Wichita, KS - HDTV - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 3101 Old 08-18-2004, 08:35 PM
Member
 
F P Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cousin Vinny, You rock. Very succinct and very true

Channel 3's Oswald wrote: "The reality of it is that Cox charges for high definition. It's a tier of their service, and one of the more expensive ones. If they make money off it, why shouldn't the people who made the investment?" Oswald said

Oswald is either ill informed or trying to put a false spin on it. Oswald, if you're reading this: Either quit spreading lies or get the facts straight. I have little tolerance of people who spin this kind of crap and then let the media print it. The average person who doesn't really know the true story here is going to read this dribble in the Eagle and take at face value as truth. What a weenie.

I have to defend Cox on this too. When you really crunch the numbers as dresf has so clearly stated, Cox isn't really making anything off of HD. Channel 3 & 12 are just trying to hold Cox's feet to the fire and make them look like the bad guys. Even though I am an HD subscriber and would really love to have the other locals on HD, I applaud Cox for having the moxy to hold their ground on this.

It's been almost a year now since HD Cox was launched and the longer it goes the less respect I have for Channel 3 and Channel 12. As if I had any respect for them in the first place.

I used to be a DirecTV subscriber and I remember the games the local affiliates would play to prohibit DirecTV from giving subscribers access to the national network feeds.

"Now go away or I shall taunt you a second time you yellow bellied goat trough wipers."

"Search for the Holy Grail"
F P Crazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 3101 Old 08-18-2004, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
vblyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In a hell I call Kansas
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like Cousin Vinny, I have gone OTA for my locals. Screw the local HD channels on Cox. I rather have Cox add other HD channels not available OTA such as HDNET, HDNET Movies, TNTHD, CinemaxHD, BravoHD, etc.

Vern
vblyth is offline  
post #753 of 3101 Old 08-22-2004, 02:03 PM
Member
 
moreinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would also prefer to get my locals via OTA, but from what cox tells me, there's no way to run OTA antenna through the cable converter to receive the HD OTAs.

Is that your experience? Do you have two tuners -- 1 for cox hd and 1 for OTAs?

Thanks for your thoughts everyone. Great forum!

Chris
moreinc is offline  
post #754 of 3101 Old 08-22-2004, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
dresf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wichita, ks
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the drill. I have the Motorola 6412 HD/DVR from Cox. Then I have a OTA Samsung HD receiver. The most elegant solution is only having one box and tying up one input but... ( trying to settle down on the locals rant)
Welcome!

eric
dresf is offline  
post #755 of 3101 Old 08-22-2004, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dresf
That's the drill. I have the Motorola 6412 HD/DVR from Cox. Then I have a OTA Samsung HD receiver. The most elegant solution is only having one box and tying up one input but... ( trying to settle down on the locals rant)
Welcome!

What would really be great would be to have a box that would do Directv HD and OTA plus QAM if Cox would put the locals out unencrypted.
timmy1376 is offline  
post #756 of 3101 Old 08-23-2004, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Jon@KSAS/KSCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be working with 24-1 KSAS-DT late this afternoon and possibly into prime. During this Fox Widescreen will not be available, but I don't think That 70's or The Casino are Widescreen anyways (I might be wrong)
You might also notice some temporary stream loss, but for the most part I will try to keep it viewable.

Anyways I will get it back to normal as soon as possible.

jon
Jon@KSAS/KSCC is offline  
post #757 of 3101 Old 08-23-2004, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
mkultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Honestly the HD situation in Wichita is atrocious! My brother can't even pick up NBC(ch3) HD and he is at Central and Greenwich!

Then there is the Cox situation with the locals in HD! Yuck! And to boot they evicted Tanya's Soup Kitchen!!

Wichita is definately behind the times imho!
mkultra is offline  
post #758 of 3101 Old 08-24-2004, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That's exactly what is needed, competition. There is DirecTV and Dish. Now that I even get the locals on D*, there's not much reason to have Cox cable.

