Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 282 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8431 of 8456 Old 10-10-2015, 07:30 AM
Member
 
highcurrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
I'm currently bonding 16x2 channels in Union County.


That can't be right.
I haven't checked in a while, but after seeing this I took a look and I am getting 16x4 this morning in Indian Trail.
highcurrent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8432 of 8456 Old 10-11-2015, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
mcpearce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by highcurrent View Post
I haven't checked in a while, but after seeing this I took a look and I am getting 16x4 this morning in Indian Trail.
I'm currently bonding 16x4 in 28202, but the speeds remain at 37/5. Should the speeds increase shortly after the bonding is in place?
mcpearce is offline  
post #8433 of 8456 Old 10-11-2015, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcpearce View Post
I'm currently bonding 16x4 in 28202, but the speeds remain at 37/5. Should the speeds increase shortly after the bonding is in place?
28202 has been 16x4 for a few months. Our cut over date for Maxx has been pushed off a few times. Latest estimate is early Novermber.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8434 of 8456 Old 10-14-2015, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good news - 16x4 in NW Charlotte on the Oakdale hub - FINALLY.
Good news - I am speed testing over 60Mbps again. I've been at 40 or less for about 4-6 months now. They clearly added back-haul bandwidth.
Bad news - No MAXX yet. Maybe 10/28??

We'll see.
ke4pym is offline  
post #8435 of 8456 Old 10-15-2015, 02:51 AM
Member
 
hamstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Charlotte NC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Gigabit Ethernet

I got switched to MAXX a few weeks ago. 300/20. I have my own cable modem and wireless router, and ended up having to replace my wireless router because it didn't support gigabit throughput from the ethernet ports. I could never get speeds faster than about 90/20. I noticed many popular, mostly lower price wireless routers don't support gigabit ethernet. I currently am using an ASUS RT-N66U wireless router and get ethernet speeds around 350/25. Wireless around 150/25. My cable modem is a Netgear CM 500
hamstang is offline  
post #8436 of 8456 Old 10-15-2015, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamstang View Post
I got switched to MAXX a few weeks ago. 300/20. I have my own cable modem and wireless router, and ended up having to replace my wireless router because it didn't support gigabit throughput from the ethernet ports. I could never get speeds faster than about 90/20. I noticed many popular, mostly lower price wireless routers don't support gigabit ethernet. I currently am using an ASUS RT-N66U wireless router and get ethernet speeds around 350/25. Wireless around 150/25. My cable modem is a Netgear CM 500
I run pfSense in a VM container on ESXi on an Intel i3 @ 3.5GHz for my firewall. Lots of horsepower there. I use an older Cisco 1252 AP. It is no slouch but it is getting kind of dated. But I don't want to drop the coin on a Rukus 802.11ac Wave2 AP right now.

One thing these speed upgrades are certainly good for is the router/cable modem makers. Everyone doing a refresh because ancient gear can't keep up.
hamstang likes this.
ke4pym is offline  
post #8437 of 8456 Old 10-23-2015, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
They are cheap. Paid around $250 for each one. Eye watering is the $1400 I want to drop for the Rukus Wave2 AP.
I'm glad I held off. They have since come out with his for $89.
https://www.ubnt.com/unifi/unifi-ap-ac-lite/

Excellent value for a full blown dual band AC WAP. For home use, if you don't care about all the fancy function, it can be configured with their android app. on a smart phone or tablet. No need to load java & their controller software.

Just hooked it up and got this with my wireless laptop.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4770060983
blackcat6 is offline  
post #8438 of 8456 Old 10-27-2015, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
MAXX is live in NW Charlotte / Lower Huntersville area (Oakdale Road hub).

Was up and running about 5pm. All kinds of issues between 4 and 5 though. Was entertaining.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 5.00.30 PM.png
Views:	68
Size:	293.9 KB
ID:	1022953  
ke4pym is offline  
post #8439 of 8456 Old 10-28-2015, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Gedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome. I can confirm this as well. Getting 59/6 on the standard plan.
Gedd is offline  
post #8440 of 8456 Old 11-03-2015, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Maxx is live in 28202.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8441 of 8456 Old 12-07-2015, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Gedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else had an issue with Maxx on an SB6141 modem? I'm on the Earthlink Extreme (50/5 through TWC) plan, and ever since they switched to Maxx, when I have my SB6141 modem (that I own) hooked up, I will get once or twice a day issues where the modem drops the speed to around 2Mbit down until I reboot it. I picked up an SB6183 from the local TWC center to troubleshoot and it had a similar issue.

