Buffalo, NY - HDTV - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 11:00 AM
Member
 
rubblerubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cheektowaga, NY - Airport
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You Canadians are so damn lucky. I wish I could get those Canadian DTV channels.
rubblerubble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
jurassicjockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Ayr, Ontario,Canada
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dsspredator
Does this mean 9 bars is 100%.

Mine goes to 11

If a man speaks in the forest, and there's no woman around to hear him, is he still wrong?
jurassicjockey is offline  
post #633 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Mine goes to 11

Excellent. What channel gave you 11 bars?

And I'm still having problems with 33.1. It blinks
but it won't lock. Never had problems before.
dsspredator is offline  
post #634 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the blinking NBC problem (really, I'm not swearing!) up until 9:30 PM yesterday, when suddenly everything worked fine. So, I'm going to assume that they're doing something to the signal. Maybe operating at even lower power.

I have never had a channel go above 9 bars on the SIR-T165... and yes, from the manual it looks like it should go much further.

UPN is coming in strong...I just wish they showed something that I watch, besides Enterprise! What I'm *really* hoping for is ABC to start showing The Practice in HD...
Daniel Tonks is online now  
post #635 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 04:04 PM
Member
 
sprocto4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brockport, NY
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had no issues during Las Vegas last night other than late switches to HD after commercials.
sprocto4 is online now  
post #636 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I also have had no problem with WGRZ-DT, its usually 8-bars but I have seen it go down to 5 bars at times, during tropo activity. I guess I'm in a good location for reception. Last Night during Las Vegas, WGRZ was 9 bars solid.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #637 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help!

I still can not get a lock on 33.1.

Right now:

7.1 (7 bars)
23.1 29.2 43.1 (9 bars)
39.1 (6 bars)
15.1 (7 bars)

I think I'm getting interference from WNLO on 32.1. (OR)
Like Daniel suggested maybe to save $ they reduced
their power for the increased broadcasting time?
dsspredator is offline  
post #638 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I highly doubt you are having adjacent channel interference. Even if you were you would still get a signal strength registering on your Receiver.
The problem may just be tropo causing the signal to drop off. Last night I was picking up WXXI-DT Rochester which I usually only get in the summer, plus the Escarpment may block out some of the signal as well. At my location, the signal reaches me from directly across the lake without passing over the Escarpment to reach my location, maybe this is why some of you guys in the Mississauga, Oakville region are having more reception problems, even though you are closer in actual distance to the Buffalo Transmitters. I cant get anything Digital from ch-15, but instead get a Religious station from Grand Island WBNF-CA on ch-15
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #639 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
theedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: --- Lockport, NY ---
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, 23-1 comes in 100% for me (have a 0-100 meter on the E86 Hughes), and yesterday (yes I checked) 2-1 was coming in at 100%, today it is coming in at 44-51%... only change has been the turning on of the switch over at WNLO... I can still get the station, but not quite as strong of a signal.

Other people not being able to lock on, this signal reduction, that can't just be a coincidence?

BTW: I took my silver sensor antenna, and 2 diplexers.... and I put the antenna on the roof, attached it with a few tie-wraps onto the Sat. Dish mast, and hooked up the diplexers... no amp.. I get all the Buffalo stations except 29-1 (WUTV). CBS/UPN/ABC - 100% PBS - 71% NBC - (44-51%) and FOX - 14%. (cannot pickup any other station, when I aimed the antenna at Toronto, I did get Toronto 1 in at 45% tho)

Need to figure out if an amp would help FOX, but I doubt it will.. need just a little umph to get that in without having to have a rotor!

Dish Network XM Sirius? Talk about a no-win situation.
theedge is offline  
post #640 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Why dont you get a nice real UHF antenna, being so close to Buffalo and then try. I bet you will get much improvement. Its all a matter of line of sight for the most part, not so much signal strength. If you can get Toronto 1 transmitting at a mere 2.3KW, then its pure line of sight. My signal strength hasn't changed a bit for 33-1 since WNLO-DT lit up and I'm a good 90 miles out but on a high peice of ground.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #641 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 09:21 PM
 
rwantennasat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LOCKPORT, N.Y.
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dsspredator
I could not lock on 33 either. Problems on Sunday and Monday.
All other channels were strong.

I'm using a Samsung 151 and with WNLO, WUTV and WNED
I receive a signal of 9 (nine) bars 100% of the time.
I have never seen the unit go past 9 bars. Has any one
with a Samsung unit gone past 9 bars?