Dave G.
talon95 is offline  
post #759 of 3101 Old 08-24-2004, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
mkultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You don't get the national networks in HD though do you Talon95? Do you get the national feeds in lo-def?
mkultra is offline  
post #760 of 3101 Old 08-24-2004, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by talon95
That's exactly what is needed, competition. There is DirecTV and Dish. Now that I even get the locals on D*, there's not much reason to have Cox cable.

Dave G.

I though the same thing untill last night when we lost the dish because of the weather and all we had was radio. I like to look at radar.
timmy1376 is offline  
post #761 of 3101 Old 08-25-2004, 04:50 AM
Member
 
moreinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know why Cox does not allow DVI HD connection on their HD box?

Is there a way to override the setup and use the DVI?

Am I correct that DVI is much better HD than component? I believe so...

Can you update the firmware on your own to allow it to accept DVI?

Thanks for your thoughts...

Chris
moreinc is offline  
post #762 of 3101 Old 08-25-2004, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by timmy1376
I though the same thing untill last night when we lost the dish because of the weather and all we had was radio. I like to look at radar.

I get the locals OTA also though, so that's not a problem.

Dave G.
talon95 is offline  
post #763 of 3101 Old 08-25-2004, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
dresf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wichita, ks
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moreinc:

Cox does allow DVI from their box, but just the 6412 DVR box, it just does not function well yet the bugs are being worked on. I will not go into the nitty gritty here.

The 6412 does allow DVI to be chosen from the setup menu

DVI is theoretically better, but my eyes cannot see the difference. I pray for a DVI output that is bug free in the near future.

Firmware is in the realm of your cable provider, they provide the firmware updates and it occurs automatically when the updated firmware is available. No other options here

eric
dresf is offline  
post #764 of 3101 Old 08-28-2004, 03:17 PM
Member
 
moreinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox has been telling me for months that they're "working on it" -- in response to my questions regarding getting more locals (CBS, NBC, etc.) onto their HD package.

Anybody get an honest answer from them -- or have inside information regarding the supposed "contract negotiations" that are going on?

It's driving me crazy that football season is almost here and still no CBS HD through Cox. I don't want to fork over another $200 min. to purchase a second tuner for OTAs.

Thanks for your thoughts.
moreinc is offline  
post #765 of 3101 Old 08-28-2004, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
dresf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wichita, ks
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scroll through this thread starting in last October and you will get a feel for what is known and what is not. And join the frustration club. And go ahead and get an OTA receiver and antenna. I would not limit my frustration to your cable provider though. Vent at the local networks and their corporate owners for trying to have cable subscribers foot the bill for the local affiliates conversion to HD.

eric
dresf is offline  
post #766 of 3101 Old 08-30-2004, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
mkultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IS the INHD 1 & 2 on COX cable messed up or what? There is artifacting at all times on all program types it seems. (eg baseball and movies and nature)

It's bad enough to be limited on HD on COX but for it not to work right at all?!?!

Is COX siphoning away valuable bandwidth?

What is the deal COX?
mkultra is offline  
post #767 of 3101 Old 08-30-2004, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
klemsaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you don't like COX cable, then dump it.

Perhaps you should have them come out and check your line? Or maybe you have a defective box? Maybe your cables are bad?

I can say that I don't experience video artifacts 'all the time' on INHD 1 and 2. I can also say that I DID have a problem with SHOWTIME HD until I exchanged my box. I can also say that any HD channel will suffer some artifacts from time to time.
klemsaba is offline  
post #768 of 3101 Old 08-30-2004, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will say I have had some nice exchange of email lately with a guy from Cox there in Wichita. I am not sure of his official title with Cox, but he has been very helpful and even said to call him directly if I needed anything.

tim
timmy1376 is offline  
post #769 of 3101 Old 08-31-2004, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Jon@KSAS/KSCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had to keep quiet during testing because of some paperwork still being taken care of, and it's not my place to make announcements. It just came out 15 minutes ago.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 31, 2004

Cox Communications adds Fox Kansas in High Definition

Wichita, Kansas - Cox Communications will add the Fox Kansas television station (KSAS) to its High Definition lineup on Sept. 12. The station is an affiliate of the Fox Network, which offers a variety of programming and will be located on channel 604.

