Des Moines, IA - HDTV - Page 147 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4381 of 4397 Old 03-21-2016, 11:00 AM
Member
 
mofford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SW Des Moines
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK, I see what they did, what a mind fry. My older Sony TV wont pick it up with a channel scan, but 23 KCWI now shows up on 23.3 if I manually enter that with remote. Likewise, the new TCT 19 will not pick up with channel scan, but shows up on 19.3 when I manually enter with remote.


Now with my Magnavox DVR's, channel 23 is now on 19.1, and I can't find TCT channel 19 at all on my DVR's.


OOOPS, I take that back, the DVR just lost 23 on 19, and I'm very confused now.
mofford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4382 of 4397 Old 03-23-2016, 10:06 AM
Member
 
mofford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SW Des Moines
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Channel 23 and 19 back to normal, showing as 23.1 and 19.1 on my DVR's. However, my TV will not pick up 23 with channel scan, but was able to manually enter 23.3 after a channel scan, to get my TV to recognize it as a channel.

Too bad WOI/nextar does not wish to add any sub channels, I remember back in 2007 WOI was the first local station to add a sub channel, RTN, and kept that lead for a year or so before other stations began adding new sub channels.

I think the main HD channel for Ion 39.1, looks pretty good. Just too bad it's a low power station and you have to be within 20 or 30 miles of Valeria to get a good signal. They have an occasional movie or show I like, Law and Order SVU, or Blue Bloods is OK once in a while. The sub channels are mostly lame, ION Life is the only sub channel of 39 that I will allow in my channel guide, and it's pretty slim pickings. They should show some classic cartoons on Qubo at night, the cartoons they show really stink, kids really watch that crap ? They should roll out the Tom and Jerry after midnight, or some Ren and Stimpy, Spongebob or something good. How much can it cost to get rights to old cartoons like Bullwinkle or Yogi Bear....jeez.
csworldwide1 likes this.
mofford is offline  
post #4383 of 4397 Old 03-23-2016, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mofford View Post
I think the main HD channel for Ion 39.1, looks pretty good. Just too bad it's a low power station and you have to be within 20 or 30 miles of Valeria to get a good signal.
KFPX is a full-power station, but its stick is further away from the city and it's short (505 feet), and it only puts out 116kW, meaning it covers the metro and that's about it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KFPX Coverage Map.png
Views:	42
Size:	790.8 KB
ID:	1333922  
mofford likes this.

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is online now  
post #4384 of 4397 Old 04-10-2016, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a Magnavox HDD & DVD Player/Recorder with Digital Tuner, Model-MDR513H/F7. Trying to hook it up to my DirecTV satellite Genie Receiver. I've looked all through the manual and googled every connection possibility I can think of. Both the Recorder and my HDTV's max. resolution is 1080p. I know I can't hook up the Recorder directly to the DirecTV line input from the wall, as its signal is too powerful and would damage my Recorder. I want to ultimately have this connection: From DirecTV satellite receiver through my Recorder and finally to my TV at the 1080p resolution.

Here are the output ports of the DirecTV satellite receiver: Composite Video Out (Yellow/white/red), Component Video Out (R/G/B), S-Video Out, HDMI Output

Here are the only input ports on the Recorder: Antenna In, Composite Video In (Yellow/white/red)

Here are the output ports of the Recorder: Antenna Out, Composite Video Out (Yellow/white/red), Component Video Out (R/G/B), S-Video Out, HDMI Output, Coaxial Audio Digital Output

Unfortunately, the satellite box doesn't have an Antenna Out port. Using any combination of any of these input and output ports (plus any special cables and converters I need to purchase), how can I get a HD signal of at least 1080p from my satellite receiver, to my recorder, and finally to my HDTV. I would like the signal to be no less than 1080p - the max of the TV and the DVD Recorder. The manual tells me to use the Composite Video Out connection of the satellite receiver to the Composite Video Input connection of the recorder. But that would only give me a resolution of 480i.

