Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 280 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8371 of 8397 Old 08-21-2015, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Maxx went live in my neck of the woods (28105) on Tuesday. I had previously subscribed to Ultimate (50/5) and this should have mapped to 300/20 under Maxx, but I only have an SB-6141 modem so I'm capped at 100/10. 50/5 was working fine for me so I'll take 100/10 and a price reduction for now. It's actually been consistently running at 118/12.

Of course, I had to contact them to change the billing to match what I'm actually receiving. I'm scared... the online chat session session with the agent ("Greg") went too smoothly and quickly. I'll reserve final judgment until I see that my bill is correct and service doesn't get disconnected sometime in the near future... It NEVER goes that smoothly for these things!

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8372 of 8397 Old 08-21-2015, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
I'll reserve final judgment...
That didn't take long at all.

I don't really use my Roadrunner email account much, but I have used it as an archive for certain emails I want to keep. There was about 80MB of mail/attachments sitting there... well below the quota limit for any of the internet plans (2-10GB for most plans... 100MB for even the lite plans). About 30 minutes after switching plans (which should have 5GB of mail storage... down from 10GB I had previously), I started getting all kinds of warning and error messages coming in about being over-quota. After being unable to do anything from Thunderbird, I logged into the webmail and saw that I was WHOPPING 748% over my 10(!) MB quota. WTF??? Where the hell did a measly 10MB quota come from?

I knew the plan change went too smoothly to be true.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #8373 of 8397 Old 08-21-2015, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
That didn't take long at all.

I don't really use my Roadrunner email account much, but I have used it as an archive for certain emails I want to keep. There was about 80MB of mail/attachments sitting there... well below the quota limit for any of the internet plans (2-10GB for most plans... 100MB for even the lite plans). About 30 minutes after switching plans (which should have 5GB of mail storage... down from 10GB I had previously), I started getting all kinds of warning and error messages coming in about being over-quota. After being unable to do anything from Thunderbird, I logged into the webmail and saw that I was WHOPPING 748% over my 10(!) MB quota. WTF??? Where the hell did a measly 10MB quota come from?

I knew the plan change went too smoothly to be true.
You got me on that one... I wouldn't think that kind of provisioning would be possible.

jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8374 of 8397 Old 08-21-2015, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
It NEVER goes that smoothly for these things!
Like some of these things Joe?

http://theoldcatvequipmentmuseum.org/index.html


Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #8375 of 8397 Old 08-21-2015, 10:06 PM
Member
 
BMAR10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Like some of these things Joe?

http://theoldcatvequipmentmuseum.org/index.html

Some of "those things" I have seen on a hill top(Spencer Mountain) here in the old Gas House!
BMAR10 is online now  
post #8376 of 8397 Old 08-22-2015, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Like some of these things Joe?

http://theoldcatvequipmentmuseum.org/index.html

This is a really cool site! I'm going to burn a weekend on it soon. I can feel it! Love looking at this old gear (and the new stuff too!).

Thanks for posting it.
ke4pym is offline  
post #8377 of 8397 Old 08-22-2015, 06:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Oldest gear I worked on

IVC Alpha wrap 1" VTR (1978)
TCR 100 quad cart machine
Ampex AVR3 quad VTR
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8378 of 8397 Old 08-22-2015, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMAR10 View Post
Some of "those things" I have seen on a hill top(Spencer Mountain) here in the old Gas House!
yea..I bought and installed some of that stuff you saw up there many years ago..

Before fiber..we fed w3tv to twc and visioncable by microwave...now twc gets a seperate fiber feed of wccb with different commercials...and one of the dc ? superstations was fed down to the sharon amity headend by mw too..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!

Last edited by bdfox18doe; 08-22-2015 at 07:13 AM.
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #8379 of 8397 Old 08-22-2015, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
Oldest gear I worked on

IVC Alpha wrap 1" VTR (1978)
TCR 100 quad cart machine
Ampex AVR3 quad VTR
Oh my your old E....

