Dayton / Lima, OH - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 6613 Old 10-26-2003, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
Jambino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question...

During the World Series I was able to pick up WTTE Fox. But now I can't lock on. Does anyone know if they turned down the power after the World Series?(I don't know if I was able to pick it up BEFORE the Series)
Jambino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 6613 Old 10-27-2003, 07:18 AM
Member
 
parrot1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm helping a friend out, I have D* so I don't know. How many different HD STB does TWC offer. He currently has the Sci. Atlanta HD3100. Here are my problems.

I would like a box with the Fiber "Audio out"(Toshlink). Also noticed that when we are watching the HD channels the info & guide button only muted the volume? Last, does this box have a menu for setting the display type? ie 4x3, 16x9.
parrot1 is offline  
post #543 of 6613 Old 10-28-2003, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Jambino,

Depending upon your distance from Columbus, it might have just been the band conditions via a little tropo scatter --- Basically, this can occur via signals "bouncing" off the atmosphere, which sometimes occurs during temp inversions. This extends the normal range(usually limited by curvature of earth) of signals on VHF/UHF frequencies.

Anyhow, I haven't heard anything concerning WTTE-DT 36 increasing power, although I suppose anything is possible. They have a 11KW ERP STA currently listed on FCC site. When I sent them a reception report when I received them a couple of nights via tropo back in June, at that time one of their Engineers had said they were running 8KW ERP. Of all the Columbus digitals, I see them least often here. I did get to watch part of the Bengals game on Sunday on their Analog station, WTTE 28, but conditions weren't good enough to see more than just a few plays.

If you haven't already done so, you might want to check out the local stations forum area at http://www.hdcolumbus.org , as there is usually good info there on the Columbus stations.

Depending upon your location,(especially if your South of I-70), you also might be able to get WXIX-DT 29(19-1 remap) Fox Cincinnati, which not only broadcasts Fox Widescreen, but also upconverts to 1080i for broadcast.

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #544 of 6613 Old 10-29-2003, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
Jambino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Nitewatchman.... Thats funny you mentioned the Bengals, because that was the reason I was trying to pick it up(stupid NFL blackout rules). It eventually came in around the 3rd quarter and I got to watch the rest of the game.

I do live south of I-70 (about 2 miles) but I've never tried to pick up WXIX. I wish WGRT Fox Dayton would just go widescreen. But I guess I can't complain considering all the other major stations are HD.
Jambino is offline  
post #545 of 6613 Old 11-07-2003, 02:43 PM
Member
 
parrot1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nitewatchman,

antennaweb.org shows WSTR-DT live in Ciny, but I can't seem to pick it up. I can get all Ciny locals but WCPO-DT (I only have an UHF antenna) I know your active on that thread, is this up and running?. Thanks for your help.
parrot1 is offline  
post #546 of 6613 Old 11-07-2003, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi folks.

FYI, Charles Cole at ThinkTV just posted some interesting info in the following post on the Cincy thread concerning THINKDTV/PBS/HD issues involving WPTD-DT Dayton and not yet on air WPTO-DT, which will be broadcasting from WXIX tower in Cincy when they do come on the air.
You might want to check it out if you're not subscribed to Cincy thread, as among other things, it sounds like we'll getting more HD from WPTD-DT PBS Dayton come January :-) :

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...36#post2896936

----------

parrot1,

Yes, WSTR-DT 33 has been up and running 24/7 Since Dec. 2002. They are running a Low Power STA(18KW ERP) however, which might be why you aren't seeing them. I get them just fine here, and If I remember right, Paul up near Brookville gets them too with a rooftop, hi-gain antenna. They unfortunetly don't do WB HD as of yet though, it's 480i 4x3 SD only, just like WB Dayton, WBDT-DT 18.

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #547 of 6613 Old 11-07-2003, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Parrot,
I have good elevation and a big ol' antenna up here near Englewood. I get WSTR-DT with a solid single bar on my receiver's meter if the antenna is aimed exactly at them. It's amazing I can even get a lock. So don't be too distraught if you can't receive them.

