Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 276 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8251 of 8277 Old 07-16-2015, 08:23 PM
Member
 
BMAR10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
Maybe I'm confusing hubs with nodes then. So glad Gaston county isn't like that... from what I understand Cramerton is the only separate hub and the rest is serviced by Gastonia hub (including Bessemer City) and anything In Cleveland county is served by Shelby. I sympathize with Northern Gaston county, it's Charter territory . Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, I often am
I know that TWC can now service into the Northwest(Dallas) areas that use to be exclusive Charter territory. So their network is expanding into that area whereas a few years ago they could not.
BMAR10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8252 of 8277 Old 07-16-2015, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMAR10 View Post
I know that TWC can now service into the Northwest(Dallas) areas that use to be exclusive Charter territory. So their network is expanding into that area whereas a few years ago they could not.
I knew parts of Dallas weren't charter... would be nice (again) to have some sort of map
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8253 of 8277 Old 07-16-2015, 08:35 PM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
From what I've seen, in the Dallas town limits, the Alder Ridge subdivision off Robinson-Clemmer Road, Spencer Mountain Village subdivision, a portion of Lower Dallas Hwy. and the 1000 block of Dallas-Cherryville Hwy. have TWC service available.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8254 of 8277 Old 07-16-2015, 08:46 PM
Member
 
BMAR10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
I knew parts of Dallas weren't charter... would be nice (again) to have some sort of map
GIS has the below hubs listed:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 11.42.05 PM.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	107.3 KB
ID:	833658  
BMAR10 is offline  
post #8255 of 8277 Old 07-16-2015, 09:01 PM
Member
 
BMAR10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMAR10 View Post
GIS has the below hubs listed:
And the below 5 in Cleveland County:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 11.59.06 PM.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	833682  
BMAR10 is offline  
post #8256 of 8277 Old 07-17-2015, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
Hub's in Charlotte are 1-9, and than you have Shopton, Oakdale, UNCC, Mint Hill/Mathews, Cedarwood, and Danby.
Sadly, not seeing any word on Oakdale getting upgraded anytime soon.

Folks on DSLReports are seeing 350 down and 25ish up over in the Wake Forest area.
ke4pym is online now  
post #8257 of 8277 Old 07-19-2015, 09:16 AM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The 25 mbps upload would be nice for those of us in current Charter territory to have, given the complaints many posters in other forums have about the 4 mbps upload speed being a real PITA for them and for those who upload large video files to YouTube and other sites.

At current Charter upload speeds, it takes about 35 minutes to upload a 1 GiB video, while the new TWC upload will allow that video to be uploaded within 6 minutes, which will definitely make the YouTubers and others a lot happier.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8258 of 8277 Old 07-21-2015, 04:08 PM
Member
 
stannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
After a reboot today I'm bonding 16x4 out of the Monroe hub. Still 60/6 speed though.
stannc is offline  
post #8259 of 8277 Old 07-21-2015, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In case anyone is curious, down to 17 analogs, nothing above channel 32.
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8260 of 8277 Old 07-21-2015, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
After a reboot today I'm bonding 16x4 out of the Monroe hub. Still 60/6 speed though.
Same here in Huntersville, though I haven't checked the speed. Maybe it's finally time to replace my WRT54G.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #8261 of 8277 Old 07-21-2015, 11:23 PM
Member
 
stannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Same here in Huntersville, though I haven't checked the speed. Maybe it's finally time to replace my WRT54G.
You're not that bad. I was using a WRT54G up until a year ago, then I was using the wifi from TWC's modem. I switched to a Netgear D7000 in December when it was on a Black Friday-type special for $100.


I just realized that I'm going to have to replace the 10/100 NIC in my desktop PC.
stannc is offline  
post #8262 of 8277 Old 07-23-2015, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
You're not that bad. I was using a WRT54G up until a year ago, then I was using the wifi from TWC's modem. I switched to a Netgear D7000 in December when it was on a Black Friday-type special for $100.
Yeah, I hate to give it up but it's past it's prime. Been running it for 10+ years with DD-WRT. Absolutely no issues at all.

Thinking of getting just a wired router like a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter and then just a wired AP stuck elsewhere in the house where it would work better for WiFi. It's one of the nice things about having pulled ethernet cable all through the place and having it terminate at a structured wiring point.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #8263 of 8277 Old 07-23-2015, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Yeah, I hate to give it up but it's past it's prime. Been running it for 10+ years with DD-WRT. Absolutely no issues at all.

