Attic Install BEST Approach - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-20-2002, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HDCblGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in a 1965 2-story colonial. It has an attic and a basement (which if you count the attic and basement there are four floors). My home theater is my basement and I am looking to have an antenna installed in my attic. The installation would have to be in wall or I suppose they could run the coax out of the attic down the side of the house and then drill a hole into the basement. I am not really sure how to go about this situation. How easy would it be for an antenna installer to do this? Anyone have an idea as to how much it would cost?
Thanks

-Andrew
HDCblGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-20-2002, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I had cable from my basement to my attic for the drops to the second story rooms when my house was built many years ago. Luckly they were all individual feeds. I took one of the feeds to a room not using cable and hooked it to my attic antenna I installed. That feed went to the basement were I could split it to any of the other feeds. I know this does not directly answer your question but do you have any feeds like this to your attic? If not an installer may find a easy way to drop a line to your basement. Newer home have A LOT of insulation in the walls and it is very hard to run a wire/cable thru the outer walls. I would love to do this just to get some cat 5 to my basement :)
MichaelZ is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-21-2002, 07:12 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Return air ducts. A cable-runner's best friend. Your heating/cooling system ductwork should be in your basement. In a lot of cases, return-air ducts sit high on a wall in a hallway and butt up against the floor of the attic. Remove the grill, drill a hole to the attic, then tie some string around a bolt and drop it to the basement. Punch a hole in the ductwork where the bolt hits and feed the cable to the attic that way.

Of course, your ductwork may vary, but I've run phone, cable, speaker and cat-5 through return air ductwork to the attic or some point in between.

Good luck.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-21-2002, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeanKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there some kind of cable jacket or code requirement for cables in ductwork?

Sean Kelly / Independent Consultant

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SeanKelly is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-21-2002, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HDCblGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. I went on a mad hunt for coax lines though I have not been up to the attic yet as it is not easily accessible. However, I did find a solution that works quite well. There is a coax line (used for cable TV) running from my home theater connection area (perfect place) up to a second story bedroom. I then disconnected the cable from the cable box and from the basement splitter. With this cable I then connected it to my Radio Shack double bowtie antenna and to my Mitsubishi. I now get 5 out of 6 of Detroit's local stations (all but UPN). But now here is my problem: That line was used for cable TV. Is there anyway to have this all in one line? So here is what I have to clear things up:

In second story bedroom:
Radio Shack double bowtie antenna
TV for watching cable TV

In basement:
Mitsubishi HDTV for watching feeds from RS double bowtie antenna
Cable line for cable TV upstairs?

Is there anyway I could be able to watch cable TV upstairs and Digital OTA stations in the basement? I've heard of splitters and combiners, etc. but I don't know if there is anything for this situation.
Thanks

-Andrew
HDCblGuy is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-21-2002, 12:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by SeanKelly
Is there some kind of cable jacket or code requirement for cables in ductwork?
Yes, it's called plenum rated cable. CL-2 is the commonly used NEC rating.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-21-2002, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jcthomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canton, Ga, USA
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May I make and impassioned plea to anyone considering running coax or any cable in HVAC ducting to not Ken's comment and use a PLENUM RATED CABLE!!!! Not only is it a code issue, the safety of you and yours may well depend upon it. I know it is extra expense and time, but the code was written for a very good reason----personal safety. Regards

J Thomas
jcthomas is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-21-2002, 03:03 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I did fail to mention that. However, it's a good idea to STICK WITH RETURN AIR DUCTING. Not the active air. I never use active air ducts for running cabling.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-24-2002, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
woowoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: jeffersonville, indiana
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by DrDon
I did fail to mention that. However, it's a good idea to STICK WITH RETURN AIR DUCTING. Not the active air. I never use active air ducts for running cabling.

Doc
In a closed system would'nt this be the same thing?

Go with Plentum Rated cable
No problem

Studio Broadcast Engineer
KET
woowoo is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-24-2002, 09:02 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 270
LOL! Well, technically, you could then consider the rooms themselves part of the ductwork <g>.

Reason I use the return air ductwork is because there's no temperature variation. Active duct can be well over 100 degrees when the heater's running. Return air is still 68. And, in most housing, there's no sheet metal lining it; it just runs down the walls from wherever the grate is. Where I'm living now, there's no special wiring codes for return air passages since, technically, they ARE the walls. Reason it didn't occur to me, I guess.

KET, huh? Looks pretty good from here. If the public knew PBS Kids was available 24/7 OTA, you'd have a whole lot of new contributors pretty fast, I'd think.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-25-2002, 04:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
woowoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: jeffersonville, indiana
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear Doctor:
I see your point about the ductwork.
I'll quit being pickey........

24/7
Funny that you should mention that

This fall it may be the case
Stay tuned .....
woo

Studio Broadcast Engineer
KET
woowoo is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off