SF-Bay NBC gone from 20-2? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-24-2002, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
GQB
Member
 
GQB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been getting no content, but 100% signal from the SD feed of NBC (that's been piggy-backing on 20-2) for a couple of days now.
Have they stopped their agreement now that the Olympics is over?

If that's so, then I REALLY hope that NBC keeps doing special arrangements with HDNet... Bay area is screwed for NBC SD signal, let alone HD.

-jerry
GQB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-24-2002, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken Erickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Willis, TX 77318
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that too last night. I don't know what could have happened. NBC hasn't completed the take-over of KNTV yet. As far as HDNet doing more for NBC - don't hold your breath.
Ken Erickson is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-24-2002, 02:45 PM
Member
 
glgorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Martinez, Ca
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Late Monday night 20-2 had a still frame image that said something to the effect of "Subscription required for this DISHNet channel. Call 888- blah blah blah or change the channel". Later it turned to a different static promo image for DishNet with some background music.

No warranty is either expressed or implied. The universe is a figment of its own imagination. Your milage may vary. Not responsible for lost homework, missed bus transfers, or forgetting to buy a lottery ticket the day they run your birthday. Have fun.

Have spectrum analyzer, will travel.
glgorman is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-24-2002, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
dagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess you can't pick up KNTV? You live up in the North Bay?
dagman is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-24-2002, 03:14 PM
Member
 
glgorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Martinez, Ca
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dagman
I guess you can't pick up KNTV? You live up in the North Bay?
I'm in Martinez (in Contra Costa County). I get 11 and 12 (DTV) just fine using a 6 element Winegard dedicated Hi-VHF Yagi at about 41 feet. The signal is often more solid than the Sutro DTV signals, but nowhere near what I get out of Sacramento. I was just channel surfing and checking everything out the other night after the Mitsubishi upgrade when I discovered that apparently channel 20 gets their DTV feed for NBC3 from DishNET???

No warranty is either expressed or implied. The universe is a figment of its own imagination. Your milage may vary. Not responsible for lost homework, missed bus transfers, or forgetting to buy a lottery ticket the day they run your birthday. Have fun.

Have spectrum analyzer, will travel.
glgorman is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-24-2002, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoyleS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA , USA
Posts: 1,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I recently have been observing a stutter or momentary freeze occuring on KNTV 12-1. During the Olympics I had no problem with the signal or reception. I am in Sunnyvale and am picking up KNTV off of the side of a UHF antenna pointed at Sutro. If others are getting a clean KNTV signal I guess I need to put up a small VHF roof mount antenna aimed at 12-1. Are those of you receiving 12-1 getting it clearly with no breakups or stutters? I am using a Unity Motion receiver and get all of the Sutro stations clear as a bell. I just want to be sure it is not a KNTV problem before I add an antenna and combiner.

..Doyle

"So many tweeks....So little time!"
DoyleS is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-25-2002, 11:29 AM
Member
 
NiteWrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been noticing the hiccups too, but then again, I'm about 55 miles from the KNTV transmitter(s) w/ mountains in between.

The interesting thing is that I can see the hiccups simultaneously on analog 11. Thanks to the split-screen feature on my set, I can tune into Ch. 12 on the left and Ch. 11 on the right. When the digital hiccup occurs on Ch. 12, a short burst of static-like interference occurs on Ch.11.

Maybe VHF is more susceptible to interference? If so, what kind of amateur/professional equipment is likely to cause interference on the same frequency as Ch. 11/12?
NiteWrider is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off