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #8380 of 8397 Old 08-22-2015, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
Oh my your old E....
Not old, well seasoned!
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8381 of 8397 Old 08-22-2015, 09:18 AM
Member
 
BMAR10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
yea..I bought and installed some of that stuff you saw up there many years ago..

Before fiber..we fed w3tv to twc and visioncable by microwave...now twc gets a seperate fiber feed of wccb with different commercials...and one of the dc ? superstations was fed down to the sharon amity headend by mw too..
Several years ago used to get a key from Mr. McSwain to get up there and perform Spectrum Analyzations and work on a Microwave relay. Spent many, many days up there basking in the rooms with some of that "old" technology. I personally think school field trips should be made of "these things". Those were some good days and, one of, if not the best, viewpoints in Gaston County!
BMAR10 is online now  
post #8382 of 8397 Old 08-23-2015, 07:12 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
now twc gets a seperate fiber feed of wccb with different commercials...
I thought OTA stations carried on cable were not to be modified in any way (including commercials)?

One person's craziness is another person's reality. - Tim Burton
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #8383 of 8397 Old 08-23-2015, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
I thought OTA stations carried on cable were not to be modified in any way (including commercials)?
TWC pays us to cover their OTA spots...They and Charter do it all over the country.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #8384 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Like some of these things Joe?

http://theoldcatvequipmentmuseum.org/index.html

It's somewhat depressing to look through that and realize just how many of those "antiques" I actually had worked with... when they weren't antiques. Geez, I'm g̶̷e̶̷t̶̷t̶̷i̶̷n̶̷g̶̷ old.

Still was fun looking through that... lots of stories connected to lots of that stuff.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #8385 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 11:09 AM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
When my family first subscribed to cable TV around 1980 or so, the local cable system used one of these converters:



Nowadays, this is one of the boxes being issued by Charter in western North Carolina and upstate South Carolina, the Motorola/Arris DCX3510-M running Rovi's iGuide software:



I've watched cable TV mostly on Jerrold/GI/Motorola/Arris-equipped single-cable systems, but I've come across a couple of systems that used dual cable, a Media General 2x60-channel system withchannel-dependent automatic switching (now Comcast [Correction: it's Cox, not Comcast] single-cable) in Fairfax City and County, VA, and a dual system with manual A/B switching in northeast Johnson County, KS (now TWC, also single-cable).

Last edited by blackcap93; Yesterday at 11:31 AM.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8386 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 11:17 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcap93 View Post
...a Media General 2x60-channel system withchannel-dependent automatic switching (now Comcast single-cable) in Fairfax City and County, VA...
It's Cox, not Comcast, that serves Fairfax City and most of Fairfax County. Comcast has its own system in Reston.

One person's craziness is another person's reality. - Tim Burton
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #8387 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 11:21 AM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thanks, I got those two mixed up. I was only in northern VA for a few months in 1989 before moving to KC. Hopefully I've got my facts straight concerning the KC area systems...
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8388 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ah all this stuff is bringing memories back...

My first converter here with cablevision around 1990
http://theoldcatvequipmentmuseum.org...del4040--1.JPG


Parents lived in that tiny spec of Gaston county that had Jones Intercable (gag), and they had this one until 1993
http://theoldcatvequipmentmuseum.org...handler--1.jpg
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8389 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 12:43 PM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
Parents lived in that tiny spec of Gaston county that had Jones Intercable (gag), and they had this one until 1993
http://theoldcatvequipmentmuseum.org...handler--1.jpg
Where is that tiny speck? And who serves there now?

