Wichita, KS - HDTV - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 3098 Old 02-11-2010, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
KHarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else out there in the Wichita area a Cox customer with a TV that has a cablecard and the built-in TV Guide On Screen system? I keep losing my data off of my LG 50PC1DR television, and am trying to determine if it is a signal issue or a hardware issue.
KHarper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 3098 Old 02-17-2010, 04:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mabuttra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wichita, KS OTA (w/optional cable connection)
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by KHarper View Post

Is anyone else out there in the Wichita area a Cox customer with a TV that has a cablecard and the built-in TV Guide On Screen system? I keep losing my data off of my LG 50PC1DR television, and am trying to determine if it is a signal issue or a hardware issue.

KWCH has apparently turned off the TVGOS data. I have contacted them about it, and may know more by the end of the day.

Mark
mabuttra is offline  
post #2973 of 3098 Old 02-17-2010, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
KHarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabuttra View Post

KWCH has apparently turned off the TVGOS data. I have contacted them about it, and may know more by the end of the day.

Mark

Thanks. If you learn more, please post an update here or send me a private message.
KHarper is offline  
post #2974 of 3098 Old 02-17-2010, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mabuttra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wichita, KS OTA (w/optional cable connection)
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by KHarper View Post

Thanks. If you learn more, please post an update here or send me a private message.

It's back on again. They didn't know there was a problem until I called.

Mark
mabuttra is offline  
post #2975 of 3098 Old 02-17-2010, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
KHarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabuttra View Post

It's back on again. They didn't know there was a problem until I called.

Mark

thanks. I still didn't have data when I got home from work this evening, but I'll let the TV sit overnight and maybe clear until tomorrow evening and see. If I still don't have data, I'll do the dreaded reset if I can remember how. But then the channels get back in that randomized order.
KHarper is offline  
post #2976 of 3098 Old 02-18-2010, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
KHarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got data, now! Thanks for contacting KWCH.
KHarper is offline  
post #2977 of 3098 Old 03-04-2010, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Kansas Zephyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KAKE now has a digital translator on channel 21 in Colwich.

http://www.kake.com/blogs/dtv/86396797.html
Kansas Zephyr is offline  
post #2978 of 3098 Old 03-04-2010, 01:49 PM
Member
 
jeffdb27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salina, Kansas
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So now, Wichita has two digital transmitters covering the same area, while up here in Salina we still have an analog translator.

When they were on 21 full power, I could at least pick that up some of the time, but since the have gone back to 10, i can never get it. I know some of that is probably my antenna, but I am able to get channel 12 (CW) some of the time. I can get ch 19 (KWCH) all of the time.

KWCH had a similar problem after the switch over and just swapped 12 and 19 giving up the perfectly good 31 transmitter. KAKE should just go back to full power on 21, drop 10, and get our translator up here in Salina flash cut over to digital!

End of Rant

Jeff
jeffdb27 is offline  
post #2979 of 3098 Old 03-04-2010, 02:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdb27 View Post

KAKE should just go back to full power on 21,

I doubt they can. Spacing to KSNC-22 is probably an issue.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2980 of 3098 Old 03-04-2010, 02:16 PM
Member
 
jeffdb27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salina, Kansas
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But seriously, is this their long term plan? To spend money operating two transmitters with the same programming to the same area?
jeffdb27 is offline  
post #2981 of 3098 Old 03-04-2010, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Kansas Zephyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdb27 View Post

KWCH had a similar problem after the switch over and just swapped 12 and 19 giving up the perfectly good 31 transmitter. KAKE should just go back to full power on 21, drop 10, and get our translator up here in Salina flash cut over to digital!

KWCH/KSCW owns the facilities near Hutch. The channel 31 transmitter (now KDCU) is on a leased tower.

Clearly the FCC, and most everybody, thought VHF high was going to be great for DTV, or else everybody would have made plans to stay full-power UHF.

KAKE has four LP/TX stations to convert. With this economy who knows when they'll get the money for those.
Kansas Zephyr is offline  
post #2982 of 3098 Old 03-10-2010, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Squid7085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wichita,KS
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Who agreed to give MyTV Wichita the carriage agreement for the Big 12 Network? Honestly, they can't show games in HD that are filmed in HD, and its crappy SD at that. I know they are getting an HD feed, because it "pops" into HD for a a second at times, but instantly changes back, like it was a mistake? On top of that, running commercials during the games, horrible audio, ect, ect. Thank god I am a KU fan, most of our games are on real networks, but watching other Big 12 games is just painful.
Squid7085 is offline  
post #2983 of 3098 Old 03-10-2010, 10:50 AM
Member
 
jeffdb27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salina, Kansas
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squid7085 View Post

Who agreed to give MyTV Wichita the carriage agreement for the Big 12 Network? Honestly, they can't show games in HD that are filmed in HD, and its crappy SD at that. I know they are getting an HD feed, because it "pops" into HD for a a second at times, but instantly changes back, like it was a mistake? On top of that, running commercials during the games, horrible audio, ect, ect. Thank god I am a KU fan, most of our games are on real networks, but watching other Big 12 games is just painful.