My friend Paul here in lockport has a 151 with a 7 foot dish and wiegard 19db amp at apx50' he is also in the highest part of town. We've compared his to my identical antena setup bu im using a zenith hdv-420. i can see things in rochester quite regularly. paul canot. i get signals from toronto, paul only gets a few bars but no signal we've concluded that the 151 is not very sensative
to week signals. we are gonna swap receivers and do some more testing.
but good luck a bigger antenna and a bigger amplifier may help you.
rwantennasat is offline  
post #642 of 7360 Old 03-30-2004, 10:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Although I didn't watch anything on NBC today, it was coming in fine tonight. I don't see how tropo is an instant on/off thing though... 8:00-9:05 nothing at all, 9:30-11:00 perfect?

I really need a better signal meter than the one in the Samsung. It basically shows 0 or 9. Meaning, on practially all channels, I either get a 9 (perfect) or a 0 (nothing at all).
Daniel Tonks is online now  
post #643 of 7360 Old 03-31-2004, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
daredevil23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Niagara Falls, ON, CA, Earth
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to wonder why I'm receiving PBS and UPN off the Island almost too well, and then FOX is problematic. So far I have only gotten near normal video once on FOX.

As for the South Towns transmitters, CBS is excellent, whereas ABC which is one degree and one mile difference is problematic usually staying at or below minimum picture strenght, and NBC works on occasion, but without ever really exceeding anything but the minimum signal strength I need to render a picture.

My setup is a Dvico FusionHDTV 2 card in my computer with an older VHF/UHF with corner yagi design of unknown manufacture with a Radio Shack 20/25 preamp (similar to a Channel Master) since this antenna and 30' tower were a donation from my next door neighbour.

Most of the strong stations pull in at 17 dB or better, with the weak pulls sitting under 11 dB, and Toronto1 giving me 12 to 13 dB.

Married Men Live Longer Than Single Men, But Married Men Are More Willing To Die.
All Rights Reserved.
daredevil23 is offline  
post #644 of 7360 Old 03-31-2004, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by New Cable Guy
I highly doubt you are having adjacent channel interference. Even if you were you would still get a signal strength registering on your Receiver.

I checked 33.1 last night before I went to bed.
Again, I could not get a lock. The light blinks and when
I check the signal strength the bars flash up to 4 and the
station refuses to lock. I never had a problem for nine months
with WGRZ 33.1 until WNLO 32.1 32.2 came on the air.

And it looks like Daniel and theedge were also having problems?
dsspredator is offline  
post #645 of 7360 Old 03-31-2004, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
theedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: --- Lockport, NY ---
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but remember, it is only because our antennas suck! LOL.

Dish Network XM Sirius? Talk about a no-win situation.
theedge is offline  
post #646 of 7360 Old 03-31-2004, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dsspredator
And it looks like Daniel and theedge were also having problems?

Yes, I had problems on Monday. I just checked now, 3:25PM, and 33 seems to be coming in OK (about 87 miles away).

I **have** had the NBC blinking problem once or twice in the past, but Monday was the first in a long time, and with 32 coming on air at the same time...
Daniel Tonks is online now  
post #647 of 7360 Old 03-31-2004, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
WNYO-DT is now up on ch-34, but its so weak I can only see my light blinking off/on the receiver. They are only at 650 watts. Can anyone receive it.?
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #648 of 7360 Old 03-31-2004, 07:36 PM
 
rwantennasat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LOCKPORT, N.Y.
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by New Cable Guy
WNYO-DT is now up on ch-34, but its so weak I can only see my light blinking off/on the receiver. They are only at 650 watts. Can anyone receive it.?



Ihave wnyo here in s/e lockport. my hdv 420 has bad/normal/ good with a gold signal bar. ointing right at them with the 7 ft dish im in between normal and good closer to normal. anything below normal will not lock in. not bad for 650 watts???????? a true test for any antenna. B.t.w. they're tower is in Cowlsville ,N.Y. if you look on a map its near Rt77X Rt20a a tad west +south of Batavia n.y.
Rich Lockport.
P.S. seems a waste that wnlo and Wivb are running the same things in reverse. cant they find anything more interesting????
rwantennasat is offline  
post #649 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
daredevil23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Niagara Falls, ON, CA, Earth
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a handy map to see where the transmitter for WNYO is located.
LL

Married Men Live Longer Than Single Men, But Married Men Are More Willing To Die.
All Rights Reserved.
daredevil23 is offline  
post #650 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Actually having WNLO and WIVB carrying each others signals on sub-channels effectively increases the overall range of both stations, so its a smart idea. Hopefully 32-1 or 23-1 will have HD content soon from UPN, especially Enterprise.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #651 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm still trying to solve my WGRZ problem.

