Wilkes Barre, PA - HDTV - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 701 Old 05-09-2011, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took my Antennas Direct 91XG outside and put it on a pole that I was holding on while my TV was scanning for stations.
and I was able to get 22.1 from WB with a 49-50 signal
My 55 inch Plasma also picked up 49.1 and 50.1 butttt with no picture.

I am sure I can put a roof mount on my roof that I have and get at least another 10 feet at least...Would you good folks think I will get more stations?
and is it best to uut a Amp on???And what is the Best Amp I can get?
From the TV too the antenna will be less then 100 feet.
Since I am only facing the WB Scranton area I feel I don't think I need a rotor unless you folks think differant?.Thanks JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 701 Old 05-09-2011, 01:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
49.1 is WVIA (PBS) and 50.1 is WNEP (ABC). When you put it up on the pole, those should correctly scan in as 44-1 and 16-1 respectively. If you got 22-1, then 28-1 shouldn't be too much weaker since it's coming out of the same antenna at the same power level.

I would suspect putting it up on the roof would help you to get 56-1 WOLF (FOX) as well. Not sure you'd get too much beyond that. An amp could certainly help at your distance, and a rotor would only help if you want to try for stations besides those in Scranton.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #663 of 701 Old 05-09-2011, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

49.1 is WVIA (PBS) and 50.1 is WNEP (ABC). When you put it up on the pole, those should correctly scan in as 44-1 and 16-1 respectively. If you got 22-1, then 28-1 shouldn't be too much weaker since it's coming out of the same antenna at the same power level.

I would suspect putting it up on the roof would help you to get 56-1 WOLF (FOX) as well. Not sure you'd get too much beyond that. An amp could certainly help at your distance, and a rotor would only help if you want to try for stations besides those in Scranton.

- Trip

Thanks for your time
I started witha fresh scan and was able to get 22.1,very good picture but
I am sure the signal should be better then 50%
I don't get it,if I am getting 49.1 and 50.1 why would I not get 28.1???Orrrr should there be programing on 49.1 and 50.1???(No picture on those stations}
I thought that the Antennas Direct 91XG is one of the Best UHF antennas
to get HD??? and what is the BEST Amp to get since I am 37.1 miles away from the tower?
At looking at TVfool it seems that 22.1 is in the hard to pickup GRAY area
But with the RED area I am not getting anything,but I am sure maybe another 8-10 feet might do it?...Thanks JT
I http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8d17cc417803db
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #664 of 701 Old 05-09-2011, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It's a good antenna, but it won't make signals appear out of nowhere. You're very close to the noise floor, according to your TV Fool plot, meaning you're going to have to put it up on the roof to get 49 and 50 to show a picture. That is what you'll probably need to see a signal on Fox as well.

22.1 and 28.1 are on channels 13 and 11, respectively, which are VHF frequencies. Your XG-91 is made for UHF rather than VHF, but if you're seeing 22.1 now, when you get it up on the roof it may pull in 28.1 as well. The radio club I'm in has an XG-91 and it does not receive the local VHF station, but if it's working for you, I say don't argue with it.

To answer your question, I think the extra 8-10 feet might do it, but the only way to be sure is to try and see.

As for an amp, I'd say to get the antenna on the roof first, see what your signals are like, then think about an amp.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #665 of 701 Old 05-09-2011, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your time Trip

I remember a few years ago during the Winter I was able to get 16.1 along with 22.1 with a few HD stations in the 40s
Yes I am sure a VHF antenna will help buttt I am only looking for Digitals and HD stations...........Yes I will put the antenna on the roof and see what happens....Maybe because its spring and the trees are getting full with leaves,thats why I am not getting much.thanks again...........JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #666 of 701 Old 05-14-2011, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So... I had Comcast installed earlier in the week and I'm comparing it to Dish Network. It seems like a tough call but I think Dish wins for SD and Comcast wins for HD but not all channels. It's a very tough decision!

Has anybody else recently compared these two?
sofakng is offline  
post #667 of 701 Old 06-27-2011, 07:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Hello, folks:

I find myself in Bushkill again this summer, and for the first time ever, I've managed to receive a digital TV signal here! I decoded WNEP-50 last night. WVIA-49 was close but never quite decoded, and WOLF-45 was present but much weaker. Nothing else showed any signal.

We're in a different, higher location this year, and I suspect that to be responsible for my first-time reception.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #668 of 701 Old 07-26-2011, 12:27 PM
Member
 
jmoz2989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scranton, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the two Nexstar stations WYOU and WBRE finally got the equipment to play back syndicated programming in HD. Dr. Oz looks good, albeit a few errors causing the signal to break up with green and purple lines.

DVR: Totally worth the monthly fee to get 15 minutes +/- of a busy life back!
Quality, not quantity!
jmoz2989 is offline  
post #669 of 701 Old 08-15-2011, 09:35 AM
Member
 
jmoz2989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scranton, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just caught up on WNEP too, as syndicated programming has been broadcasting in HD for a week or two now. Seinfeld looks pretty good in HD on WNEP. Last local stations to be HD ready for syndicates are WOLF, WSWB and WQMY.