Paul

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #548 of 6613 Old 11-07-2003, 05:47 PM
Member
 
parrot1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess the wired thing is, on my SIR-TS160 When I enter Ciny as my secondary city it automaticly updates my channel guide with all the Cincinnati locals but WSTR-DT. I'd love to get those UK games even in 4x3. Thanks for the info.
parrot1 is offline  
post #549 of 6613 Old 11-07-2003, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any luck with the analog station WSTR 64? If you can get that one in without a lot of snow, I'd say you'd have a shot at the digital, or, if it's watchable enough, I suppose you could watch the analog station for the U.K. Games. If it's watchable enough though, you'd probably be able to get the digital station too.

As Paul said though, depending upon your location, you might not want to put too much effort into it, as, especially if you have terrain issues as the high-frequency of channel 64 for the analog, and Low power for their digital on 33 might make it especially difficult for you.

Also, if you can do it with your receiver, I suppose you could try manually tuning the receiver to RF channel 33 and see if you get any sort of reading from them on your receiver's signal quality meter.

They at least USED to have a Low Power(very very low power with a directional antenna pattern that definetly doesn't favor my direction, but should cover city of Dayton) analog translator station on channel 66(W66AQ) in Dayton -- It's still licensed according to FCC info, and transmitter should be at the Dayton antenna farm with the rest of the Dayton TV stations(except WWRD-LP 55, tower near bellbrook) ... I'm not sure, but I don't think the LP translator on 66 is "really" on the air though.

A bit of trivia, but In the early 80's, they offered a scrambled, "hbo-like" movie service OTA called ONTV (at that time, WSTR 64 call signs were WBTI, then they were later WIII -- The "eyes of Cincinnati!), with a certian amount of the day offering unscrambled programming for public service obligations. By the mid-80's it had "detiroarated" into all porn programming(some things were "visable" on a regular TV, although distorted), and soon went belly up. The rapid profileration of cable service+sat(BUD mostly) at the time probably didn't help their subscriber numbers any. Also, it was possible to legally obtain a "kit descrambler" which one could build themsleves, and that probably didn't help them much either.

I think the ONTV service was probably why they needed/used the channel 66 translator to help cover Dayton, as their old tower/power of analog 64 wasn't what it is now. The analog on 64 is now a full power 5000KW ERP station, and the tower is about 5 miles north of the other Dayton Towers(it's easily visable from I-75, it's an "artistic looking" "Star tower" which went up in early 90's) - although, again, given the high frequenecy involved, it still makes it difficult for them to cover a large area and be easily receivable, especially when serious terrain issues are involved.

Anyhow, way back then, if you wanted their subscription service, you rented a box from them, and they installed a Blonder-Tongue antenna cut for channel 64(or 66) on your roof. I still see a few of those antennas on roofs in the area(they are fairly small, and are just yagi's with no corner reflector on back), and they probably still work quite well on hi-UHF channels, if the feedline hasn't deterioated too much.

On the UK games, yeah. They haven't seemed to have had as many the past couple of years on WSTR, (WBQC 25, UPN Cincy(a fairly Low power analog station which should be increasing power and moving to channel 38 soon) has had some of them in past few years too though), but WSTR used to have about all of them -- Maybe WSTR will have more UK games again this year, as I did notice they had that exhibition game the other night.

Anyhow, Since WSTR had that game the other night, maybe they'll do it again this year.

Enough blabbering about History and analog stations and such,

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #550 of 6613 Old 11-09-2003, 09:05 AM
Member
 
parrot1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. I live off stroop, in Miami Township. I can pickup the analog channel with snow. Currently have a RadioShack U-75R (works much better than the CM3018 I bought @ Lowes $21vs$90?) I bought a CM pre-amp, but didn't noticed a signifcat increase in reception. User error I'm sure. I'm using a diplexer inside & out, that may be my problem.
parrot1 is offline  
post #551 of 6613 Old 11-09-2003, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm not sure what portions of Stroop are in Miami Twp, and exact location is very important when looking at this, but I looked at the West End of Stroop Rd. and there are definitely some low spots which would likely be a problem for Cincy. Anything East of Southern BLVD(unless your quite a bit aways from stroop and down in a dip) though should be a good spot. WSTR tower(approx 37~38 miles from you) is actually a few miles closer to you than the rest of the Cincy towers(41~43 miles for most, 48 miles for WCVN/KET), and WSTR tower is actually the highest in Cincy, so, if the terrain issues aren't too serious, you should have a shot at it at least.

