Wilkes Barre, PA - HDTV - Page 24 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 705 Old 02-03-2014, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The 7084 shows 131 inches long....so 11 feet
The 7698 shows 168 so 14 feet long
The HBU55 shows 145 inches so 12 feet long

The big difference is the 7084 is 110 inches wide (so 9 feet) due to the long elements for channels 2-6
The 7698 shows 53.5 inches so a little over 4 feet wide as it only needs for 7-13 which are much shorter elements
The HBU55 is about the same width as the 7698
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 705 Old 02-03-2014, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered a AntennaCraft-HBU55 for $95 with shipping
I felt the price and reviews were good on the antenna.
Feel this antenna will work well and if I need a amp then I will get one.
But for now this seems like a decent deal.thanks all....JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #693 of 705 Old 02-03-2014, 09:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Ya made a good choice. Let us know the results once you get it installed
unclehonkey is offline  
post #694 of 705 Old 02-08-2014, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I just put up my AntennaCraft-HBU55 outdoors
Seems that I only get 2 stations at this time (Signal is 47 - 50}
22.1 CBS WYOU and 28.1 NBC WBRE(it seems that I am in a YELLOW area for those 2 stations from TV Fool}
where as 16.1 ABC and 56.1 WOLF FOX That are in RED from TV Fool that I cannot get.
Maybe a AMP will help?

If I remember when I bought my Antenna Direct 91XG 4 - 6 years ago I was able to get the ABC but not FOX at that time
and I had read many stations have changed or relocate their ID numbers?
I also remember I was also able to get a Poconos weather channel.(Is that still avalable?.}..


UPDATED
I have gone too Antennaweb.org and put my Address in and NO stations showed up but if I put my zip code in then these stations shows that it can be picked up
Channel 22.1 and 28.1
(I only want the Wilksberrie stations}
Will it be that hard to get ABC and maybe Fox?

antennaweb.org/Stations.aspx?Address=&City=Brodheadsville&State=PA&ZIP=18322&Housing=M&Accuracy=4&Height=9&Obstructed=False&StationList=&Lat=40.9229722&Lon=-75.4053367
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #695 of 705 Old 02-08-2014, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems that the 2 stations that I pick up are VHF 22.1 and 28.1

All the other stations in that area are UHF (I thought UHF would be more easy to pick up?..
Would the AntennaCraft 30dB High Gain TV/FM Mast-Mounted Amplifier 10G212 for $35 would help?
Or maybe a CM or Winegard would be better amps?.Thanks allll...JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #696 of 705 Old 02-08-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 98
A stupid-high gain pre-amp isn't needed unless you have extraordinary cabling or distribution losses. A medium gain, lowest noise amp will be your best bet.

The Antennas Direct PA18 would be my first choice as the lowest noise one, followed by the CM7778 or the WG LNA200
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #697 of 705 Old 02-08-2014, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnytuinals View Post

Seems that the 2 stations that I pick up are VHF 22.1 and 28.1

All the other stations in that area are UHF (I thought UHF would be more easy to pick up?..

in most areas yes. But mountainous areas not so much. VHF signals "bend" over rugged terrain more easily than UHF signals.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #698 of 705 Old 02-08-2014, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used to be able to get 41.1 PBS about 6 years ago with the 91xg
But now nothing..I will look into the Antennas Direct PA18 .Thanks JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #699 of 705 Old 04-06-2014, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATED

Today I installed my AntennaCraft-HBU55 and Antenna Direct PA18 Uhf/Vhf Pre Amp kit
With just the AntennaCraft-HBU55 my reading are
22.1 Signal 38
28.1 Signal 39
Picture is kinda breaking up here and there

Then installed the Antenna Direct PA18
22.1 Signal 72
28.1 Signal 82
41.1 Signal 22
50.1 Signal 16

22.1 and 28.1 came in great
As for 41.1 and 50.1 they don't come in but the stations pop up when I do scan for stations on my tv.

Any of you think this will be the best I will be able too do?
Seems in Brodheadsville 18322 area is kinda low in my area and not high in the mountains like other areas...................JT
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #700 of 705 Old 04-06-2014, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
for 41.1 and 50.1

There aren't any stations in your area with those displayed channel numbers. Check your data.

What direction did you aim the antenna?

You should also include your exact location TVFool plot. A generic zip code is usually close to useless.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #701 of 705 Old 04-06-2014, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnnytuinals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your time
41.1 is PBS
50.1 In ABC
Only area I can get is Scranton Wilks beirie area
They keep poping up whenever I recan

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d5b94bc575ec243
Johnnytuinals is offline  
post #702 of 705 Old 01-05-2015, 09:16 PM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Potential Sinclair subchannel shuffle in Scranton:
WQMY goes back to being a satellite of WOLF
WOLF/WQMY: 56.1/53.1 FOX (720p HD), 56.2/53.2 CW (720p HD), 56.3/53.3 MNT (480i SD), 56.4/53.4 MeTV (480i SD)
WSWB (spun off): 38.1 ????

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #703 of 705 Old 01-06-2015, 08:54 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 4
The posts I made here and on other threads are just pure speculation on just what might happen in these markets, with the FCC's crackdown on JSAs/SSAs and the impending incentive auction. Some of you may have been offended, and for that I apologize.

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #704 of 705 Old 01-26-2016, 04:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I use a winguard gs1100 and pull 16.1 16.2 16.3, 22.1, 28.1, 38.1, 38.2, 44.1, 44.2, 44.3, 44.4, 53, 56.1, 56.2, 56.3, and all the ion 64 that I can't remember. Zip is 18640. Someone told me about a new channel 35 that is airing stargate.. anyone hear anything about this or where it is? Since I use directv and am21s I need to trick their database to receiving channels, so I would need to know the digital number as well as rf number.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
twizt3dkitty01 is offline  
post #705 of 705 Old 01-26-2016, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
There is CometTV which is showing Stargate
Its on 38-3 (WSWB-DT3)
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off