Thanks for any help!
loydancer is offline  
post #4385 of 4397 Old 04-10-2016, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 41
simple answer...you can't

The HDD/DVD recorder will only input a 480i signal. It will upconvert the output.
Also if you hook anything to the composite output on the Directv reciever it only does so in 480i and requires you to change the format on the receiver (been there done that)

I own an older HDD/DVD recorder by polaroid that has component inputs and outputs (no HDMI) but even hooking to the component in doesnt work (signal is garbled..dont know why)

Also plugging the line directly from the wall to the HDD/DVD wont fry anything. It just wont work as you need a Diretcv tuner in it to decode the signal.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4386 of 4397 Old 04-10-2016, 09:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
simple answer...you can't

The HDD/DVD recorder will only input a 480i signal. It will upconvert the output.
Also if you hook anything to the composite output on the Directv reciever it only does so in 480i and requires you to change the format on the receiver (been there done that)

I own an older HDD/DVD recorder by polaroid that has component inputs and outputs (no HDMI) but even hooking to the component in doesnt work (signal is garbled..dont know why)

Also plugging the line directly from the wall to the HDD/DVD wont fry anything. It just wont work as you need a Diretcv tuner in it to decode the signal.
OK - looks like my existing Composite RCA Output/Input to the recorder, then HDMI output to my TV is my only option. I just bought this unit as a used unit, greatly reduced in price. But why do they claim it can record in HD onto its HDD if it can't do it? I guess I don't understand. And why would you have an HDMI output to TV if there is no HDMI signal within the recorder unit to actually output to the TV? Doesn't make sense to me! My last DVD Recorder was just a standard resolution input/output. I thought buying this would transition me into the HD world. I can still link directly from the DirectTV receiver to the TV. But right now, if I try to watch and record anything in HD via the recorder, I get the message from the DirectTV receiver than my cables are not HD and to switch my TV to standard definition. Gosh, maybe I really didn't need to get this unit after all! Even at a used price, it wasn't cheap! Thanks for your helpful input anyway!
loydancer is offline  
post #4387 of 4397 Old 04-11-2016, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by loydancer View Post
But why do they claim it can record in HD onto its HDD if it can't do it?
looking at the specs there is nothing that claims HD on it
Even the tuner says "SD output only"

Quote:
And why would you have an HDMI output to TV if there is no HDMI signal within the recorder unit to actually output to the TV?
because it upconverts the DVD to 1080i/720p depending on the TV. Plus one cable equals simple hookups

Quote:
But right now, if I try to watch and record anything in HD via the recorder, I get the message from the DirectTV receiver than my cables are not HD and to switch my TV to standard definition.
correct. Thats what I mentioned earlier. Directv made that change a couple years ago where anything on the SD outputs required you to change the receiver to only output 480i instead of 720p/1080i
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4388 of 4397 Old 04-11-2016, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Here is the quick note leaflet and the manual. As you see in the leaflet it doesnt say HD

http://www.funaiport.com/upload/MAGN...MDR513H_LE.PDF
http://www.funaiport.com/upload/MAGN...513H_EN_OM.pdf
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4389 of 4397 Old 04-12-2016, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I guess you are correct! It's been a while since I've played with these things (years). I ordered this off Amazon. When it touted that it had a digital ATSC tuner and talked about recording that signal to its HDD, I just "assumed" that meant HD recording to its HDD. I knew you couldn't record to a DVD in HD due to the very nature of the DVD. Next time I'll look a little closer! Still, it's nice for the editing-out of commercials, etc. I may not always keep DirecTV and want the more desirable recordings to be of a permanent nature on DVD. Heck, I'd even pay to record to Blu-ray, if there was such a thing! I have a huge video library that I keep adding to. Well, maybe someday if I go with an OTA antenna, perhaps it would pick the signal up in HD then? Or not? I don't mean HDMI, just HD. Thanks for all your valuable advice and assistance!
loydancer is offline  
post #4390 of 4397 Old 04-18-2016, 06:01 PM
Member
 
mofford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SW Des Moines
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm very happy with my pair of Magnavox H2160MW9 DVR's. Have not had any major problems with them, have recorded hundreds of DVD's with the first unit, which impressed me enough to buy a second one. The clock runs a little fast in the second one, gains a couple minutes per month and have to reset it once a month. Same situation as loydancer, can't record HD via external source, but it has HDMI out and will output 480P to the TV. Also has HD tuner and will record HD, I think up to 480P if you use high speed HQ setting, the next step down, SP, still looks pretty darn close to HD quality, as I recently recorded The Ten Commandments movie from ABC at SP speed, it looks great! At SP you can put 2 hours on one DVD+ disc, at HQ speed, just one hour, but it looks real sharp. If you record standard 480i programming, you might as well use LP speed which lets you put 3 hours on one disc.

