Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 269 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8041 of 8060 Old 03-27-2015, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
I'm on Sig Home so I don't get charged a modem fee.
TWC does not give anything for free, your paying for that modem in one way or another...
ke4pym likes this.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8042 of 8060 Old 03-27-2015, 08:47 PM
Member
 
stannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
TWC does not give anything for free, your paying for that modem in one way or another...

My point being that buying a modem wouldn't save me anything monthly.


The original question, however, is now that they've started assigning channel numbers above 8 mean that 16 channel bonding is active?
stannc is offline  
post #8043 of 8060 Old 03-28-2015, 04:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
My point being that buying a modem wouldn't save me anything monthly.


The original question, however, is now that they've started assigning channel numbers above 8 mean that 16 channel bonding is active?
I asked a few people to get back to me, there are 16 hubs in Charlotte alone not county any of the other counties so it may take a little while to update them all.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #8044 of 8060 Old 03-28-2015, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
The original question, however, is now that they've started assigning channel numbers above 8 mean that 16 channel bonding is active?
16 channel bonding isn't active in my neck of Charlotte. View from a SB6183 attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 2.24.44 PM.png
Views:	41
Size:	140.5 KB
ID:	631849  
ke4pym is online now  
post #8045 of 8060 Old 04-01-2015, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
June 2nd Charlotte market kills analogs
June 9th they're moving WBTV HD, WBTV D2, WHKY, WAXN HD, WNSC, WUNG, and Time Warner Cable News. Not encrypting yet. Will need to do a Re-scan.

So my guess is 16 channel bonding will be live after June 9th, probably a week or two.
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8046 of 8060 Old 04-01-2015, 08:00 PM
Member
 
skoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cramerton, NC
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if I'll be allowed to provide my own TV adapter box, or will I be forced to rent one?
skoone is offline  
post #8047 of 8060 Old 04-06-2015, 05:36 PM
Member
 
cfortan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Twc is giving out free digital adapters, go to twc.com/digitaladaptor
cfortan is offline  
post #8048 of 8060 Old 04-06-2015, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfortan View Post
Twc is giving out free digital adapters, go to twc.com/digitaladaptor
Are they still free for 1st year, the $1.00 per month after that ?
rdgcss is online now  
post #8049 of 8060 Old 04-06-2015, 07:37 PM
Member
 
cfortan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There isn't anything to indicate any kind of charge.
cfortan is offline  
post #8050 of 8060 Old 04-07-2015, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
Are they still free for 1st year, the $1.00 per month after that ?
My order said free for one year, $2.75 per month after that.
DanPackMan is offline  
post #8051 of 8060 Old 04-08-2015, 10:47 AM
Member
 
stannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've been dropped back to 8x1 in the Monroe NC area.
stannc is offline  
post #8052 of 8060 Old 04-14-2015, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
wewillie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: OAKBORO, NC
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
6 tuner dvr

Has anyone pick up one of the 6 tuner DVR CISCO 9865 model?
wewillie is online now  
post #8053 of 8060 Old Yesterday, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Interesting article about TWC & Charlotte. Competition is indeed good.

http://arstechnica.com/business/2015...-times-faster/
chuckf1 likes this.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #8054 of 8060 Old Today, 02:39 AM
Member
 
slumpey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wewillie View Post
Has anyone pick up one of the 6 tuner DVR CISCO 9865 model?

No. I have been using the"test/beta" version of the Arris 6 tuner DVR. The Arris is extremely slow when navigating the guide.

Wonder if i can swap out with the Cisco if compatible?
slumpey is online now  
post #8055 of 8060 Old Today, 04:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Interesting article about TWC & Charlotte. Competition is indeed good. /
Yes,, maybe U-Worse will finally get their act together.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #8056 of 8060 Old Today, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
wewillie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: OAKBORO, NC
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by slumpey View Post
No. I have been using the"test/beta" version of the Arris 6 tuner DVR. The Arris is extremely slow when navigating the guide.

Wonder if i can swap out with the Cisco if compatible?
That seems to be the one they are giving out (Cisco 9865) at most of the TWC OFFICES. The box is very fast to all responses, but a little squirrelly in the fact that that when you have to reboot you loose all but one of your recordings. You have to reboot a couple times and all recordings come back. If you use HDMI into a receiver you have to go in DEVICE setting AUDIO DIDITAL OUTPUT and change to DOLBY DIGITAL hit Accept then change back to HDMI then you have surround sound this seem to hold until another reboot. I hope TWC will patch these problems, then they will have a pretty good product.
,
wewillie is online now  
post #8057 of 8060 Old Today, 07:32 AM
Member
 
slumpey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wewillie View Post
That seems to be the one they are giving out (Cisco 9865) at most of the TWC OFFICES. The box is very fast to all responses, but a little squirrelly in the fact that that when you have to reboot you loose all but one of your recordings. You have to reboot a couple times and all recordings come back. If you use HDMI into a receiver you have to go in DEVICE setting AUDIO DIDITAL OUTPUT and change to DOLBY DIGITAL hit Accept then change back to HDMI then you have surround sound this seem to hold until another reboot. I hope TWC will patch these problems, then they will have a pretty good product.
,

Most of the settings i use to have in my old 2 tuner dvr are not activated in my box. My box is/was the test DVR box that TWC gave to people and would credit their account for 6 months as a beta tester. I may try and see if i can switch box to the CISCO box and continue beta testing.

Last edited by slumpey; Today at 07:54 AM.
slumpey is online now  
post #8058 of 8060 Old Today, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is this the one they're charging you $26 a month (on top of other DVR fees) for?
ke4pym is online now  
post #8059 of 8060 Old Today, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
wewillie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: OAKBORO, NC
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Talking

[QUOTE=ke4pym;33538857]Is this the one they're charging you $26 a month (on top of other DVR fees) for?[/QUOT

I think it is $3.00 more than two tuner dvr.
wewillie is online now  
post #8060 of 8060 Old Today, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 22
[quote=wewillie;33540913]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
Is this the one they're charging you $26 a month (on top of other DVR fees) for?[/QUOT

I think it is $3.00 more than two tuner dvr.
Tried to get one today, not available for Signature Home customers, except in California
rdgcss is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off