U-75R seems like a good choice for UHF for you -- while there Higher gain, more directional antennas(such as CM4228, CM4248/etc.) which would probably offer some improvement, it probably wouldn't be a drastic improvement.

Also, Since it looks like your only only a few miles from Dayton Towers, "preamp overload", and maybe even tuner overload issues are probably a big issue, or potential issue for you. However, since for best results you should be aiming antenna WNW for Dayton Stations, and SSW for Cincinnati(around or over a 100 degree spread), hopefully the antenna will reject enough of the signal off the side from the Dayton Stations to keep the overload problems down. You probably already know this, but For best results for Cincy, you'd defintely want to aim antenna right at Cincinnati towers.

On the preamp, assuming you are using a "mast mount" preamp(which is what you'd likely want to use), the preamp goes on the mast, as close to antenna as possible, and if you're using a diplexer, the power inserter for preamp needs to go between antenna and first diplexer, which of course won't work, as you can't put power inserter outside. Really though, If you want to get "best results", I'd recommend NOT using the diplexor and running a seperate feedline completely for the antenna run, then the power inserter for amp can go inside, next to the TV, or in the attic or whatever(any signal split has to be after the preamp, though).

Given your proximity to Dayton Towers though, I think its quite likely the preamp will cause more problems than it solves. Might take quite a bit of experimenting to find the best "balance", and if there's a preamp that might help you more than it hurts, you'll still probably have to find a preamp that's not TOO high gain. Also, using a variable attenuator along with the preamp might be benficial too.

Hope this helps and good luck,

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #552 of 6613 Old 11-10-2003, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
HangEmHi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have any information about when Time Warner and the local Dayton ABC & CBS affiliates will finally get together on carrying the HD feed? I'm impatient.

Gamertag: HeartbreakRidge

Enjoy a quality XBOX Live Experience with the folks at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HangEmHi is offline  
post #553 of 6613 Old 11-13-2003, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Kerbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sidney, Ohio
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Me too! Where is TWC with the locals ???
Kerbs is offline  
post #554 of 6613 Old 11-18-2003, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Had to call WDTN last night and ask them for MNF in HD. I don't know if it was dumb luck or if they really did relay my message, but within 3 or 4 minutes, voila!

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #555 of 6613 Old 11-18-2003, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good man Paul! For the most part, they've done such a good job of providing HD except for around the time when Telstar 4 failed that I was a bit surprised when I noticed that the "Brittney Spears" thing and beginning of MNF wasn't HD on WDTN-DT last night but the ABC HD was fine on WCPO-DT.

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #556 of 6613 Old 12-09-2003, 03:07 PM
Member
 
UD#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dayton
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else have a problem connecting DVI on TWC box Pioneer 3510HD? I'm connecting to Panasonic TH-50PHD6UY plasma DVI card and the Pioneer error message basically says my Panny is not HDTV. It is HD and HDCP compliant. I have read other threads with users in other parts of the country having this problem and it seems to be a Pioneer software problem for them. But no posts from Dayton area. Using component until I resolve. Appreciate any ideas.
UD#1 is offline  
post #557 of 6613 Old 12-10-2003, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
HangEmHi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the box, but haven't used the DVI port on it yet. I don't have a DVI cable handy, either, so I can't test it, but I'd be interested in your efforts. Since I have a CRT HDTV, from all I have read the benefit is slim to none, unless someone else has better info....?

I just wish we'd get more locals, or ESPN-HD, or something more. As I said previously, I'm greedy for HD.

Gamertag: HeartbreakRidge

Enjoy a quality XBOX Live Experience with the folks at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HangEmHi is offline  
post #558 of 6613 Old 12-10-2003, 10:17 AM
Member
 
HJustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Pioneer box is going back to TWC this week. I'm tired of waiting. I'm going to investigate other options.