Fox Kansas will carry national programming in HD including: the Super Bowl, all NFL playoffs, Daytona 500, all baseball playoffs (ALS, NLS and the World Series), Casino, The O.C., 24 and America's Most Wanted. As with most other HD programming, Cox Communications is proud to offer the Fox Kansas station to its customers for free.

We are pleased to carry Fox in HD on the Cox channel lineup, said Kimberly Edmunds, vice president and regional general manager for Cox Communications Kansas. We know our customers enjoy the supreme high quality of HD and Cox is glad to bring this technology into our customer's homes.

High definition programming is in demand, said Kent Cornish, Fox Kansas vice president/general manager. The commitment by the Fox Network to bring so many sports and entertainment programs to viewers shows the importance they place on this exciting technology, Cornish said. We appreciate Cox's distribution of our high definition signal as it is a great addition to our over the air signal.

Everything is lined up for Sept 12th. For OTA and Cox.

jon
Jon@KSAS/KSCC is offline  
post #770 of 3101 Old 08-31-2004, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great job Jon.

BTW: Where did you get that press release? I will be interested to see if they carry KTMJ in Topeka if they have had the necessary work done.

tim
timmy1376 is offline  
post #771 of 3101 Old 08-31-2004, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Brett Miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: KS
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This just affects the Wichita area, right? The networks we get in Manhattan on Cox are from the Topeka market. They've already let me down once this year by not adding NBC in time for the olympics (late coverage or not), and I'm not holding out a lot of hope for NFL on Fox this month.
Brett Miles is offline  
post #772 of 3101 Old 08-31-2004, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
vblyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In a hell I call Kansas
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update Jon. Looking forward to watching the best team in baseball (CARDINALS!!!) in the playoffs in HD!

On the downside of HD locals in Wichita:
NBC's most expensive show for the new season premiered tonight. Father of the Pride, the first network animated series in HD. However at 8:05 pm, I had to convince the person answering the KSN newsline that the show was in HD and that the engineer in master control had to hit the switch so I could see it in HD. A minute after I hung up, glorious HD. It's a shame that the viewers have to keep reminding some of the local channels to get their act in gear.

Vern
vblyth is offline  
post #773 of 3101 Old 08-31-2004, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Hippster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wichita, KS USA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still can't pick up KSN over the air at Central/Greenwich.

But great news about KSAS! Thanks Jon!
Hippster is offline  
post #774 of 3101 Old 08-31-2004, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Brett Miles
This just affects the Wichita area, right? The networks we get in Manhattan on Cox are from the Topeka market. They've already let me down once this year by not adding NBC in time for the olympics (late coverage or not), and I'm not holding out a lot of hope for NFL on Fox this month.

Yeah, just the Wichita DMA.

You might want to call Cox and tell them you want KTMJ and KSNT in HD. I talked to the engineer at KSNT a couple of week ago and the rift is KSNT want money and Cox doesn't want to pay. But there might be good news. They are talking about putting up a repeater for their digital signal somewhere in Manhattan.
timmy1376 is offline  
post #775 of 3101 Old 09-01-2004, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
klemsaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I talked to the engineer at KSNT a couple of week ago and the rift is KSNT want money and Cox doesn't want to pay.

You have to realize that if the rumors are correct about KSN (and possibly some other local stations) offering some form of 'cable-like' programming (USDTV) over their digital spectrum, would you really blame Cox for not wanting to pay money that would be used to help subsidize that project?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ighlight=emmis
klemsaba is offline  
post #776 of 3101 Old 09-01-2004, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by klemsaba
You have to realize that if the rumors are correct about KSN (and possibly some other local stations) offering some form of 'cable-like' programming (USDTV) over their digital spectrum, would you really blame Cox for not wanting to pay money that would be used to help subsidize that project?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ighlight=emmis


Not at all. But I cannot blame the local stations for wanting something in return either.

