SF Bay area KNTV 11-1 - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 45 Old 05-06-2002, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
amarkow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lincoln, CA, USA
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
KQED went back to 30.1 and 30.2 last night (Sunday). Have no idea why or whether they'll return to 9.1 and 9.2 shortly.

Alan
amarkow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 45 Old 05-07-2002, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
ringgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I took the advice I received and went to Schads. I will admit to making the run to Radio Shack, Good Guys, Frys and even OSH first, none of these people know what they are talking about. At least the guy at the Good Guys was honest enough to steer me away from one of the more unpopular antenna brands that they happen to sell.

Anyway, Schads set me up with a Winegard VHF and a channel 12 joiner. I already had two UHF antennas stacked on a mast, so I placed the VHF between them, facing south, towards Loma Prieta. After all of the chatting, driving, spending, working and almost falling off my roof, I still don't get KNTV 11-1 (12). I also noticed while on the roof that the previous installer had installed a Channel Master pre-amp, so I ran ALL signals through this, including the VHF for channel 12 (after the joiner), still no signal. Every other channel I can think of looks great, and has a VERY strong signal, nothing at all from KNTV. When I check it out on my tv, it comes up and tells me the call letters, channel number and program that should be on, there just isn't any signal at all (zero signal registered). I tried pointing the antenna more west, than south, didn't help at all. Any ideas? Let me just say that the guy at Radio Shack on Almaden Expressway tried to get the same channel and could not, he said it wasn't on the air. Can someone in the San Jose/Almaden area verify they are receiving it and tell me what they did to get it?
ringgold is offline  
post #33 of 45 Old 05-07-2002, 05:18 PM
Newbie
 
ringgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found this out, the Channel Master pre-amp I have mounted to my mast is model number 7775, UHF ONLY! I'll have to visit their web site, but my guess is it's filtering out the VHF signal that I took the time to put in.
ringgold is offline  
post #34 of 45 Old 05-07-2002, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeanKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D'oh!

Sean Kelly / Independent Consultant
http://www.seankelly.tv/
SeanKelly is offline  
post #35 of 45 Old 05-08-2002, 09:20 AM
Member
 
GBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you know HD is so easy to set up and so problem free and so cheap you wonder why everone doesn't have it????
Opppps it's opposite day (as Calvin woud say)

"Conspiracy theorists don't live on the same flat Earth as the rest of us." -- astronomer Stephen Maran
GBishop is offline  
post #36 of 45 Old 05-08-2002, 10:29 AM
Member
 
ddarche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Belmont, CA
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ringgold,

I am getting it quite well in Belmont, despite a hill in the way to my immediate South. Just in case, look for it on 11-1 or 12-1 Variious tuners seem to pick it up differently.

Dave
ddarche is offline  
post #37 of 45 Old 05-08-2002, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
ringgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My problem was I hired a "professional" who sold and installed, "everything you will need to get great HD reception." The only detail, he happened to leave out, was that he was limiting me to HD reception coming from Directv and UHF, and that if any stations added HD on VHF later on I would have to add an antenna, a joiner, some cables and replace the amplifier he WAY overcharged me for to begin with. I'm off to Schads again today, hopefully by tonight I will have a better report.

To those out there who are thinking of hiring someone to do this, either do it yourselves, it's not that hard. Or if you do hire someone to do it for you at least make sure you are getting EVERYTHING you need, at a reasonable price, right from the start. Don't make the mistakes I made because I was in a hurry to get a good picture.
ringgold is offline  
post #38 of 45 Old 05-08-2002, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mds54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ringgold
Found this out, the Channel Master pre-amp I have mounted to my mast is model number 7775, UHF ONLY! I'll have to visit their web site, but my guess is it's filtering out the VHF signal that I took the time to put in.

I can speak from personal experience.... YES, it IS definitely blocking KNTV's VHF signal! In my case, all I had to do was swap the CM7775 with a CM7777 (UHF/VHF), and my reception is 80%+, even with a CM yagi UHF antenna! The UHF specs are the same for both preamps.
mds54 is offline  
post #39 of 45 Old 05-08-2002, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
ringgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well Schads didn't have the next model up in the Titan line (7777) in stock, didn't have the 7778 either. I purchased another Channel Master UHF/VHF/FM pre-amp from them, specs weren't quite as good, but close. Hooked it up, tuned into 11-1 and what do you know, there it was!

Thanks for the advice from those who provided.

Oddly, it, and the roof top, mast mounted antenna, didn't help my FM as much as I thought it would. Oh well, that's a different chat room all together.
ringgold is offline  
post #40 of 45 Old 05-08-2002, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeanKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not another FM DX'er ... :)

Sean Kelly / Independent Consultant
http://www.seankelly.tv/
SeanKelly is offline  
post #41 of 45 Old 05-08-2002, 06:56 PM
DAP
AVS Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by ringgold
Oddly, it, and the roof top, mast mounted antenna, didn't help my FM as much as I thought it would. Oh well, that's a different chat room all together.
If you are still using that channel 12 joiner, that would kill the FM reception. FM is between channel 6 & 7, and the UHF antenna certainly won't pick it up.
DAP is offline  
post #42 of 45 Old 05-09-2002, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Ken Erickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Willis, TX 77318
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DAP,

Not quite so, I'm using a channel 12 joiner and I get FM just fine. If you have as your main antenna a FM/UHF/VHF or FM/UHF or just FM the joiner is not going to do anything to the main antenna except block channel 12 on the main and join channel 12 from the second antenna (assuming it's a UHF).
Ken Erickson is offline  
post #43 of 45 Old 05-09-2002, 11:34 AM
DAP
AVS Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My understanding is that he has a UHF antenna attached to a channel 12 antenna via a channel 12 joiner. The only chance he has of getting any FM is through the channel 12 antenna, but it would be blocked by the channel 12 joiner.
DAP is offline  
post #44 of 45 Old 05-09-2002, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Ken Erickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Willis, TX 77318
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DAP,

If combining a UHF (only) antenna to a VHF only antenna then I would use a channel 12 joiner - just a combiner. But the VHF antenna I added did not cover the lower VHF band. There are a lot of configurations that you can get into with all the different types of TV antenna today. And that's way you either have to know your stuff or rely on someone who truly does know his/her stuff or your going to spend a lot of money and....
Ken Erickson is offline  
post #45 of 45 Old 05-09-2002, 08:58 PM
Newbie
 
dfp77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: North Monterey County, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in North Monterey County and receive KNTV 11-1 pretty well with a UHF antenna(Channel Master 4228 w/7777 uhf/vhf preamp). I used to receive KBWB-19 until this month. A local repeater of KCNS-38(Home Shopping Network) started up here on channel 19 -probably from Fremont Peak- and blew away the weak signal from KBWB. I still get the analog signal(KBWB 20), but the picture quality varies a lot with weather conditions.
dfp77 is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off