I love the editing features that allow you to remove commercials, change chapter marks, divide a long recording (like ten commandments) into smaller blocks via title divide feature. The high speed dub works great, but if you record 2 different titles that were recorded at different speeds, and want to put them both on same disc, the high speed dub does not work so well, but otherwise flawless so long as you remember not to go over 4K, even if it says disc takes 4200, never go over 3990 or it may not format correctly and will ruin disc. Also the high speed dub is not all that fast, still takes around 15 minutes to burn disc.

I like the unique feature of the H2160Mw9, how it begins recording whatever channel it's set on, or changed to, for up to 6 hours, just by powering on the unit. This is very convenient for programs like the evening news or stuff you won't save (but can save from the recording block by hitting record to make a permanent recording to HD before it drops off), all you need to do is put it on the right channel and come back within 6 hours to watch, no need to hit record or make timer recording for these low priority programs, or delete the recording after watching, just powering off the unit erases the recording block if you did not save it by hitting record button.

My first DVR was a panasonic DMR EZ27, it was a buggy POS that froze up all the time and lasted less than 2 years, don't buy one of those. My first Mag-2160 has lasted 6 years now with no problems, the second one about 2 years thus far.

Last edited by mofford; 04-18-2016 at 06:21 PM.
mofford is offline  
post #4391 of 4397 Old 04-19-2016, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 230
I have an old Philips 3575 and a Maggie 2106 (?) sitting in my basement. I retired them in favor of the TiVo I got last fall.

They served me so well over the years. I will eventually hook them back up, and maybe utilize the DVD-R features of them.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #4392 of 4397 Old 04-20-2016, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
thrillcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
I will eventually hook them back up, and maybe utilize the DVD-R features of them.
You don't need to if you have a TiVo. Just download cTivo (or PC equivalent) and you can pull shows off your TiVo to your computer, convert them, burn them to DVD or blu-ray, whatever you want.

I've done this with all the animated holiday specials and a few key ISU basketball victories over Kansas.

I love my iPhone, but it will never replace my turntable.

The Cinema 1858 Remodel Thread
thrillcat is offline  
post #4393 of 4397 Old 04-20-2016, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrillcat View Post
You don't need to if you have a TiVo. Just download cTivo (or PC equivalent) and you can pull shows off your TiVo to your computer, convert them, burn them to DVD or blu-ray, whatever you want.

I've done this with all the animated holiday specials and a few key ISU basketball victories over Kansas.
I was trying to feel better about these two fine machines sitting in my basement collecting dust.

thrillcat likes this.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #4394 of 4397 Old 04-21-2016, 09:16 PM
Member
 
mofford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SW Des Moines
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like we're finally starting to see some collaboration between WOI and KCWI. Have noticed some changes in the morning show on 23, they dumped Jason Parkins as main host/weather guy and dropped the name "Great Day". Now they are using weather guys from WOI, Sam Schreier and Brad Edwards. The format for the new morning show looks very similar to the old one, really enjoy some of the musical guests they have on, they had a dude singing "The Corn Song" the other morning, quality entertainment at times, but will miss Jason Parkins, he was kind of funny sometimes, and the loopy blond girl is still there, she's OK.

Perhaps these 2 stations can help each other out, we shall see. Sam is an OK weather guy, he's no Ed Wilson but a likable nerdball not too far off the Jason Parkins image. I think it will work out OK. They need to bring back the Beatles birthday song and pictures of celebrity for happy B' day segment, instead of just using script...why did they change that part, it sucks now.

Last edited by mofford; 04-21-2016 at 09:23 PM.
mofford is offline  
post #4395 of 4397 Old 05-28-2016, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
jobedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cumming Iowa
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Whodt3_13.3

I record Johnny Carson on WHODT3_ and the files have got smaller and they are chopping off the top of the picture
Joe
jobedo is offline  
post #4396 of 4397 Old 06-07-2016, 10:40 AM
Member
 
grich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobedo View Post
I record Johnny Carson on WHODT3_ and the files have got smaller and they are chopping off the top of the picture
Joe
What do you mean "files are smaller"? Last night's show appeared to have a proper aspect ratio. The show on the 27th looked OK as well. Double-check your TV/DVR settings and make sure you haven't accidentally zoomed in the picture.
grich is offline  
post #4397 of 4397 Old Today, 05:16 PM
Member
 
tanglecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Exclamation

This TV is back! Now on 13.4. Didn't know this; my sister told me.

"This is my ancestor, Philo Farnsworth, inventor of television ... and, as a bonus, childhood obesity."--Professor Hubert J. Farnsworth on the Futurama episode "All the Presidents' Heads."

tanglecord is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off