If Cox is not charging for locals in HD, and I mean they should put them out there in QAM format unencrypted, then they should not have to pay. The locals should be happy that they get that many more eyeballs watching.

But on the other hand, the locals have spend a lot of money on equipment. In some cases, that equipment will have to be replaced to get the same coverage area as they have with analog.

The same rumor is up here about KSNT doing the "cable-like" system up here. That is why I called the engineer. The main thing is they are owned by Emmis, which is like USDTV but different. I asked about loosing HD when they do it, and he said it was in the plans, but the box would have a different chip so it would decode something like WM9 or divx or possible something even newer. I really believe it will be several years before Wichita or Topeka will see this.


I would really like to hear Jon's thoughts on this should Cox pay debate.
timmy1376 is offline  
post #777 of 3101 Old 09-01-2004, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
dresf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wichita, ks
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why in the wide wide world of sports would Cox put out a signal that nonsubscribers could recieve. Cox is in the business of cable tv. I've already done my cost analysis of HD on cable in an above post, won't do it over. My entire arguement rests with the fact that cox is not making one red cent on HD and I think that's solid, given their investment in HD recievers. How long does it take to recover a $500 box with a $9.95 box rental? Given the speed at which the technology is evolving and the consumers demand for state of the art, their box rental can't be very lucrative on what is currently about a 8 month shelf life, then they are obsolete and the customer demands what the guy in Del Boca Vista has.
The arguement that the locals have to spend money, therefore passing it on to just cable subscribers is utterly hogwash. The locals have to do it ANYWAY. Well shucks, I did go over the arguement again. Sorry. I am more than willing to watch the losers on HD (CBS,NBC) OTA and let Cox continue to gird their loins against a clear case of blackmail and blood money from the corporate owners of KSN, KWCH.

eric
dresf is offline  
post #778 of 3101 Old 09-01-2004, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dresf
Why in the wide wide world of sports would Cox put out a signal that nonsubscribers could recieve. Cox is in the business of cable tv. I've already done my cost analysis of HD on cable in an above post, won't do it over. My entire arguement rests with the fact that cox is not making one red cent on HD and I think that's solid, given their investment in HD recievers. How long does it take to recover a $500 box with a $9.95 box rental? Given the speed at which the technology is evolving and the consumers demand for state of the art, their box rental can't be very lucrative on what is currently about a 8 month shelf life, then they are obsolete and the customer demands what the guy in Del Boca Vista has.
The arguement that the locals have to spend money, therefore passing it on to just cable subscribers is utterly hogwash. The locals have to do it ANYWAY. Well shucks, I did go over the arguement again. Sorry. I am more than willing to watch the losers on HD (CBS,NBC) OTA and let Cox continue to gird their loins against a clear case of blackmail and blood money from the corporate owners of KSN, KWCH.

Nonsubs cannnot receive it. You must at least have basic cable to get the locals in unecrypted QAM.

I can see both sides. They both want to make money. I won't argue either.

timmy1376 is offline  
post #779 of 3101 Old 09-01-2004, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dresf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wichita, ks
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree timmy that one ought to be able to receive the HD locals without a box if your set has a integrated tuner and one is a cable subscriber and just basic at that. But as you said they want to make money and I certainly won't begrudge them that.

I'm with ya! Like you it would seem to me that they would want to have the most viewers as possible. If there are 2 programs on simultaneously that I am deciding over and one is in HD, which one are we gonna watch? I never lose hair over that decision.

eric
dresf is offline  
post #780 of 3101 Old 09-01-2004, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
mkultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD should have no artificats period. I get none except on inhd1&2
mkultra is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off