Tucson, AZ - HDTV - Page 126 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3751 of 3757 Old 03-05-2014, 11:29 AM
ebo
Advanced Member
 
ebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Delmar NY
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Er, if you're in Tucson, and you want Fox, shouldn't you be looking to the northeast? http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php?appid=1069565&map=Y

- Trip
I suspect the person you responded to is on the northwest side of Tucson, as I am at the moment. Most of the people in this area have trouble getting the primary transmitters on Mt. Bigelow because they're blocked by Mt. Lemmon. So many of the stations have set up repeaters on the west side on Tumamoc Hill (PBS, NBC, ABC) and Tower Peak (CBS). Since Comcast in Tucson is encrypting all channels I've set up an antenna system (a Silver Sensor for UHF and a twin lead folded dipole cut for ch. 4 for VHF) that gets all those plus the CW station from Sierra Vista. But there's no repeater for the Fox station.
ebo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3752 of 3757 Old 03-05-2014, 11:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I was referring specifically to SycamoreSeej, whose location I don't know. His message says he's getting 6 and 27 (as well as both 9 and 16), which suggests he can only be so shadowed. I'm aware of the coverage hole in the Casas Adobes area.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3753 of 3757 Old 03-05-2014, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
SycamoreSeej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm in an apartment building on the north side, so roof antennas are no go. Indoor antennas only, and not on the patio (But we can have Dish installed on the patio.... UGH). Right now, I'm content with what i'm getting right now until my cable extenders arrive so I can attach a longer cable to the rabbit ears. If i really wanted to, I might put my other indoor antenna (when it arrives) and put it in the east windows and use a combiner. It depends on how the cable extension fares. I did get KOLD for 3 seconds last night, though. Another funny thing was my kitchen lights love to interfere with the signal. Dumb florescent lights.

EDIT: Have noticed that both KGUN feeds like to fight each other for supremacy on my TV after 10am. Might be where my antenna is (I seriously can't put it anywhere else or lose signal for all stations). This also might be my TV's fault, but the audio/video sync is completely off by a good 1/2 second or so on the majority of channels I get. Annoying as hell for me. So far the only good stations I can watch all day is KVOA, CW, and PBS, until my new gear comes in soon.

Now in Tucson, AZ with a cheap rabbit ears antenna in the east window at a height of 40 ft off the ground (3rd floor apt with VERY high celings). Got everything except FOX. :-/
SycamoreSeej is offline  
post #3754 of 3757 Old 03-15-2014, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
SycamoreSeej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
UPDATE: Finally got my cable extenders and set up my rabbit ears in the living room window (west) and got better signal from all the channels available, including KOLD. Much better!

Now in Tucson, AZ with a cheap rabbit ears antenna in the east window at a height of 40 ft off the ground (3rd floor apt with VERY high celings). Got everything except FOX. :-/
SycamoreSeej is offline  
post #3755 of 3757 Old 03-19-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
SycamoreSeej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
After my RF cable extenders came in last week, I put the antenna in the west window for the time being. This morning I moved the extended cable out of the way so I could get to the closet outside to put a couple boxes away. Came back and lost KOLD. The antenna wasn't touched at all, but all efforts to get it back failed. So I went back out to the closet and grabbed my ladder. I then moved my rabbit ears to the east window, with both RF extenders and a combined 15' cable run to the tv, on the floor and up the closet wall. I have a HUGE closet underneath one of the east windows, so I put it on top of there (the antenna won't fit with the dipoles fully extended upwards in the window itself). My signal reception improved dramatically with the channels I aready had (both KGUN's coming in great. 16 is slightly better than 9 ATM), plus both PBS and the LP channels coming in pretty good as well (Mexican soccer, anyone?), but STILL NO FOX. Looking at the rabbitears.info post posted earlier, I'm in the fringe of needing an outdoor antenna to get it The black dot in the photo is my location. They really need to get off their butts and get a repeater. This is ridiculous. mad.gif


Now in Tucson, AZ with a cheap rabbit ears antenna in the east window at a height of 40 ft off the ground (3rd floor apt with VERY high celings). Got everything except FOX. :-/
SycamoreSeej is offline  
post #3756 of 3757 Old 03-30-2014, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Carey P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone having trouble last few weeks with KGUN repeater having a weak signal? I'm getting horrendous dropouts now in the NW when it was working fine before.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk
Carey P is offline  
post #3757 of 3757 Old 03-31-2014, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
adash66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: 85710
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KGUN showed back up for me after being down for a week or more. Getting 67% signal on the eastside.
adash66 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off