Charlotte, NC - TWC - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 7936 Old 08-16-2003, 11:36 AM
Member
 
herrfish1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Richmond County, NC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great to see WCCB-DT on TWC finally! FOX seems to be gathering steam for a real HD push over the next year. I can't wait to see some Panthers games in High-Definition!

In the meantime, Bob, when will we be able to at least see a Panthers game in FOX wide-screen?


Keep up the good work!
herrfish1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 7936 Old 08-16-2003, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Seeing a Panthers game in 16:9 will depend on how well they play.
FOX will only do 2 games per Sunday in widescreen, and typically the
higher-ranked games.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #183 of 7936 Old 08-17-2003, 07:26 PM
Member
 
miamijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will Fox18 pass through the National Feed 16:9 game on the digital station and do the Panthers game on the analog ch.18? I assume that League rules preclude you from doing that.
Further, Mark Mathis is a Hoot! I actually now watch and record on my ReplayTV the 10:00 news just to see if he is on it. I know he is a "love-him or dislike-him" kind of personality but... if he goes, so does this viewer. Thanks bdfox18 !
miamijoe is offline  
post #184 of 7936 Old 08-18-2003, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
If FOX does it in 16:9, it will be passed automatically, as well as the DD5.1
The game would be the same as what is carried on the analog.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #185 of 7936 Old 08-18-2003, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Mhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that Fox is on the digital tier with HD programming on the way, I'll start watching more Fox. Lately, it seems like all I watch is their 10PM news. Mark Mathis is definitely the reason I tune in.

How much of Fox's Fall programming will be in the 16:9 format?
Mhorn is offline  
post #186 of 7936 Old 08-18-2003, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
We never know for sure until it hits air,there is no list per se.. they do tell us that more and more will be provided in 16:9 tho.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #187 of 7936 Old 08-19-2003, 07:38 AM
Member
 
miamijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox18 should do the news in 16:9... this would give Mark Mathis more room to dance and sing! He could use the extra the camera space.
miamijoe is offline  
post #188 of 7936 Old 08-20-2003, 10:44 AM
Member
 
herrfish1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Richmond County, NC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that we've gotten WCCB-DT, we need to push for ESPN-HD from Time Warner Cable. I sent them an email and got a reply that they hoped to be able to add ESPN-HD by the END OF THE YEAR! It that's the case, I might just have to get it from Directv because I sure would like to have Sunday night football in HD.

At any rate, all of those who are interested in ESPN-HD might want to send an email or letter to TWC making them aware of your interest.
herrfish1 is offline  
post #189 of 7936 Old 08-20-2003, 12:06 PM
Member
 
jrmckinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
herrfish,

They are well aware of the desire for ESPN-HD, the problem is the fees that ESPN wants to charge. TWC would like to add it without raising rates or making it a subscription channel, but ESPN wants to charge extra for it.
jrmckinn is offline  
post #190 of 7936 Old 08-20-2003, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Vash_Stampede's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How true! I'm all for the free ESPN-HD channel.Even with Directv you have to pay for it.As its been said so many times here,charging for HDTV sets a dangerous platform for channels going HD.Imagine 25 HD channels that all want 5.00 each! What a nightmare!I like ESPN too but I pay for it now as it is.Its not like the HD channel has any programming different from the standard channel!

The Humanoid Typhoon!
Vash_Stampede is offline  
post #191 of 7936 Old 08-20-2003, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm Ok with "by the end of the year" - as long as it happens. That's when Sportscenter is going HD and it will be just in time for some ACC basketball. Plus, it's almost September anyway. The "end of the year" is just over 3 months away.

What I don't like is the - "we don't know when or if we are going to carry ESPN-HD"

(hope you guys don't mind a Triangle resident chiming in)
deArgila is offline  
post #192 of 7936 Old 08-20-2003, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Remember, even if ESPN-HD is carried by TW, all the good ACC games will be on WBTV/WRAL and will be blacked out even if they're HD on ESPN.
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #193 of 7936 Old 08-21-2003, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jmccurrytech
Remember, even if ESPN-HD is carried by TW, all the good ACC games will be on WBTV/WRAL and will be blacked out even if they're HD on ESPN.

While this (unfortunately) will be true in a great number of cases, I've definietly watched some high profile ACC games on ESPN, leading me to think they could be availabe to me on ESPN-HD.

