Pittsburgh Fox and WB - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Greg C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a return phone call from Kerry Check, the Director of Engeneering for both Fox 53 and WB 22. He states that both stations should be up and transmitting today!:D Unfortunately, they are following WTAE and are going to be broadcasting at reduced power. He says that the signal will only be in the reach of the city, and not much further. :mad: , Oh well, at least its a start.:cool:

Greg C.
www.pghcustomht.com
CEDIA University Designer CAT Member
CEDIA University Instructor
Crestron DMC-E
Greg C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dave McWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greg,

When I talked to Kerry a few months ago he said they'd be at full power from the outset. Did he say how long this would last? I believe they've got a full power permit. What gives?

"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Dave McWilliams is offline  
post #3 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 11:00 AM
Member
 
BigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is great news! I thought their tower was north of the city?? If so I should have no problem getting a signal. Heck, I can get WTAE and they are at low power with the tower way south of the city. Question right now is, besides a good quality digital signal what do we gain? Just standard 480P??

Gary
BigG is offline  
post #4 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Greg C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Their tower is off of 279. Kerry claimed they will run at a lower power because it is cheaper, and they have no additional revenue stream from digital. He says that they have the capability to have as strong a signal as KDKA, but it is a cost factor.:mad:

Greg C.
www.pghcustomht.com
CEDIA University Designer CAT Member
CEDIA University Instructor
Crestron DMC-E
Greg C is offline  
post #5 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 11:13 AM
Member
 
JohnLoresch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa usa
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone as of 1:00pm today channel 43-1 is on the air .I'm getting
a signal strength at 88. This is great news Pgh.
JohnLoresch is offline  
post #6 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Greg C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please give details. Where are you located, what kind of tuner, what type of antenna set up. Thanks!

Greg C.
www.pghcustomht.com
CEDIA University Designer CAT Member
CEDIA University Instructor
Crestron DMC-E
Greg C is offline  
post #7 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 11:37 AM
Member
 
JohnLoresch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa usa
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I have two tuners.One is in the set (Zenith) the other is a Rca dtc-100.
Both are working fine. A radio shack bowie tie antenna. I live in the city.
JohnLoresch is offline  
post #8 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dave McWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This blows. I can't believe they did this, especially after they told me specifically that they'd be at full power from the outset.

The lady who answered the phone at WPGH told me that it was Sinclair's decision to do the low power transmission. Now there's a big surprise. This is the phone number she gave me to speak to someone about this: (410) 568-1500. I wasn't able to reach a human, but I'll post if I hear anything.

I've got a signal strength of 21 here in Chippewa (Beaver Falls area) with a DST-3000 and and an attic mount Rat Shack VU-190.

So close, yet so far...

"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Dave McWilliams is offline  
post #9 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 12:42 PM
Member
 
JohnLoresch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa usa
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of 2:20 pm channel42-1 is now on the air. Pittsburgh has come alive
with digital signals . This is fantastic.
JohnLoresch is offline  
post #10 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yay! I get 43-1 in Cranberry at around 77 strength. The name of the channel is Fox53SD and is 4:3 480i. It also apparently remaps via PSIP to 53-1. I wonder if they will be able to support 16:9 480p feeds from national Fox yet? We'll have to wait for a widescreen show I guess. Right now it looks only slightly better than the analog reception on 53, although without the ghosting. :)

I do not see 42-1 and after a channel scan I can't find WB anywhere, are you guys sure it's up and running? Is it on the same tower and same power as 43?
agtiny is offline  
post #11 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 05:18 PM
Member
 
BigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I just got home a ran a scan. 42-1 is up and running but NOT digital. 43-1 has a signal but no pic. 43.2 has a pic but is not digital. I'm in Gibsonia and getting 75-80% strength. Anybody actually getting a digital pic??

Gary
BigG is offline  
post #12 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it is a digital pic, just not 16:9 or HD. 480i 4:3 is still technically digital even though it doesn't look any better than really good analog. 42-1 still doesn't come in at all for me, and there is nothing on 43-2.
agtiny is offline  
post #13 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 06:48 PM
Member
 
BigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I'm thinking wrong but I expected the pic to be the same as the big three networks when they are not showing an HD show. Good quality 4:3. This doesn't look any better to me than what I see on Dish. Also, my 6000 reciever treats it like a standard NTSC signal. It zooms the picture in.