I had TWC come out and they re-ran the line from the curb to my service box (tech said I was getting a lot of packet loss), so I thought for sure that was going to fix everything, but when I reconnected my SB6141, it dropped again within 24 hours. With the rented SB6183, I haven't had a single issue after several days.

I'm not sure I understand why the SB6141 is having these issues. It's definitely rated for the speeds I'm paying for, and it's on the list of supported modems for Maxx. I never had any issues before the switch to Maxx either. The CSR at the TWC store mentioned he'd heard about some issues with the 6141, but I can't seem any widespread issues.
Gedd is offline  
post #8442 of 8456 Old 01-23-2016, 08:22 PM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Haven't posted in a while since the changeover, but my TWC signal comes in better than before, and we think it looks better than over-the-air transmissions. Never would have thought that possible.

Why doesn't TWC carry all of the local digital sub-channels? It is a matter of money?
4:3 Toshiba is offline  
post #8443 of 8456 Old 02-01-2016, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4:3 Toshiba View Post
we think it looks better than over-the-air transmissions. Never would have thought that possible.
You know that's not technically possible, right? OTA is full bitrate. TWC compresses that signal to cram it down their network.
ke4pym is offline  
post #8444 of 8456 Old 02-01-2016, 06:00 PM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
You know that's not technically possible, right? OTA is full bitrate. TWC compresses that signal to cram it down their network.

I've heard something to that effect, but even my wife can see the difference. She prefers the TWC signal to over-the-air.
4:3 Toshiba is offline  
post #8445 of 8456 Old 02-03-2016, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
csmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gedd View Post
Has anyone else had an issue with Maxx on an SB6141 modem? I'm on the Earthlink Extreme (50/5 through TWC) plan, and ever since they switched to Maxx, when I have my SB6141 modem (that I own) hooked up, I will get once or twice a day issues where the modem drops the speed to around 2Mbit down until I reboot it. I picked up an SB6183 from the local TWC center to troubleshoot and it had a similar issue.

I had TWC come out and they re-ran the line from the curb to my service box (tech said I was getting a lot of packet loss), so I thought for sure that was going to fix everything, but when I reconnected my SB6141, it dropped again within 24 hours. With the rented SB6183, I haven't had a single issue after several days.

I'm not sure I understand why the SB6141 is having these issues. It's definitely rated for the speeds I'm paying for, and it's on the list of supported modems for Maxx. I never had any issues before the switch to Maxx either. The CSR at the TWC store mentioned he'd heard about some issues with the 6141, but I can't seem any widespread issues.
Are you running your coax thru a surge protector before going to the modem? I had this problem before MAXX with 15/1 and once I plugged the SB6141 in directly, never had an issue since. Funny thing is that the TWC modem (ubee or something) never had an issue.

It seems where I live, lightening strikes seem to take out things, so I put everything on a surge and/or PSU to protect. Afterwards, it took out the surge protector only once.
csmith is offline  
post #8446 of 8456 Old 02-03-2016, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
ke4pym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by csmith View Post
Are you running your coax thru a surge protector before going to the modem? I had this problem before MAXX with 15/1 and once I plugged the SB6141 in directly, never had an issue since. Funny thing is that the TWC modem (ubee or something) never had an issue.

It seems where I live, lightening strikes seem to take out things, so I put everything on a surge and/or PSU to protect. Afterwards, it took out the surge protector only once.
Might want to make sure your grounding system checks out.
ke4pym is offline  
post #8447 of 8456 Old 02-03-2016, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
csmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke4pym View Post
Might want to make sure your grounding system checks out.
I figured out the surge was coming from the telco line, as I had Vonage at the time and was using the internal wiring to hook up phones. Somehow it got into it and fried the Vonage, router, switch, Tv, computer network card and modem. No problem after dropping Vonage, with no connection to the telco wiring and disconnecting the outside telco connection.
csmith is offline  
post #8448 of 8456 Old 02-04-2016, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Gedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csmith View Post
Are you running your coax thru a surge protector before going to the modem?
No, nothing at all like that. It's just coming straight from the wall.