J
HJustin is offline  
post #559 of 6613 Old 12-11-2003, 04:49 AM
Member
 
parrot1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, Can't help but I have read post on other Threads that some Cable Co. don't activate the DVI port on the STB.
parrot1 is offline  
post #560 of 6613 Old 12-28-2003, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good Late night PBS HD News!

Just noticed that beginning 1/1/04 at midnight, WPTD-DT(Think16 HD) has PBS HD/widescreen Scheduled M-F from 8PM-6AM, 6pm-6am on sat/Sun!

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #561 of 6613 Old 12-31-2003, 11:40 AM
Member
 
buckeye1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Titan TV lists this game as HiDef, but WHIO is not showing it. I called the station and a lady said she will look into it. Does anyone else want to call them and ask? Whats the best source to tell if a show is going to be in Hi Def?

-Bruce

Buckeye1010
Dayton, OH
buckeye1010 is offline  
post #562 of 6613 Old 12-31-2003, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Usually, my best source is to switch to WKRC-DT and see if they have it in HD. Problem solved! Titan TV is hit or miss. I don't know of a reliable source but maybe Nitewatchman has some ideas.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #563 of 6613 Old 01-01-2004, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gindie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do NOT, I repeat, do NOT consult TitanTV for HD information. For info. on sports (especially) and other HD events, consult the "HD Programming" section of AVS Forum and look at the stuck topics at the top.

Ken H. the moderator of that area goes to great effort to keep that info. up to date. The fact is that the ONLY bowl game to be broadcast in HD this year will be the Sugar Bowl on Sunday, by ABC.
gindie is offline  
post #564 of 6613 Old 01-03-2004, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
A bit OT, but just noticed WRCX-LP 40 Dayton(analog) has Finally made it back to the airwaves ... They were displaced off Channel 51 by WKEF-DT in Feb 02 ...

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #565 of 6613 Old 01-04-2004, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
voyager6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WRCX=LP ran a Cleveland Cavs gane a couple of nights ago. Wonder where schedule info can be found.

Voyager6
voyager6 is offline  
post #566 of 6613 Old 01-04-2004, 09:37 AM
Member
 
UD#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dayton
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HD playoff games were great on ABC yesterday! I finally got a RCA ATSC11 OTA receiver from Rex. Flipping over to compare TWC and non HD WDTN (no HD ABC on cable) and then back to OTA HD confirmed the investment was worthwhile. HD football is stunning!
Getting ChannelMaster 4228A antenna this week which hopefully will receive Cinci stations. Trying attic first.
Thanks Nitewatchman for your past help.
UD#1 is offline  
post #567 of 6613 Old 01-04-2004, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by voyager6
WRCX=LP ran a Cleveland Cavs gane a couple of nights ago. Wonder where schedule info can be found.

I haven't been able to get into WRCX's website for quite a while, but http://www.titantv.com has listings for WRCX ..

"Channels" Guide in Middletown Journal also shows it, so I'd think DDN's TV guide probably would too.

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #568 of 6613 Old 01-05-2004, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
1450kHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Beavercreek, OH (heh heh, you said Beaver)
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had wondered where they were and just thought that I wasn't able to pick them up. Caught the Ch. 40 signal the other day, it's weak but viewable in my location (far end of Fairborn ~15 miles from the Dayton TV tower farm).
Signal quality is just about that of WWRD-LP 55.
1450kHz is offline  
post #569 of 6613 Old 01-05-2004, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
voyager6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Huber Heights, I get Ch 55 very clean, Ch 40 started out weak, but appears to be a little clearer and viewable over a wider angle. Of course the rain probably affected that judgement.

Voyager6
voyager6 is offline  
post #570 of 6613 Old 01-06-2004, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
1450kHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Beavercreek, OH (heh heh, you said Beaver)
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard any more rumblings on the status of HD coming to WBDT-DT 18? What about WRGT-DT 30? For right now, they seem to just be repeating the analog (judging by the telltale stripe at the bottom of the picture), but with FOX wanting to go HD in the fall I sure would like to have them up in time for football.

Kudos to WDTN for ditching the flood watch bug to give us the wild card games in HD.
1450kHz is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off