Buffalo, NY - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 7371 Old 02-01-2004, 03:48 PM
BLT
Senior Member
 
BLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its HD here with DD5.1 and picture is very good
BLT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 7371 Old 02-01-2004, 05:09 PM
Member
 
rf75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: WNY
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well now we know that for at least the superbowl, wivb will dedicate the whole bandwidth to HD ... WNLO is turned off.
rf75 is offline  
post #363 of 7371 Old 02-01-2004, 06:31 PM
Member
 
rf75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: WNY
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
rf75 is offline  
post #364 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 01:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yup, sound was choppy throughout the halftime show... odd since it was fine both before and afterwards. But it was VERY nice of them to turn off both sub-channels and give us an unmolested signal.

And did anyone else have two several-second-long audio dropouts during Survivor (a show screaming to be done in HD).
Daniel Tonks is online now  
post #365 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr. Biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Kenmore,NY USA
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:


Originally posted by rf75
dropouts in the 1/2time show sound ... annoying

But we got to see Janet's breast
Mr. Biggles is offline  
post #366 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
mrpergo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hilton,NY
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Daniel I had the same audio drops.Don't know what the hell that was .
mrpergo is offline  
post #367 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 07:08 AM
Member
 
jonw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester N.Y.
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
During half time I was thinking it might even have been a problem at the source, especially since the rest of the show had been so good and consistent.
jonw is offline  
post #368 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
BetteH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Amherst/Snyder, NY
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to let anyone interested know that I sent an email to channel 7 asking when they will be broadcasting and I got a reply saying that it is slated for this month (Feb)
BetteH is offline  
post #369 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 05:17 PM
Member
 
stjefrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Western New York, Youngstown
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info! I sure hope that they up and running by the new Stephen King Series.

Phillips 50" Plasma
Sony HDD250 (two)
Sony Playstation 3
Mitsubishi 1100 DVHS
stjefrey is offline  
post #370 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 05:45 PM
Member
 
GregHoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buffalo NY area
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Be Still My Heart:

WKBW goes HD !

Yes. Jennifer Garner in HD . . . and LINE OF FIRE and the movies !!

I'm optimistic but I'll beleive it when I see it.


Good news.

Any other WKBW news / rumors out there?
GregHoey is offline  
post #371 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 05:59 PM
Member
 
lurchwitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron,NY
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also emailed wkbw and got the same response feb.16-23rd they will be testing,then full time after that
lurchwitts is offline  
post #372 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 06:45 PM
Member
 
pmb1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NT
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
In regards to WKBW did you ask if it was going to be true HD, or just a digital version of their SD channel?
pmb1010 is offline  
post #373 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
BetteH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Amherst/Snyder, NY
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pmb1010....

When I asked the question I specified HDTV and when he answered it he also said HDTV.
BetteH is offline  
post #374 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 08:30 PM
Member
 
pmb1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NT
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:


Originally posted by BetteH
pmb1010....

When I asked the question I specified HDTV and when he answered it he also said HDTV.

good news, then. Too many stations around the country (Rochester, for example) are going digital but not HD!

pmb
pmb1010 is offline  
post #375 of 7371 Old 02-02-2004, 09:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 22
(re ABC) What email address are you guys sending this to? I enquired and didn't hear back.

How long has WIVB been sending 5.1 audio for primetime shows? Noticed CSI: Miami was sent as 5.1 tonight.
Daniel Tonks is online now  
post #376 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 07:07 AM
Member
 
stjefrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Western New York, Youngstown
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WHOO HOO!!!

WUTV-29 FOX buffalo is up and running! As of 9:00am I was just doing a scan and this was memerized.

Details:
29-0 Analog
29-1 Digital (menu-WUTV-HD) I'm getting color bars (test pattern) and receiver states HDTV. I'm also getting Dolby Digital 2.0 with no sound.
29-2 Digital (menu-WUTV-SD) I'm getting same as 29-0 but in digital. Sound is Dolby Digital 2.0

I'm getting a very good signal with no drop outs on 29-2. On 29-1 I believe they are testing because they seem to be going in and out with long periods in between.

Phillips 50" Plasma
Sony HDD250 (two)
Sony Playstation 3
Mitsubishi 1100 DVHS
stjefrey is offline  
post #377 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 07:39 AM
Member
 
rubblerubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cheektowaga, NY - Airport
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
29 is in HD? No Way! This is great news, considering the Super Bowl is on FOX next year, right?

