other cable channels, it would be $68.00/month for the Digital Value Package.
doppler1 is offline  
post #748 of 7911 Old 02-10-2004, 03:56 AM
Member
 
savagez3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, looking more closely I seem to find two contradictory statements on the TWC site. Their HDTV page says


We continue to offer the HD basic lineup at no additional charge, which includes high definition programming from ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, PBS, UNCTV, HBO*, Showtime*, Discovery HD Theater and select Fox Sports regional sports.
*Subscription to corresponding Digital Channel Required


This is from http://www.twcarolina.com/services/c...gitalcable.asp which implies no additional charge!

However, looking at the channel line up, the 'digital variety tier' has the following channels listed


UNC-TV HD *
WBTV-HD *
WCCB-HD*
WCNC-HD *
WTVI-HD *
WSOC-HD *


This is from http://www.twcarolina.com/services/c...er_variety.asp

Confused? You should be...
savagez3 is offline  
post #749 of 7911 Old 02-10-2004, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
At the present moment if you get their digital box you get all the HD channels free except the two INHDs and the two HDnets. These four channels cost $6.50. Naturally you have to buy HBO as always. But if you are getting HBO it doesn't cost more to get HBO in HD.

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #750 of 7911 Old 02-10-2004, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
chief17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on when we might see ESPN-HD from Time Warner?
chief17 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off