No Sound in Cleveland for Alias on ABC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-14-2002, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
alfbinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Old Brooklyn (Cleveland), Ohio
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it just me or anyone else? Have a number for the engineering department and contact at WEWS in Cleveland? Turned on the station and it was SD with sound. Picture went to wide screen and lost sound. All other HD stations coming in with sound so I don't think it is my decoder.:(

Chad Billheimer rocks as a ISF Calibrator for Ohio.
Roller Coaster season is upon us. Proud member of American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE) Woodies Rule!
alfbinet is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-14-2002, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
R. Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is originating with ABC. The 5.1 channel feed from the network is OK but the independent stereo feed is dead. I have talked to engineering at the network and they are aware of the problem. Only stations that do not have 5.1 channel equipment should be affected by the problem.

Rory at KXTV
Sacramento
R. Boyce is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-15-2002, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rory,
Thanks for taking the time to clear up this mystery here in Cleveland. Hopefully our ABC affiliate will soon acquire the equipment necessary to do 5.1 sound.

Steve
SteveC is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-15-2002, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Wooderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldn't even watch the analog channel. It wasn't coming in and for some reason Channel 5 wasn't coming in thru my cable provider, AT&T Clueless. I tried to watch it in HD with no sound for about 20 minutes. My questions is why didn't they just leave it as the upconvert with the sound? I'd rather have that than no sound.
Wooderson is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off