Oh, when I e-mailed WKBW about a month ago, they told me "early spring" for a live date. Am I the only one here who thinks their staff is clueless?
rubblerubble is offline  
post #378 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 12:31 PM
Member
 
lurchwitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron,NY
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I havent been able to get a signal on 29,even in scanning digital stations.Is it still up?Wonder when theyll be full tim?
lurchwitts is offline  
post #379 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
RIppolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's terrific news about Fox being on the air in Buffalo. Can anyone please tell me where the transmitter is? I live in Rochester, NY, and I can get WIVB anytime of day or night. I get WGRZ when the atmospherics are good, but I keep the antenna pointed the same direction for both: southwest.

Where would I rotate the antenna to in order to pick up channel 29?

Thanks in advance,

Ron
RIppolito is offline  
post #380 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 01:29 PM
Member
 
rubblerubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cheektowaga, NY - Airport
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe the FOX tower is on Grand Island, meaning you will need to orient your antenna probably due west. I have not been home to check it yet.
rubblerubble is offline  
post #381 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 02:49 PM
Member
 
stjefrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Western New York, Youngstown
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by lurchwitts
I havent been able to get a signal on 29,even in scanning digital stations.Is it still up?Wonder when theyll be full tim?

Try channel "14" "14.1" and "14.2".

Phillips 50" Plasma
Sony HDD250 (two)
Sony Playstation 3
Mitsubishi 1100 DVHS
stjefrey is offline  
post #382 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yup, their real channel is 14. Punching in that will redirect you to 29.1 (silly Samsung receiver I have won't let you punch in the "dot" so I'm otherwise forced to scroll up).

Amazing, I was NOT expecting FOX to come on the air at any point in the near future! I get fantastic reception of 29 analog from my position, so 29 digital should be good even if their output power is low.
Daniel Tonks is online now  
post #383 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 03:42 PM
Member
 
lurchwitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron,NY
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what channel will wkbw be on?Is there a site where I can find this info?
lurchwitts is offline  
post #384 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 03:50 PM
Member
 
GregHoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buffalo NY area
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WKBW will be chan 38

AND HOPEFULLY SOON

How embarassing to be beaten to the punch by . . . FOX.
GregHoey is offline  
post #385 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr. Biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Kenmore,NY USA
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Great news. I just did a channel scan and 29.1 and 29.2 came up. About time, and when WKBW goes live it will be the icing on the cake. So hopefully by the end of the month we'll have it all. ABC, CBS, NBC, PBS and FOX.

Bill
Mr. Biggles is offline  
post #386 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 04:38 PM
Member
 
jonw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester N.Y.
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a email I received from Bill Ransom (Chief WKBW Engineer) posted on my web site, in it he states testing will start on 2/23 and if all tests well it will be on the air live thereafter. You can read it here: http://www.rochesterhdtv.com/portal.php

BTW, I'm doing my best to cover Buffalo and Syracuse issues as well as Rochester now. Let me know if you have any suggestions for the site.
Thanks
Jon
jonw is offline  
post #387 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I hope WKBW-DT is not low power either. Also now all we need is WNYO-DT which is WB, the only network I cant watch HD on yet. WNYO is owned by WUTV so hopefully they will be on soon too.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #388 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 06:16 PM
Member
 
jonw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester N.Y.
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Cable Guy where are you getting UPN in HD?
jonw is offline  
post #389 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 06:39 PM
Member
 
midnite cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grand Island, N.Y.
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I scanned in channel 29-1 and 29-2 this evening on my Samsung STB. Yes it is on Grand Island. I can literally see the tower from my house so I know I should get a great signal. Is it true that the super bowl is on fox next year? In the meantime I would like to see alias in hi-def before another season ends. It doesn't get any better....Joe

Toshiba 57HDX82
Samsung 160
Onkyo 600
Acoustic Research HC6
Sony SLV-D300P
midnite cowboy is offline  
post #390 of 7371 Old 02-03-2004, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sorry, actually I dont have UPN HD, although some Hamilton area cable companies are offering WKBD-DT Detroit which carries HD programming from UPN. My Cable company doesn't carry it, although WNLO-DT on ch32 will be up on April 1/04 which is UPN and will have HD programming. Their is no available WB HD programming anywhere close to southern Ontario. Even WDWB-DT Detroit is not up as of yet I beleive.
New Cable Guy is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off