Thinking of getting just a wired router like a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter and then just a wired AP stuck elsewhere in the house where it would work better for WiFi. It's one of the nice things about having pulled ethernet cable all through the place and having it terminate at a structured wiring point.
Can't speak to their Edge Router. But I've installed a couple of their AC WiFi AP's and those little things are fantastic! Super simple to setup (and get right), and have range for days.

Now if only they'd implement 802.11ac Wave2 - I'd get one for the house.
ke4pym is online now  
post #8264 of 8277 Old 07-23-2015, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
ke4pym is online now  
post #8265 of 8277 Old 07-23-2015, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
Can't speak to their Edge Router. But I've installed a couple of their AC WiFi AP's and those little things are fantastic! Super simple to setup (and get right), and have range for days.

Now if only they'd implement 802.11ac Wave2 - I'd get one for the house.
Yeah, The only bad thing about their 802.11ac AP is its eye watering price. Beyond that however, I like that you can power via POE. Means it can be mounted in an out of the way place without have to worry about where to plug in the wall wart.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #8266 of 8277 Old 07-23-2015, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Yeah, The only bad thing about their 802.11ac AP is its eye watering price. Beyond that however, I like that you can power via POE. Means it can be mounted in an out of the way place without have to worry about where to plug in the wall wart.
They are cheap. Paid around $250 for each one. Eye watering is the $1400 I want to drop for the Rukus Wave2 AP.
ke4pym is online now  
post #8267 of 8277 Old Today, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Maxx should be live now... reboot your modems
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8268 of 8277 Old Today, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
Maxx should be live now... reboot your modems
In all zipcodes?
Zaxcom is online now  
post #8269 of 8277 Old Today, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
All of cleveland and gaston counties... Pineville, North Meck. Sorry I got excited, need to be more specific next time! Not sure how far the upgrades go... just reporting from who I've heard from.
Unless something has changed in the past couple of days, the Oakdale Road hub is still 8x4.

Are you seeing people reporting MAXX speeds?
ke4pym is online now  
post #8270 of 8277 Old Today, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
Unless something has changed in the past couple of days, the Oakdale Road hub is still 8x4.

Are you seeing people reporting MAXX speeds?
I'm getting 340Mbps down and 22mbps up and heard reports on dslreports, plus my friends around the area I've texted. Here's what I'm provisioned for in my config file
UpstreamServiceFlow = SfMaxTrafficRate = 24576000
DownstreamServiceFlow = SfMaxTrafficRate = 368640000
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8271 of 8277 Old Today, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8272 of 8277 Old Today, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
I'm getting 340Mbps down and 22mbps up and heard reports on dslreports, plus my friends around the area I've texted. Here's what I'm provisioned for in my config file
UpstreamServiceFlow = SfMaxTrafficRate = 24576000
DownstreamServiceFlow = SfMaxTrafficRate = 368640000
Congrats! I'm jealous! Probably be November before I see it.
ke4pym is online now  
post #8273 of 8277 Old Today, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
Congrats! I'm jealous! Probably be November before I see it.
Well I saw a TW Truck out today when I got gas and he said "anytime today, reboot your modem when you get home" So I started texting everyone I knew LOL
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8274 of 8277 Old Today, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
TGR95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
All of cleveland and gaston counties... Pineville, North Meck. Sorry I got excited, need to be more specific next time! Not sure how far the upgrades go... just reporting from who I've heard from.

Still no Maxx in Kings Mountain. Rebooted modem. Still sounds too good to be true. Wary of TWC.
TGR95 is online now  
post #8275 of 8277 Old Today, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGR95 View Post
Still no Maxx in Kings Mountain. Rebooted modem. Still sounds too good to be true. Wary of TWC.
Sorry... guess I jumped the gun, I just assumed the Shelby hub was upgraded too from the upgrade letter I saw. But it doesn't officially launch til tomorrow, speeds are erratic for me right now, probably lots of work going on.
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8276 of 8277 Old Today, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I talked to people in North Charlotte, Gastonia, Cherryville, Pineville that have it.
jmccurrytech is online now  
post #8277 of 8277 Old Today, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
chuckf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
In the Johnston Road / Carmel Road part of S. Charlotte, still have 61.45 Mbps down and 6.30 Mbps up, even after rebooting the modem.
chuckf1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off