Attic Antenna - Chicago Suburb - Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-15-2002, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ratnamg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks
I am looking for information on anyone that has an attic antenna with Aluminium Siding.

I live close to Naperville


Has this worked? If so


<B> Thanks in advance </B>
ratnamg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-15-2002, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dan Burgess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Downers Grove IL
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had an attic antenna, and a house with aluminum siding. The attic antenna wasn't doing very well with WBBM-DT channel 3, but the UHF channels were coming in well. I read here that roofing materials can block quite a bit of low-frequency VHF signals, right where channel 3 is.

So finally this weekend I put the antenna on the roof, complete with a rotor. It's a big one from Radio Shack, with a 14-foot boom. I now get WBBM-DT steady at 65-70 signal strength, with no dropouts. The Masters this weekend was spectacular.

I would strongly recommend anyone who can't get WBBM-DT well to put something outside as high as possible, and with as long an element as possible. In the WBBM forum, Chuck DeCourt recommended a 92-inch element length, and mine must be pretty close to that.

Good luck...

Dan
Dan Burgess is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-16-2002, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Bobzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You say Chuck recommended a 92" element length. I assume this means 92" or larger?

Any antennas people would recommend?
Bobzilla is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-16-2002, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
gmichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Palatine. IL
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an attic antenna, and a house with aluminum siding. Although the antenna is clearly above all the siding, I too understand that roofing material can decrease antenna effectiveness.

At the moment, I am receiving ALL digital OTA channels with few problems in the 75-85 range which is acceptable for signal lock. The exception is Channel 3 WBBM-DT, which is working at 45 - 50 but plagued with breakups. For WBBM I switch to AT&T cable where WBBM-DT comes in nicely at signal strength of 80-85 trouble free.
gmichael is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-16-2002, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dan Burgess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Downers Grove IL
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think it means 92" or longer. Channel 3 is in the 60-66MHz range. At 63MHz, the wavelength is 4.76m, or about 187.5". If I remember an old physics course correctly, an antenna length of 1/4 the wavelength is best, which gives 46.9 inches. Maybe each element must be this long, so the best antenna span for channel 3 is 93.7 inches, which is pretty close to the 92" given here by Chuck DeCourt.

So I'm thinking that's what's best, an antenna where each element is a little less than eight feet long. I don't think mine are quite that long, but I didn't measure. Maybe I'll go back on the roof.

I don't remember the Radio Shack part number of what I'm using, but it's a common antenna.

Good luck...

Dan
Dan Burgess is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-24-2002, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
pmnovak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've heard that the exact direction you point your antenna makes a big difference. I am in Naperville and pointed it as directly east as I could tell, being inside my attic.

Are there additional things I should do to ensure that my antenna is pointed correctly?
pmnovak1 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-25-2002, 03:19 PM
Member
 
dmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Centennial, CO **** Mits 46", SIR-T150, Sony Surround, Progressive DVD
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a inexpensive compass ($18) and a map($1.50). Plotted my position, the position of the antenna towers. Made sure the antenna was pointed to that coordinate. Got me some HDTV........

If you build it, they will come.....
dmunn is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-26-2002, 07:40 AM
Member
 
grins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Libertyville, IL, USA
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DMunn, I tried that, too, and got a crappy signal. when I gave up and just started panning the antenna, I ended up getting a great signal...about 10 degrees from where I 'should'. why? I don't care, I just know I'm getting the goods now.

'You never can tell what goes on down below; this pool might be bigger than you or I know'
Dr. Seuss
grins is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-26-2002, 11:52 AM
Member
 
dmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Centennial, CO **** Mits 46", SIR-T150, Sony Surround, Progressive DVD
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could have been a couple of things.
1. Signal Bounce - any obstacles around you?
2. Magnetic Declination - You have to account for it .

If you build it, they will come.....
dmunn is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off