Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 270 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8071 of 8074 Unread Today, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
They must be putting the special sauce cable in in your neighborhood. I've had the opportunity to inspect the underground cable they plant in my neighborhood.

There's no fiber here.
Indeed. It's copper and it might have been put there decades ago. It's like this thoughout most of the former Bell South territory of AT&T and what they are attempting to use to push Uverse through. It's almost always 2 pair twisted copper wire that was optimized over the decades for ~3-4KHz voice bandwidth, sometimes with load coils, ancient connectors, etc. It was OK for DSL in the 1990s. It's a poor performer for VDSL (Uverse) which is hugely dependent upon the state of the wire and distance to the VRAD. They did this because they didn't want to lay new cable.

Because of that VDSL requires a large expensive power hungry VRAD to be installed every few 1000 feet. AT&T has rumored to have stopped installing them. Why I mentioned Edison. His DC system required a power plant to be built every few miles because low voltage DC can't handle distance. AC technology obsoleted that.

I saw that announcement from Bell Labs (actually Alcatel/Lucent). IMO, It will never be implemented in the USA. No US phone company will invest in that tech now. They will go fiber. AT&T has a Gigafiber product, but not in Charlotte. Though I've heard it might be going in in Winston-Salem and maybe parts of Raleigh.
blackcat6 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8072 of 8074 Unread Today, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Indeed. It's copper and it might have been put there decades ago.
I was thinking more along the lines of the hard line that supplies the pedestals in my neighborhood. In the 16 years I've lived there, TWC has replaced the hardline on my street twice.

And being there's a ped in my yard, I got to see the cable when they pulled it last time. Took them a couple of days to hook up the new distribution box and the cable was laying in the yard.

Glad I didn't touch it. I later learned that high voltage runs down those lines as well. Though I would hope if it was laying in the yard it wouldn't have been energized.
ke4pym is online now  
post #8073 of 8074 Unread Today, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
I was thinking more along the lines of the hard line that supplies the pedestals in my neighborhood. In the 16 years I've lived there, TWC has replaced the hardline on my street twice.
Yeah from the VRAD and beyond it's most likely fiber or possibly some other high capacity line.

There is a big difference between cable & phone in this regard. It's not the VRAD near your home that determines if you can get service. It's the VRAD where your phone cable terminates that matters. POTS can go for miles without issue. There is a VRAD about 1000 ft from where I live, but it does not serve my house. The phone cable pair to my house terminates more than a mile away and that's too much distance for Uverse.

Last edited by blackcat6; Today at 01:23 PM.
blackcat6 is online now  
post #8074 of 8074 Unread Today, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 22
About 2 years ago a tornado came thru here and took down lots of power/phone/cable lines as well as the pole in my back yard. When the TWC crew was in the yard repairing the cable line I talked to be area supervisor who was supervising the repair operations for the area. When I kidded him about the crews enjoying the overtime pay he said they have more overtime than they wanted due to having to install lots of new nodes. Previously there was 200-300 homes per node limit, now with SDV the new rule was 100. He also said the line behind my house contained both fiber and copper. My area has only had cable for about 10 years so maybe that is the new way of doing things. There is a node about 150 yards past my house.

Last edited by rdgcss; Today at 04:22 PM.
rdgcss is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off