Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 286 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8551 of 8568 Old 08-02-2017, 11:56 AM
Member
 
skoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cramerton, NC
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been monitoring my internet service for the past couple of weeks. The bonded upstream channels have been reduced to just one, and I'm noticing excessive errors on a number of bonded downstream channels. Even though speedtests are fine, the overall performance of my connection just doesn't seem to be there like it used to. Maybe its just a crowded internet now, or rather its me and my imagination.

I'm in Cramerton.

Anyone else here notice similar patterns in their respective service area?

Here is a look at the modem stats:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen1.jpg (245.8 KB, 14 views)
skoone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8552 of 8568 Old 08-02-2017, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
I've been monitoring my internet service for the past couple of weeks. The bonded upstream channels have been reduced to just one, and I'm noticing excessive errors on a number of bonded downstream channels. Even though speedtests are fine, the overall performance of my connection just doesn't seem to be there like it used to. Maybe its just a crowded internet now, or rather its me and my imagination.

I'm in Cramerton.

Anyone else here notice similar patterns in their respective service area?

Here is a look at the modem stats:
You need someone to come out ASAP, it's amazing you're even online with those signal levels.
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8553 of 8568 Old 08-02-2017, 07:56 PM
Member
 
skoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cramerton, NC
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
You need someone to come out ASAP, it's amazing you're even online with those signal levels.
It's funny you mention this low level issue. It's been like it for years and each time a service tech comes out for a visit, I show them these lousy numbers and they always say "oh that's normal". I tell them that I don't think it is but what do I know.

I'll run by my local customer service office in the morning and request another service call and try again.
skoone is offline  
 
post #8554 of 8568 Old 08-02-2017, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
It's funny you mention this low level issue. It's been like it for years and each time a service tech comes out for a visit, I show them these lousy numbers and they always say "oh that's normal". I tell them that I don't think it is but what do I know.

I'll run by my local customer service office in the morning and request another service call and try again.
I had problems like that many years ago. I pestered them over and over, finally got a new outside drop, plus new outlets, and an amp @ the pole.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	signal.gif
Views:	12
Size:	112.2 KB
ID:	2262734  
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8555 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 03:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Skoone, the reason you have only one upstream channel is your return transmit is too high, it needs to be 50 or less for channel bonding also the forward should be no less than -5 preferably like around zero to +5 and the MERS need to be greater than 35. Get a tech out there and they have to get your signals to pass a required house check before he leaves. If he can't due to line issues than he has to get a trouble ticket for a line tech to come out.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #8556 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,717
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
Skoone, the reason you have only one upstream channel is your return transmit is too high, it needs to be 50 or less for channel bonding also the forward should be no less than -5 preferably like around zero to +5 and the MERS need to be greater than 35. Get a tech out there and they have to get your signals to pass a required house check before he leaves. If he can't due to line issues than he has to get a trouble ticket for a line tech to come out.
Dang-Looks like you know quite a bit there Ybsane..You should become a line tech for Spectrum!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #8557 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 12:34 PM
Member
 
skoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cramerton, NC
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
Skoone, the reason you have only one upstream channel is your return transmit is too high, it needs to be 50 or less for channel bonding also the forward should be no less than -5 preferably like around zero to +5 and the MERS need to be greater than 35. Get a tech out there and they have to get your signals to pass a required house check before he leaves. If he can't due to line issues than he has to get a trouble ticket for a line tech to come out.
I have a service call scheduled for tomorrow AM. Gotta get this problem sorted out...

Hi to Bob.

-Steve
skoone is offline  
post #8558 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,717
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
Hi to Bob.-Steve
how ya been Steve, good to see you are still kicking.
nice kitty! I have a 20lb beast myself.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #8559 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I like my levels, so does my part time employer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg levels.jpg (605.4 KB, 12 views)
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8560 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 05:19 PM
Member
 
skoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cramerton, NC
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
how ya been Steve, good to see you are still kicking.
nice kitty! I have a 20lb beast myself.
Yep I'm still around. Just lurking in the shadows. Yeah that's a picture of Callie. I lost her back in Feb from diabetes and dementia.. 17 yrs old!
skoone is offline  
post #8561 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
I like my levels, so does my part time employer.
45 SNR on some channels?! You next to the plant and have them balance it every day?
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8562 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
45 SNR on some channels?! You next to the plant and have them balance it every day?
Kind of bummed I have some corrected packets, usually stays at 0 for months at a time. I probably bumped a cable box and sent noise on the line.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8563 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
Kind of bummed I have some corrected packets, usually stays at 0 for months at a time. I probably bumped a cable box and sent noise on the line.
Forget cable, here's my backup DSL 1.5Mbps line stats. Jealous

I'm ~ 13,500 ft from the CO.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsl.png
Views:	13
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	2263058  
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #8564 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccurrytech View Post
Forget cable, here's my backup DSL 1.5Mbps line stats. Jealous

I'm ~ 13,500 ft from the CO.
I live uptown in a high rise. I suspect we have fiber to the building and only 70 drops, so minimal amps I imagine.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8565 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,717
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
I live uptown in a high rise. I suspect we have fiber to the building and only 70 drops, so minimal amps I imagine.
Wow.. I bet there are some nice views from up there..plus a really solid cable feed from what you describe.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #8566 of 8568 Old 08-03-2017, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Wow.. I bet there are some nice views from up there..plus a really solid cable feed from what you describe.
Yep. I bet the views would look awesome on TV.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #8567 of 8568 Old 08-04-2017, 08:50 AM
Member
 
skoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cramerton, NC
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, another bad in-ground line from the tap to the house. This makes four failed lines in 11 years. That's an awfully high percentage. Anyway, the bonded upstream channels are all back (power 48-50dbmv) but the download streams in my opinion remain quite low (SNR 38-40db, power -7 to -13dbmv). I'm not happy with it and I told the service guy that this really is not acceptable and please don't leave me stuck with this as it will degrade all over again in 3-6 months. As usual, he claimed that it's "normal" and the sole problem is a defective drop in the ground. So, at least for today I'm "just okay", better than it was for whatever its worth.
skoone is offline  
post #8568 of 8568 Old 08-04-2017, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
Well, another bad in-ground line from the tap to the house. This makes four failed lines in 11 years. That's an awfully high percentage. Anyway, the bonded upstream channels are all back (power 48-50dbmv) but the download streams in my opinion remain quite low (SNR 38-40db, power -7 to -13dbmv). I'm not happy with it and I told the service guy that this really is not acceptable and please don't leave me stuck with this as it will degrade all over again in 3-6 months. As usual, he claimed that it's "normal" and the sole problem is a defective drop in the ground. So, at least for today I'm "just okay", better than it was for whatever its worth.
You need to let me come over and deal with them during the next truck roll
jmccurrytech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off