I ended up buying a refurbished SB6183 (same modem TWC lent me for testing) and I haven't had an issue since. I don't know if my SB6141 was just going bad, or there's something on my line that the 6183 is more tolerant of, but it looks like my old modem was at least partly to blame.
Gedd is offline  
post #8449 of 8456 Old 03-30-2016, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I have an administrative question regarding this forum and the Charter forum for the Boone/Hickory area.

If the TWC/Charter/Bright House merger becomes a done deal, how should the two forums be dealt with?

One possibiliity would be to merge the two forums into an expanded Charter forum, covering both the existing Charter territory in the Boone and Hickory areas and the current TWC territory in the immediate Charlotte area.

There will likely be significant technical differences between current TWC and current Charter systems in the Charlotte region for some time after the merger is finalized (which might warrant keeping the forums separate), but activity levels in the Charter forum have been quite low for some time.

If the forums are merged, how would things be worked out?
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8450 of 8456 Old 03-30-2016, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,750
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Activity here is pretty low too blackcap.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #8451 of 8456 Old 03-30-2016, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It did seem active here for a while, but it has dropped off some more recently. Perhaps some of our more regular posters have moved on to other ways of getting their TV fix...
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8452 of 8456 Old 03-30-2016, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcap93 View Post
It did seem active here for a while, but it has dropped off some more recently. Perhaps some of our more regular posters have moved on to other ways of getting their TV fix...
By and large it's always been pretty quiet here, especially compared to the other TWC regional forums or, especially, the TWC Navigator forum. Many of the problems commonly found elsewhere in TWC-land have not been such big problems here (possibly due to TWC engineering being headquartered here). For some time I was quite active on the Navigator forum, but have stayed away for the past two years or so because I didn't want to constantly seem like I was minimizing what were obviously real issues elsewhere by repeating that we were experiencing no such issues here.

Most activity here has been centered around internet service for some time now, with a flurry of activity as MAXX was rolled out, that has since died down. TV related activity that does exist is mainly along the lines of "what's the latest box available?" or experiences with whole-house DVR. Other regions as well as the Navigator thread tell a different story, with much more discussion of DVR recording reliability issues and SDV issues (although even elsewhere the traffic has died down considerably of late).

Having now been a Charter subscriber for almost a year at the beach, combined with many years of good reliable service here, I for one am NOT looking forward to any "Charter-ization" of TWC Charlotte. Other TWC regions may feel otherwise.
rdgcss likes this.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6

Last edited by jcalabria; 03-30-2016 at 07:36 AM.
jcalabria is offline  
post #8453 of 8456 Old 03-30-2016, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I wouldn't mind seeing some degree of "TWC-ization" of Dallas and High Shoals, just to get that area up to par with Gastonia and the other cities in the county.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #8454 of 8456 Old 04-13-2016, 08:37 PM
Member
 
stannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here's an interesting situation. As planned, during the first week in April TWC changed channel 1265 from WMYT 55.3 (SBN) to WMYT 55.2 (Buzzr).


As of today, 1265 is back to being 55.3 without any notice.


Did TWC revert to a backup channel map or did 55.3 invoke some kind of divine intervention?
stannc is offline  
post #8455 of 8456 Old 04-14-2016, 03:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannc View Post
Here's an interesting situation. As planned, during the first week in April TWC changed channel 1265 from WMYT 55.3 (SBN) to WMYT 55.2 (Buzzr).


As of today, 1265 is back to being 55.3 without any notice.


Did TWC revert to a backup channel map or did 55.3 invoke some kind of divine intervention?
There is a good chance something happened with the Encoders and they defaulted to a saved set-up. From experience you want to save all your Pid mapping because it is a pain to sit there with a spread sheet and start over. Keep in mind that Raleigh controls all of the mapping for the region and there is a good chance that this happened but no one in Charlotte will know....

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #8456 of 8456 Old Yesterday, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The Time Warner Cable-Charter merger has come much closer to being finalized. Earlier this month, an administrative law judge in California recommended approval of the merger by the state's Public Utility Commission, and today the Department of Justice OK'ed the merger, and FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler said he will present the merger to the full Commission for approval. The merger is expected to close sometime after May 12, when the CPUC is scheduled to meet in San Francisco to vote on the merger.

Last edited by blackcap93; Yesterday at 02:55 PM.
blackcap93 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off