Well, it's not in HD on ESPN360.com either. (It has the ESPN360.com gray bars on the sides of the picture.) Why do you think this feed is HD? MYTV has aired HD programming in the past. Why would they be unable to show these games in HD.

I've never seen any games on either the Big12 Network or the Jayhawk Network in HD. I'll agree, though, that even for SD, the picture is always crap on games on mytv or ksas. Even when an ESPN channel cuts into games on these networks, it's in SD.

Jeff
jeffdb27 is offline  
post #2984 of 3098 Old 03-11-2010, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Double Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Kansas
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if/when COX is going to offer MyTV in HD in Salina? I hate watching the Big 12 BB Tournament games in SD.
Double Eagle is offline  
post #2985 of 3098 Old 03-11-2010, 05:38 PM
Newbie
 
chrismikehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdb27 View Post

Well, it's not in HD on ESPN360.com either. (It has the ESPN360.com gray bars on the sides of the picture.) Why do you think this feed is HD? MYTV has aired HD programming in the past. Why would they be unable to show these games in HD.

I've never seen any games on either the Big12 Network or the Jayhawk Network in HD. I'll agree, though, that even for SD, the picture is always crap on games on mytv or ksas. Even when an ESPN channel cuts into games on these networks, it's in SD.

Jeff

I was told that the KU/KSU game last week was shown in HD in KC, and the feed looked a lot better than most Big XII games do on Saturday afternoons. Tonight's KSU game looks decent as well, and I would bet it is being filmed by the same crew/equip that did the KU game for ESPN2 earlier in the day. I am assuming that a game filmed in HD looks a little better on SD than one that was filmed SD.

That being said, I hate that the Big XII games are on MyTV, as I think they make an already bad picture look horrible most of the time. Plus I use a PC with a tuner card, and the 116-2 feed of MyTV has vanished, so I am going to have to re-work my guide to use the 94-3 feed, if it is still there. (yes, I am a cheap bastard that only gets limited basic so I can QAM the locals)

I'm not a smart@ss, I just play one on the Internet
chrismikehead is offline  
post #2986 of 3098 Old 03-12-2010, 04:16 PM
Member
 
jojo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wichita, Kansas by way of Chicago
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismikehead View Post

I was told that the KU/KSU game last week was shown in HD in KC, and the feed looked a lot better than most Big XII games do on Saturday afternoons. Tonight's KSU game looks decent as well, and I would bet it is being filmed by the same crew/equip that did the KU game for ESPN2 earlier in the day. I am assuming that a game filmed in HD looks a little better on SD than one that was filmed SD.

That being said, I hate that the Big XII games are on MyTV, as I think they make an already bad picture look horrible most of the time. Plus I use a PC with a tuner card, and the 116-2 feed of MyTV has vanished, so I am going to have to re-work my guide to use the 94-3 feed, if it is still there. (yes, I am a cheap bastard that only gets limited basic so I can QAM the locals)


I am watching the Big 12 tournament right now (Friday night) and it is on both FOX and MyTV Wichita....if you have an HDTV, the HD feed is right now on MyTV Wichita.......freaked me out!!!!
jojo11 is offline  
post #2987 of 3098 Old 03-12-2010, 04:28 PM
Member
 
jojo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wichita, Kansas by way of Chicago
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double Eagle View Post

Anyone know if/when COX is going to offer MyTV in HD in Salina? I hate watching the Big 12 BB Tournament games in SD.

According to Cox's website, you should have MyTV in HD. It is cable channel 2006.
jojo11 is offline  
post #2988 of 3098 Old 03-12-2010, 05:13 PM
Member
 
Double Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Kansas
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jojo11 View Post

According to Cox's website, you should have MyTV in HD. It is cable channel 2006.

Maybe in Wichita, but not in Salina. No 2006.

http://ww2.cox.com/wcm/en/residentia...sas/Salina.pdf
Double Eagle is offline  
post #2989 of 3098 Old 03-14-2010, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Squid7085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wichita,KS
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismikehead View Post

I was told that the KU/KSU game last week was shown in HD in KC, and the feed looked a lot better than most Big XII games do on Saturday afternoons. Tonight's KSU game looks decent as well, and I would bet it is being filmed by the same crew/equip that did the KU game for ESPN2 earlier in the day. I am assuming that a game filmed in HD looks a little better on SD than one that was filmed SD.

That being said, I hate that the Big XII games are on MyTV, as I think they make an already bad picture look horrible most of the time. Plus I use a PC with a tuner card, and the 116-2 feed of MyTV has vanished, so I am going to have to re-work my guide to use the 94-3 feed, if it is still there. (yes, I am a cheap bastard that only gets limited basic so I can QAM the locals)

That's where I got it from too, I have family and friends up in KC and Lawrence who said the game was in HD, so obviously it was being filmed in HD. Considering all the games were in the Sprint Center, I assume they set up all the cameras on day one and used them all four days. Since Big 12 Network is an ESPN affiliate, I bet they used all ESPN gear.