DVR: Totally worth the monthly fee to get 15 minutes +/- of a busy life back!
Quality, not quantity!
jmoz2989 is offline  
post #670 of 701 Old 08-15-2011, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update.

I'm still hoping that Comcast gets GSN HD (as silly as that sounds) so I can switch off Dish Network. Hopefully they get it soon...
sofakng is offline  
post #671 of 701 Old 08-15-2011, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
KML-224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been in the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre DMA a few times lately, whether I was at PNC Field in Moosic or at Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs in Plains. Anyways, is that the WNEP-TV studio I see while leaving I-81, heading for PNC Field? Also, while in the parking lot of the casino, I see the big wind turbines up on the hill, above the studio for WOLF-TV (FOX)/WQMY-TV (MY). I heard those affect TV reception for some people in the area. Wouldn't the topography do more to hinder one's reception?
KML-224 is offline  
post #672 of 701 Old 08-18-2011, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KML-224 View Post

I've been in the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre DMA a few times lately, whether I was at PNC Field in Moosic or at Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs in Plains. Anyways, is that the WNEP-TV studio I see while leaving I-81, heading for PNC Field? Also, while in the parking lot of the casino, I see the big wind turbines up on the hill, above the studio for WOLF-TV (FOX)/WQMY-TV (MY). I heard those affect TV reception for some people in the area. Wouldn't the topography do more to hinder one's reception?

You're correct: the WNEP studio is located near PNC Field, right off I-81. Also, the WVIA studio is near Pocono Downs, on the other side of I-81.

As for wind turbines vs. topography, the topography is the bigger hinderance, but I've also heard (and stated here) that the turbines also affect reception, but I heard that it was up in the Waymart area. I was in Waymart last month, and like you, I think the terrain is more of a problem there than anywhere else. Perhaps the problem manifests itself as you go toward Honesdale - I'm not sure.
dhett is offline  
post #673 of 701 Old 10-25-2011, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody received any new HD channels on Comcast?

I've heard of other areas (Montgomery County, PA) getting GSN HD, BBCA HD, etc, and I'm really hoping that Wilkes-Barre gets these.

(I'm still waiting for GSN HD mostly, and then I can switch from Dish Network!)
sofakng is offline  
post #674 of 701 Old 11-07-2011, 04:25 PM
Member
 
jmoz2989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scranton, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Contradicting an e-mail response I received from a programming rep. at the local FOX/CW/MYNet studio HQ it looks as though today the stations started broadcasting select programs from syndicates in HD. The response said the studio equipment would not be completely replaced until next Fall season. So far in sampling programming, shows such as 30 Rock and two and half men are being played back in HD. Newer episodes of Family Guy and the Simpsons were played tonight and they were not in HD (still 16:9 squeezed into the 4:3 aspect ratio area). The Big Bang Theory was just 4:3 with no letterbox. Adams Cable does not carry WQMY in HD, so there is no telling whether programming on there is HD (the station always messes with aspect ratios on the SD feed). The high definition gap closes further for this Nielsen Market.

DVR: Totally worth the monthly fee to get 15 minutes +/- of a busy life back!
Quality, not quantity!
jmoz2989 is offline  
post #675 of 701 Old 04-02-2012, 10:31 PM
Member
 
adkinsjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WBRE (NBC affiliate) started HD newscasts April 2, with WYOU (CBS affiliate) airing WBRE-produced newscasts at noon and 7 p.m. WYOU closed down its own news operation in 2009
adkinsjm is offline  
post #676 of 701 Old 06-10-2013, 12:05 PM
Member
 
NoReDist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone happen to see a Dish Network still-slide on 56.1 in Northeast PA?
NoReDist is offline  
post #677 of 701 Old 10-22-2013, 11:53 AM
Member
 
OWENF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: bucks county
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All
I will be in the Dunmore area tomorrow installing an OTA antenna or 2 for a commercial customer.
The translator/repeaters in Waymart apear to be closer than Mountain Top but do they provide all the sub channels ?
Regards
Owenf
OWENF is offline  
post #678 of 701 Old 10-22-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The Waymart stations are 100% the same as the Mountain Top signals, including all the subchannels.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #679 of 701 Old 10-22-2013, 02:39 PM
Member
 
OWENF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: bucks county
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Trip
OWENF is offline  
post #680 of 701 Old 10-23-2013, 12:50 AM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by OWENF View Post

Hello All
I will be in the Dunmore area tomorrow installing an OTA antenna or 2 for a commercial customer.
The translator/repeaters in Waymart apear to be closer than Mountain Top but do they provide all the sub channels ?
Regards
Owenf

The Waymart translators may be closer and carry all of the subchannels, but the Waymart signals are directional and broadcast away from Scranton/Dunmore. I think you'll be better off pointing at Mountain Top.
dhett is offline  
post #681 of 701 Old 10-25-2013, 12:17 PM
Member
 