Also, I read somewhere (though I'm still very skeptical) that there are different blackout rules for HD. Anyone know?
deArgila is offline  
post #194 of 7936 Old 08-25-2003, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


just in time for some ACC basketball

Question: Doesn't WRAL do HD so we would get it in HD? Wasn't in Charlotte last season so not sure how this works - appreciate the info.

Statemen: FSN out of Raleigh will be HD this fall - ACC Sunday Night Hoops.......no fact just a though

How is the FOX WS channel? Coming home in a week and can't wait

Bdfox - anything new on getting equipment for 720p - last I heard it wasn't ordered etc
mhdiab is offline  
post #195 of 7936 Old 08-26-2003, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:


Originally posted by deArgila

Also, I read somewhere (though I'm still very skeptical) that there are different blackout rules for HD. Anyone know?

Nope. Blackout rules are blackout rules, and make no distinction in regards
to HD.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #196 of 7936 Old 08-27-2003, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Mhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm really enjoying the digital Fox channel on TW. While it's not HD, the widescreen content on the digital channel is much improved over the analog channel.

Looking forward to the switch to HD in 2004.
Mhorn is offline  
post #197 of 7936 Old 08-27-2003, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bob I have noticed that WCCB is sending out a 1080i signal, when FOX does 720p will you continue to do 1080i or will you broadcast native 720p?
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #198 of 7936 Old 08-28-2003, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
We'll have to switch to 720p when FOX goes, otherwise we'd have to cross convert them and we don't want to do that. Besides, since WOLO-DT and WCCB-DT share common equipment, It makes things here much simpler.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #199 of 7936 Old 08-29-2003, 05:20 PM
Member
 
powers2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CBS will broadcast starting tomorrow in hd, but here's the really good news: USA Network's coverage will be carried in HD on Channel 290 starting on Monday!!!!! Check out twcarolina.com for the schedule. This will be awesome!
powers2020 is offline  
post #200 of 7936 Old 08-30-2003, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I checked 290 and the INHD Preview channel is on their, I guess they'll turn the preview off while Tennis is on.
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #201 of 7936 Old 08-30-2003, 05:13 PM
Member
 
namcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is it that when I dial 290 all I get is ???...is this in a hidden mode of some sort?
namcap is offline  
post #202 of 7936 Old 08-30-2003, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hidden mode , read my previous posts on how to access it or PM me.
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #203 of 7936 Old 08-30-2003, 07:02 PM
Member
 
namcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jmccurrytech: Disregard the PM...I did find your previous post and was able to find channe 290. Thanks for the tip!!!
namcap is offline  
post #204 of 7936 Old 09-05-2003, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Vash_Stampede's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
INHD

Just in case everyone doesnt know yet INHD is now available as a free preview and is no longer hidden!!! CH290 looks awesome!

The Humanoid Typhoon!
Vash_Stampede is offline  
post #205 of 7936 Old 09-05-2003, 02:25 PM
Member
 
AnthonyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree INHD looks incredible. Can't wait for th MLB games.
AnthonyM is offline  
post #206 of 7936 Old 09-05-2003, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If anyone cares to check out channel 291 in "hidden" mode, it's INHD 2. It's listed as Off Air because programming doesn't start until the 15th and it will be unhidden by then. Just somethin to do if you get bored
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #207 of 7936 Old 09-05-2003, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jmccurrytech
If anyone cares to check out channel 291 in "hidden" mode, it's INHD 2. It's listed as Off Air because programming doesn't start until the 15th and it will be unhidden by then. Just somethin to do if you get bored

Can you outline the "how to access hidden mode" for me? I searched the posts and couldn't find anything.
deArgila is offline  
post #208 of 7936 Old 09-06-2003, 05:34 PM
Member
 
jbryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Draper, UT
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is 290 gone again?
jbryer is offline  
post #209 of 7936 Old 09-06-2003, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
jmccurrytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bessemer City, NC
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
jmccurrytech is offline  
post #210 of 7936 Old 09-08-2003, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link - but what is the make and model of your box?

I have a SA3100HD and I couldn't get it to work.

EDIT: NEVERMIND - I re-read your post and found my mistake - I was using the remote, not the buttons on the box.

THANKS!
deArgila is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off