Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 266 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #7951 of 7968 Old 11-16-2014, 06:11 PM
jrs
Senior Member
 
jrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte,NC, USA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
Sadly, no. Still the same 56/5.5 that I've had for a while.
I checked, same here, and, same here...
jrs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7952 of 7968 Old 11-17-2014, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
All digital change over.

When they go all digital in Charlotte will TV's that are cable ready with QAM tuners still work or will you need a cable box for each TV?
Zaxcom is offline  
post #7953 of 7968 Old 11-17-2014, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
When they go all digital in Charlotte will TV's that are cable ready with QAM tuners still work or will you need a cable box for each TV?
Probably not..on Charter in this area, there are no analogs nor clear qams...I suspect twc fill do same, tho maybe not on day one...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #7954 of 7968 Old 11-17-2014, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
When they go all digital in Charlotte will TV's that are cable ready with QAM tuners still work or will you need a cable box for each TV?
TWC markets like NYC and LA that have gone full digital encrypted all channels
nyctveng is offline  
post #7955 of 7968 Old 11-17-2014, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
When they go all digital in Charlotte will TV's that are cable ready with QAM tuners still work or will you need a cable box for each TV?
The only un-encrypted QAM's will be your locals, the rest will be encrypted.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #7956 of 7968 Old 11-17-2014, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
The only un-encrypted QAM's will be your locals, the rest will be encrypted.
I wonder how long we have till Charlotte does the switch over?
Zaxcom is offline  
post #7957 of 7968 Old 11-22-2014, 08:08 AM
jrs
Senior Member
 
jrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte,NC, USA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
I wonder how long we have till Charlotte does the switch over?
How much do regular (no-dvr) cable boxes cost when they switch? I have several TVs that currently use just the analog feed.
jrs is offline  
post #7958 of 7968 Old 11-22-2014, 05:43 PM
Member
 
stannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs View Post
How much do regular (no-dvr) cable boxes cost when they switch? I have several TVs that currently use just the analog feed.
They have a digital terminal adapter which is currently free and may be $1-$2/month next year. It has no features, just gives you essentially the same thing that you have now.

A non-dvr cable box is about $9/month but it has more features than just tuning (on demand, look back, etc.)
stannc is offline  
post #7959 of 7968 Old 11-26-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
Sometime in the past week my TWC modem rebooted itself and I went from 8x1 to 8x4. Will wonders never cease?
This happened to my modem last night in Huntersville.

I had to do a manual power cycle as the Internet stopped in the middle of watching a movie on Netflix. When I rebooted the modem the indicators had turned blue from green and when I checked it, it's now 8x4 bonding.

Like you no DL speed change but upload is running about 10% faster.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #7960 of 7968 Old 11-28-2014, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Like you no DL speed change but upload is running about 10% faster.
That wasn't due to the channel bonding....
ke4pym is online now  
post #7961 of 7968 Old 11-29-2014, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 22
8x4 will give some reliability but sharing 320Mbps with over 250 others in your service group is still a weak spot. Imo.
ybsane is offline  
post #7962 of 7968 Old 12-01-2014, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
8x4 will give some reliability but sharing 320Mbps with over 250 others in your service group is still a weak spot. Imo.
Communication lines have been shared for a very long time, even back in the electro mechanical switching days. It's really irrelevant as long as the service being paid for is delivered.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #7963 of 7968 Old 12-01-2014, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Communication lines have been shared for a very long time, even back in the electro mechanical switching days. It's really irrelevant as long as the service being paid for is delivered.
I understand in detail how internet delivery works for Docsis and GPON,The specifications is 5Mbps per customer so 200x5 is around a Gig. I did not need your input but thanks.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #7964 of 7968 Unread Yesterday, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Dvr

My youngest son who lives in the Raleigh area has been invited to participate in a 6 month beta test of a new 6 tuner DVR with 1tb of storage. Don't have any more specifics.
rdgcss is offline  
post #7965 of 7968 Unread Yesterday, 05:08 PM
Member
 
slumpey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Charlotte, NC - TWC

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
My youngest son who lives in the Raleigh area has been invited to participate in a 6 month beta test of a new 6 tuner DVR with 1tb of storage. Don't have any more specifics.

Me too. I signed up. Time Warner is coming next week to swap out my DVR box with the test DVR box. I will be able to record 6 shows at once instead of 2. Also will be compensated with DVR credit on bill for 6 months for testing.

Last edited by slumpey; Yesterday at 05:11 PM.
slumpey is online now  
post #7966 of 7968 Unread Yesterday, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by slumpey View Post
Me too. I signed up. Time Warner is coming next week to swap out my DVR box with the test DVR box. I will be able to record 6 shows at once instead of 2. Also will be compensated with DVR credit on bill for 6 months for testing.
He was given a jan. 12 date for install
rdgcss is offline  
post #7967 of 7968 Unread Yesterday, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
My youngest son who lives in the Raleigh area has been invited to participate in a 6 month beta test of a new 6 tuner DVR with 1tb of storage. Don't have any more specifics.
I would love to do that..Comparing it to my DirecTv Genie that can record 5 channels would be fun.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #7968 of 7968 Unread Today, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
I would love to do that..Comparing it to my DirecTv Genie that can record 5 channels would be fun.
Wonder if TWC has done anything about the PQ in the now DVR?
ke4pym is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off