Can anyone verify that their power level is
the same as last week or have they decreased it?

I noticed they were on this morning at 7 AM but
I still could not lock in.
dsspredator is offline  
post #652 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just checked WGRZ-DT at my location in Stouffville and I'm getting 8 bars at 1130AM. This is what I usually get on a consistent basis. I sometimes even get it at 9 bars in the evening, but i have also seen it drop as low as 5 bars in humid weather but without any drop-outs. Why dont you E-mail them about their power levels. The FCC says they have an STA to operate around 240KW so I think they have to be at that level. Some people here seem to think WNLO on 32 is causing the problem, but I have my doubts and I myself get a very strong signal on 32.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #653 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by New Cable Guy
I just checked WGRZ-DT at my location in Stouffville and I'm getting 8 bars at 1130AM.

Thanks for the info. Still no 33.1.

Also it seems WUTV 29.1 is now on!
dsspredator is offline  
post #654 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wow, 29-1 looks really good. I hope they will now have FOX EDTV stuff tonight. You know, now thinking about it maybe your problem is indeed the strong signal from WNLO. I know with analog reception if you have 2 adjacent channels, one being really strong and the other being fairly weak you will see some bleeding on the weak station from the stronger one, although I dont know if this applies to digital signals. WGRZ may not be strong enough at your location. I get good strength from both stations on 32 and 33 so it doesn't affect me at my location. Maybe you can get a Filter for ch-32 from some specialty electronics shop to try and attenuate it and see if 33 kicks in again. I played around with attenuation for 32 and i was able to knock it down 30db and it was still working beleive it or not, so I suspect they are indeed txing their ERP at the full 1000KW.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #655 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I decided to take out my spectrum analyzer and have a visual look at 32 and 33 and I was really surprised what I saw. The peak of 32 was literally miles above the peak of 33. In fact on the analyzer it appears like 32 is blended into 33 as best as I can describe it, although 33 is working ok. I got out some more attenuators and was able to drop it down by 44 db where it still delivered a picture and that was the threshold. I find that amazing, 44 db of attenuation and it still worked. Funny thing is the peak of 32 is way above the peak of 39 but they both register 9 bars on my Receiver. I think I stand to be corrected that 32 is definitely affecting 33 in some locations where I suspect 33 was quite weak to begin with, although this problem would likely be resolved when at some point in time 33 increases its overall ERP.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #656 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 05:09 PM
Member
 
jonw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester N.Y.
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's great news that WUTV is on the air. I believe my friend at Sinclair said they should be all set to receive EDTV now and HDTV later when FOX makes it availible.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jonw is offline  
post #657 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by New Cable Guy
I think I stand to be corrected that 32 is definitely affecting 33 in some locations where I suspect 33 was quite weak to begin with, although this problem would likely be resolved when at some point in time 33 increases its overall ERP.

Thanks again NCG!

Hopefully WGRZ will increase their power at some point. I can't analyze the signal like you but I did notice that WNLO stays at 9 bars no matter what direction my antenna is. For example, if I turn it north towards Toronto WNED and WUTV drop from 9 bars to 3 bars whereas WNLO stays at 9 bars.

Maybe when the weather warms up I'll install a channel master pre-amp and see if I can pick up WGRZ again (and maybe WB49).
dsspredator is offline  
post #658 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
daredevil23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Niagara Falls, ON, CA, Earth
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about NBC, ABC, and FOX just flip their frequencies and broadcast power.

Married Men Live Longer Than Single Men, But Married Men Are More Willing To Die.
All Rights Reserved.
daredevil23 is offline  
post #659 of 7360 Old 04-01-2004, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't see any EDTV on Fox tonight... also the sound seemed too loud, prone to static.
Daniel Tonks is online now  
post #660 of 7360 Old 04-03-2004, 07:35 PM
Member
 
JCochran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tonawanda, New York
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else have an issue with locking onto the signal with ch 29? The tuner in my Dish 6000 seems to freeze up and takes about 15 to 20 seconds to bring up the picture.
JCochran is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off