One person's craziness is another person's reality. - Tim Burton
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #8390 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 12:54 PM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I believe Jones Intercable served Kings Mountain, a portion of which is in Gaston County. Jones Intercable sold that system a number of years before Glenn Jones sold the company to Comcast, and the system eventually ended up under TWC ownership, and it's since been absorbed into the Shelby and Gastonia systems.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8391 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
Where is that tiny speck? And who serves there now?
This was an area around south Gastonia near 321 which is Time Warner now. I think it went to TW in the mid 90s when they got the cablevision territory. Don't know the specific areas involved in the transaction during that era, didn't follow it close enough.
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8392 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here's a press release from 1987, but only mentions Gaston County, no specifics.

http://www.nytimes.com/1987/11/18/bu...4-systems.html


Bresnan was bought up by Cablevision

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bresnan_Communications

On January 7, 1994, the Company entered into an agreement with Bresnan Communications Company ("Bresnan") to sell its Gaston County, North Carolina cable television system (the "Gaston System") to Bresnan for $36,500,000, subject to normal closing adjustments. Closing on this transaction occurred in July 1994. The Company paid The Jones Group, Ltd., which at the time was owned 20% by the Company, $912,500 for brokerage services related to this acquisition. Proceeds from the sale of the Gaston System were used to repay amounts outstanding on the Company's credit facility. The Company recognized a gain of $15,496,400 related to this transaction.

Last edited by jmccurrytech; Yesterday at 01:11 PM.
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8393 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
This is the first converter I had when I was in college in Ithaca NY in the late 70's. The cable system was Cerrache Cable, a small cable system run by a TV sales and service shop in the city.

At some point Time Warner bought them
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hamlin_remote_slide_Converter_Chandler--1.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	63.4 KB
ID:	905178  
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8394 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 01:05 PM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
My first cable service in my name was with Jones Intercable in Olathe, KS (Independence, MO headend) on a 37-channel, 300 MHz all-coax system. A fiber-optic overlay and upgrade effectively doubled the number of channels available while I lived in Olathe in 1995-1996.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8395 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
First Video Recorder

This is the SONY AV3400. It was the first video recorder I used in High School (74-78). 1/2" B&W and portable. I lugged that thing to countless basketball games to record game footage for the coach.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3400kit.gif
Views:	5
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	905194   Click image for larger version

Name:	3400video.gif
Views:	6
Size:	83.8 KB
ID:	905202  
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8396 of 8397 Old Yesterday, 02:24 PM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The Gaston County system mentioned above may have been the system serving unincorporated areas of Gaston County, other than those areas served by Charter's predecessors. My mother subscribed to service from this system in the mid '90s (shortly before TWC rebuilt the system and tied it into the rebuilt Gastonia system in 1997-1998), and she was disappointed with the fewer channels the system had compared to the pre-rebuild Gastonia system.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8397 of 8397 Old Today, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
UPDATE:

Turns out that my overall mail storage quota actually is now 25GB... but during the process of changing my service level from 300/20 to 100/10, the allocation of that 25GB to my one-and-only Roadrunner mail account was mysteriously re-apportioned to 10MB.

In case this happens to any of you during an upgrade/downgrade (or any other random time), you can check for yourself in the webmail settings what the allocations per account are:



I just reset it from 10000 KB to 10000000 KB (out of 25000000 KB total available). I suppose I could have dumped it all into this account, but I've never even come close to using that much.

I had not visited the account settings for my Roadrunner mail account since I started Roadrunner service back in the late 90s... had no idea that setting existed, and still don't know why it changed during the downgrade process.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
That didn't take long at all.

I don't really use my Roadrunner email account much, but I have used it as an archive for certain emails I want to keep. There was about 80MB of mail/attachments sitting there... well below the quota limit for any of the internet plans (2-10GB for most plans... 100MB for even the lite plans). About 30 minutes after switching plans (which should have 5GB of mail storage... down from 10GB I had previously), I started getting all kinds of warning and error messages coming in about being over-quota. After being unable to do anything from Thunderbird, I logged into the webmail and saw that I was WHOPPING 748% over my 10(!) MB quota. WTF??? Where the hell did a measly 10MB quota come from?

I knew the plan change went too smoothly to be true.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
You got me on that one... I wouldn't think that kind of provisioning would be possible.


Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6

Last edited by jcalabria; Today at 09:27 AM.
jcalabria is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off