Gary
BigG is offline  
post #14 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, the other networks broadcast 16:9 1080i or 720p all of the time with black bars for 4:3 content. Fox appears to just be using 480i which is exactly the same quality as you'd see on satellite. I hope they will switch to 480p 16:9 at 9pm for Dark Angel...
agtiny is offline  
post #15 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 07:21 PM
Member
 
BigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh well, so much for the wide screen. The audio is a major improvement though!

Gary
BigG is offline  
post #16 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 07:23 PM
Member
 
JohnLoresch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa usa
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agtiny you are right .On my rca dtc100 the channel number42-1 stays the same,
but channel 43-1 goes to 43-2.On my zenith tuner channel number 42-1 goes to 22-1 and
channel 43-1 goes to 53-1 very confusing. Also I just order one of those xium antenna today.
I figured if it works for you up there it should do a great job down here.Where did you get your
antenna from.
JohnLoresch is offline  
post #17 of 99 Old 04-26-2002, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my DTC-100 I get no signal on 42-1 or 22-1 and my 43-1 goes to 53-1. What's going on here?? I don't remember where I got my Xium from.

Greg or Dave: you should contact Kerry and see what their plans are for passing through 480p widescreen content.
agtiny is offline  
post #18 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 06:14 AM
Member
 
roemerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Greensburg, Pa., USA
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yesterday after reading these posts rushed home to see if I could get 42.1 and 43.1 near Greensburg. Did not even get a blip on the signal meter. I initially was hoping station was just testing and by time I got home at 6:00PM they shut transmitters down. Apparantly, this was not true. Must be their signal strength is not good enough for me.

Jim
roemerj is offline  
post #19 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys...it's 12:30 Saturday afternoon...is the signal still up? I cannot get anything out in Hopewell Twp. (NW of the airport)

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #20 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 10:36 AM
Member
 
BigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked it about half hour ago and it was up and running fine.

Gary
BigG is offline  
post #21 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is anyone getting WCWB 42-1?
agtiny is offline  
post #22 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I'm SOL out here in Beaver County...

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #23 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed something that's different about Fox today. If you compare the analog feed to the digital feed, the digital feed has no Fox53 bug in the lower-right. I am watching "In the Army Now" at the moment. I know this logo was present yesterday. Maybe this means they are using the direct network digital feed instead of just converting their analog feed, and we will get widescreen tomorrow night. I'm going to wait for a commercial and see if any local content is shown...

Update: I did see some local commercials...strange.
agtiny is offline  
post #24 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, now at 6 PM...I have 42-1 with a signal strength of 70 and a solid picture...43-1 is coming up as a signal strength of 40, no audio or video...i'm wondering if WUAB channel 43 in Cleveland is going to hurt those of us NW of the city...

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #25 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 04:04 PM
Member
 
JohnLoresch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa usa
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok maybe this can help some of you guys out. I live in the city. So use that as a
given point from your location. I have my antenna pointed south south east. this
is where I get my signal for wtae. So point your antenna to get the strongest signal
for wtae. You should then pick up both fox and wb. You may have to rotate your
antenna a litte to the right or left but the signal is there. I hope this all makes sense.
JohnLoresch is offline  
post #26 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Argh, how come I can't receive 42-1 at all when I get 43 at 80+? Based on Mark's results in Hopewell maybe they are on different towers after all. I guess I will have to try moving my antenna around. :(
agtiny is offline  
post #27 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 04:18 PM
Member
 
JohnLoresch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa usa
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark try 43-2. Some tuners remap for some reason.
JohnLoresch is offline  
post #28 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I found a listing with latitude/longitude for the WPGH and WCWB towers and they are indeed in 2 different locations. I tried with 2 antennas and couldn't get so much as a blip out of channel 42. I'm not terribly concerned at this point, since there is no content worth watching on WB except maybe the Simpsons, but I can live with cable for that.
agtiny is offline  
post #29 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I disabled off-air guides and now I see what everyone was saying about 43-1 and 43-2. 43-1 is a 16:9 feed that is empty. 43-2 is what I was seeing as 53-1 under PSIP. I still don't get 42-1. :( I wonder if 43-1 will light up for 16:9 programming? Did anyone check it last night during Dark Angel?
agtiny is offline  
post #30 of 99 Old 04-27-2002, 06:49 PM
Member
 
JohnLoresch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa usa
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I check it last night when you mention it.It was a no go.This is the first full
day for these antennas.I think it is going to take some time to get this up to
speed.At best I hope "Star Wars will be in 480p. I know some of you guys laugh
at 480p.But this stuff gets me excised! Its like seeing the first color pictures on
your color tv back in 1957. Yes I've have seen 1080i.This is only the begin.Fantastic!
JohnLoresch is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off