OWENF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: bucks county
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks dhett
Yes i got the customer up on the mountain top towers on a small vhf/uhf/fm antenna. Waymart was just to week.
I used a 2nd 4 bay bow-tie type antenna for ION and CW(31 &32 RF) which was not needed but the signals were twice as strong with it and
I could see the towers from the roof top which were only about 5 miles away but about 50 degrees west from Mountain Top direction.
Regards
Owenf
OWENF is offline  
post #682 of 701 Old 02-02-2014, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated
I have not used my Antennas Direct 91XG and kept it in the garage unhooked of all cables
Today I wanted to put the Antennas Direct 91XG back up on the pole I was using but there was No programing (Signal 44 - 46 but 50 will get me a picture I would guess like before a few years back}
except channel 24 from wilksberrie that came in crappy so very crappy you could not make anything out with the picture.
I lost a Few reflectors off of the Antennas Direct 91XG (6 or 7 reflectors lost}I am not sure if that can be a problem?
Or maybe its best to order a few extra reflectors from Antennas Direct?

I have been looking atads at other antennas as maybe a replacement
Antennas Direct C4 ClearStream 4 Outdoor Digital HD TV Antenna ClearStream4 (C4) for $79.99
and the
Channel Master 4228HD 8-bay HDTV High VHF/UHF TV Antenna for $109

Not sure what is a better antenna
But maybe its time for a upgrade or stick with the 91XG and order a few reflectors ....Thanks all,,,,,,,,,,JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #683 of 701 Old 02-02-2014, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The issue is CBS & NBC are now on VHF (11&13). At the digital transition some stations moved from VHF to UHF and vise versa. In this case the 2 stations were on UHF before the transition but moved to VHF after that. VHF apparently "bends" better over mountains

So you would need a combination antenna (VHF & UHF) and the other stations on UHF (FOX, PBS, ABC) may be too weak to pick up unless you have a bigger antenna. If you could post your tvfool report that would help too.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #684 of 701 Old 02-02-2014, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I go too channel 13 it takes me too channel 22.1 WYOU Just a black channel with a signal of 45,,,,,think I need at least 50 as a signeal

Maybe its best to buy the Channel Master 4228HD since it has Higher VHF 7- 13 with it.....Thankssss.JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #685 of 701 Old 02-02-2014, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnytuinals View Post

When I go too channel 13 it takes me too channel 22.1 WYOU Just a black channel with a signal of 45,,,,,think I need at least 50 as a signeal

Maybe its best to buy the Channel Master 4228HD since it has Higher VHF 7- 13 with it.....Thankssss.JT

actually it doesn't. The issue is you're still stuck on UHF antennas. Before the DTV transition your market was a UHF island. Now after the transition 2 stations went to VHF. You posted the same stuff at satelliteguys and I see there was some info given there of antennas that would work that have both VHF & UHF. A UHF only antenna **may** get some VHF depending on power and distance but even then the signal is hindered.

I tried a antenna very similar to the one you posted. An 8 bay UHF antenna that gets **some** VHF. Now I am 30 miles from the towers here in Minneapolis (and line of site) and that antenna I got the 2 VHF stations we have (Fox 9 & NBC11) both showed low signal on my TV and converter box and Fox9 was pixelating. I bought a simple VHF only antenna and now both come in great. I combined them together (as the other 12 stations here are UHF) and it works real good.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #686 of 701 Old 02-02-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted in a few different places to get as much advise I can get.
Seems the CM4228HD is the antenna I will get but I am sure I am more in the valley then you are in Minn lol thanks.......JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #687 of 701 Old 02-03-2014, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #688 of 701 Old 02-03-2014, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
While that antenna is nice its one of the "older" models that still had VHF Low on it (2-6). Since you dont have any VHF Low stations near you a Antennacraft HBU55 would be more streamline as it doesnt have the real long elements for 2-6. It has the elements for 7-13 + the UHF
unclehonkey is offline  
post #689 of 701 Old 02-03-2014, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post

While that antenna is nice its one of the "older" models that still had VHF Low on it (2-6). Since you dont have any VHF Low stations near you a Antennacraft HBU55 would be more streamline as it doesnt have the real long elements for 2-6. It has the elements for 7-13 + the UHF
Or the Winegard 7698 if he prefers Winegard. Also streamlined for channels 7-13 and 14-51.
tylerSC is offline  
post #690 of 701 Old 02-03-2014, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like the AntennaCraft-HBU55 and its about $20 - $30 cheaper
I also like the Winegard 7698 that is the same price as the winegard HD7084P

Seems all 3 antennas are just as long?
And the more I look at these the more I get confused
I understand that the Winegard HD7084P will pickup channel 1 - 6 (That I don't get in my area} but thought maybe the 7698 antenna would have been abits shorter in size?.Thanks JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off