Cleveland, OH - WOW - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2011, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just received an email from WOW cable about the three phase transition to digital. The letter stated that they are reducing the analog channels and converting them to digital. They will make available two digital adapters per household.

I called WOW and couldn't get an intelligent person to answer my questions. I was concerned that these adapters would be full-blown Digital boxes that had their own remote control and everything would be encrypted. He seemed to think so. I am hopeful that is not the case since I use external PVR software (SageTV) to record my TV and most of it is analog or clear-QAM (HDHomeRun for that).

After asking, they said the two devices are the Cisco DTA50 or the Evolution something-or-other.

Questions:

1) Does anyone know if these devices *require* a remote to change channels? If they don't, I can continue to record with my Hauppauge WinTV card, albeit at a slightly lower quality due to a D/A conversion in the box.

or

2) Does anyone know.....just by reading the specs or being familiar with the device....if they *input* clear QAM? Or is it encrypted? If its clear, I can continue to use my HDHomeRun to record the TV shows.
Valnar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2011, 09:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WOW will encrypt most all channels. They will no longer be in clear QAM, let alone analog.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 02-04-2011, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Local HD channels will likely be in the clear. SD limited basic channels like public/educational/government access may be in the clear. Everything else will probably be encrypted. The DTA boxes do the channel changing so you would need an IR blaster to use one with a tuner card.
coyoteaz is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was afraid of that.

OK, another question on a HDTV.

So how does this device work in conjunction with the free local HD channels I receive? If I put this device inline with my coax cable, I have to use the remote codes in comes with, right? So how then can I use my own QAM tuner in my HDTV to then tune my local HD channels? I wouldn't want them converted to analog by this device.
Valnar is offline  
Old 02-05-2011, 11:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post

I was afraid of that.

OK, another question on a HDTV.

So how does this device work in conjunction with the free local HD channels I receive? If I put this device inline with my coax cable, I have to use the remote codes in comes with, right? So how then can I use my own QAM tuner in my HDTV to then tune my local HD channels? I wouldn't want them converted to analog by this device.

Split the coax signal and run it directly into the set. If the digital box they provide only has RF out, you may need to use an RF A/B switch to switch between the direct feed and digital box.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 09:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Added to US Master Topic.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow's first phase of migrating analog channels to digital occurred this morning. I lost a bunch of channels. I guess I need to fire up my digital converter now.
Valnar is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 08:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
http://www.wowway.com/digitaladapter/

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fantastic news for WOW customers. They truly are a good cable company.

http://www.thewowbuzz.com/blog/techn...tion-revisited
Valnar is offline  
Old 05-31-2012, 01:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post

Fantastic news for WOW customers. They truly are a good cable company.

http://www.thewowbuzz.com/blog/techn...tion-revisited


The article references the fact WOW passes their Basic Cable channels in clear QAM.

WOW QAM Channel Lineups:
http://www.wowway.com/wow-built-in-d...annel-lineups/

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off