Portland KATU-DT seriously messed up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2002, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BarryO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Banks, OR, USA
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They mapped to channels 43-1 to 43-8 with no content last night.

Tonight they're mapped to 30-1: so you can set your receiver to get them, or UPN, but not both.

And, "The Court" is now being broadcast in SD instead of HD?!?

I heard Wes is no longer there. Anyone have a contact in Engineering?

You have a right to install OTA and dish antennas on property under your control.
See http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
BarryO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2002, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wes has retired (lucky guy!), I'll see if I can get ahold of someone over there Wednesday.

Lee
Lee Wood is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 08:37 AM
Member
 
AssaultAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Portland, OR (Hillsboro to be exact)
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like a few of us were experiencing a little frustration yesterday with this. I'm pretty curious as to what they were doing at KATU to cause this.

After several attempts at trying to get my box to remap all of this....I just switched to KOIN and avoided the problem ;)

Scott
AssaultAttack is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Hutchinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Beaverton,OR
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Huh.

I recorded (HiPix) Spin City last night (Tue) with no apparent problem. I stepped through the recording to see if it was ok and as far as I can tell, it is. I did not rescan and the HiPix recorded using 2-1.
Larry Hutchinson is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 02:54 PM
R11
AVS Special Member
 
R11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 4,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Larry,

I think this was from the previous night.

ron
R11 is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did call KATU today. Their PSIP computer crashed two days ago and the encoder is stuck doing what it is doing. The control software is also on a laptop, but the laptop is in Las Vegas until Thursday. They were unaware that the encoder was putting out 30-1 and will try to find the software in-house to get it corrected.

Lee
Lee Wood is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BarryO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Banks, OR, USA
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Lee. It's nice of KGW to send their laptops to the NAB convention, isn't it? ;)

BTW, "The Court" was in SD everwhere last night; I guess because they already cancelled it (after only two showings!?)

You have a right to install OTA and dish antennas on property under your control.
See http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
BarryO is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marissadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Woodburn, OR
Posts: 3,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new contact is Alan Batdorf:

ABatdorf@katu.com

You measure your TV in INCHES? How cute! 9.16 Ft Diagonally, Yeah, Baby!
Marissadad is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan is in Las Vegas (NAB) WITH the Laptop.
Lee Wood is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 10:33 PM
Member
 
foelker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: portland,or,usa
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all
I just got back in town today and was surprised to see we had a local forum for Portland! I guess I missed all the problems with KATU. I assume everything is working fine because I am still mapped to 2-1 and everything looks good.
Looking forward to your comments

Scott
foelker is offline  
Old 04-10-2002, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scott,

Don't do a channel scan or you will lose KPTV. Your tuner's memory is holding KATU on 2-1. If you do a scan it would change it to 30-1.
Lee Wood is offline  
Old 04-11-2002, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Zeke013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I do a scan, will that mean I will lose UPN?

And people wonder why HDTV is so slow to catch on . . .
Zeke013 is offline  
Old 04-11-2002, 09:54 AM
R11
AVS Special Member
 
R11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 4,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Hmmm, you know, this is interesting how one broadcaster having problems can actually affect viewers' capability of getting reception of a totally unrelated station. I can see this being used in crucial Sweeps Weeks strategies during tight ratings battles in the future ;).

ron
R11 is offline  
Old 04-11-2002, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marissadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Woodburn, OR
Posts: 3,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zeke, if you do an auto scan, you will set channel 30 to ABC. If you do a manual DTV input and choose channel 30 for UPN, you will get UPN.

The reason it's getting mapped to ABC on autoscan is because it finds channel 43 (ABC) after it finds 30 (UPN). For now you have your choice of which to watch, or just do a manual change if you want to switch channels.

You measure your TV in INCHES? How cute! 9.16 Ft Diagonally, Yeah, Baby!
Marissadad is offline  
Old 04-11-2002, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KATU has fixed the problem. If you did a rescan and lost KPTV-DT you will probably need to do another one to get it back.

Ron,
Quote:
Hmmm, you know, this is interesting how one broadcaster having problems can actually affect viewers' capability of getting reception of a totally unrelated station. I can see this being used in crucial Sweeps Weeks strategies during tight ratings battles in the future.
It hasn't escaped my attention. :D

We could send out PSIP data for all the channels that redirects them to us only; but, of course, we'd never actually do that.

Lee
Lee Wood is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off