Either way, the game that was in SD, which I believe was one of the first round games caused me to send MyTV a comment on Twitter saying how mad I was about no HD. About 3 minutes after that, they started popping in HD and about 10 minutes later they had a Full HD feed with no sound, 5 mins later, they had a great HD picture with HD sound. Thankfully it stayed that way the rest of the tournament. So either irony, or somebody read my tweet.

With that said, I would gladly pay for a dedicated Big 12 Network in full HD. I am sure within the Big 12 region, most people would do the same. This having to have "Agreements" with stations is every city is a mess. Being a KU fan, most games are on National networks, but I still like watching KSU games and the like, mostly for trash talking purposes though.
Squid7085 is offline  
post #2990 of 3098 Old 03-23-2010, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
KHarper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
to mabuttra or others with TVGOS in Wichita: Are you experiencing any lack of data? I discovered yesterday I'm not getting listings for some channels, including Discovery HD and related channels; but am getting data for many other channels.
KHarper is offline  
post #2991 of 3098 Old 03-24-2010, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mabuttra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wichita, KS OTA (w/optional cable connection)
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by KHarper View Post

to mabuttra or others with TVGOS in Wichita: Are you experiencing any lack of data? I discovered yesterday I'm not getting listings for some channels, including Discovery HD and related channels; but am getting data for many other channels.

Sorry, I can't help, I just have limited basic cable on one TVGOS device, so I don't get DiscoveryHD. All my listings seem to be complete though. My other TVGOS device is over the air only.

Mark
mabuttra is offline  
post #2992 of 3098 Old 05-03-2010, 03:36 PM
Member
 
Jeff747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new Spanish language TV station, KDCU-31 is now broadcasting in 1080i HD, today is apparently the first day for this.
Jeff747 is offline  
post #2993 of 3098 Old 05-10-2010, 03:55 PM
Member
 
moreinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys. I'm back with Cox after a 2 year absence.

I wonder if anyone has an updated list of digital/HD channels available through my TV's QAM digital tuner? Just looking for a shortcut for what channels I'm going to pick up through Cox?

Thanks.
moreinc is offline  
post #2994 of 3098 Old 05-11-2010, 04:28 AM
Member
 
WillieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox just announced a new "Whole Home" DVR along with an overhauled user interface. Looks good so far!

http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/10/c...multiroom-dvr/

They'll roll it out to all of their markets by the end of the year. No word on pricing, though.
WillieC is offline  
post #2995 of 3098 Old 05-14-2010, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Squid7085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wichita,KS
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillieC View Post

Cox just announced a new "Whole Home" DVR along with an overhauled user interface. Looks good so far!

http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/10/c...multiroom-dvr/

They'll roll it out to all of their markets by the end of the year. No word on pricing, though.

The week I switch to U-Verse for similar features no less. I suppose I will have to keep an eye out, I an extremely happy with U-Verse so far, but I am more of a person that just wants to try the newest and greatest, hence the switch. I will be interested to see how the pricing comes on par with U-Verse. because by the sounds of it, this "feature" will be extra.
Squid7085 is offline  
post #2996 of 3098 Old 05-16-2010, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
cvos34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new RCA ANT3036X antenna mounted 20' on a mast. I can get 3-1,10-12-1,12-2,21-3,24-1,28,31-1,33-1,36-1,40,43-1-2-3-4,49-1-2-3-4.
8 I'm having trouble reciving, the best I get is a choppy picture. I have turned the antenna in all directions and it did not help, the best is when the UHF elements are pointed North. I know the transmitter is by Hutchinson NW of my location (west central wichita). All other channels come in great, better than when I had the antenna in the attic. Right now I have two antennas on the mast the new one and an old one I have thats pretty weather beaten, missing 2 elements and one loose. Both are faceing the same direction, that hasent helped much. I have thaught of moving the 20' mast on the lower floor roof that would give a total of about 30' above ground. But not sure if I want to do that. Is any one geting all of the channel 8 channels? How do you have your antenna set up?
cvos34 is offline  
post #2997 of 3098 Old 06-15-2010, 02:23 PM
Member
 
stevea20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These Cox channels have been added recently:

2015 KDCU HD
2054 HLMK HD
2250 FSC HD
stevea20 is offline  
post #2998 of 3098 Old 07-10-2010, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Kansas Zephyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvos34 View Post

Is any one geting all of the channel 8 channels? How do you have your antenna set up?

Go to www.tvfool.com and use your address, to help tweak your aim for KPTS.

FWIW...channel 8 is on a relatively short tower, near Buhler, which makes them the hardest station for most to receive OTA.
Kansas Zephyr is offline  
post #2999 of 3098 Old 07-12-2010, 09:35 AM
Member
 
schick81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kansas Zephyr, I believe that the website you have in mind is www.tvfool.com.
schick81 is offline  
post #3000 of 3098 Old 07-20-2010, 10:09 AM
Member
 
JohnsonBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Middle of Kansas
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What? No Weather Channel HD yet? Get with it Cox.
JohnsonBrewer is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off