Buffalo, NY - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 7342 Old 04-16-2004, 10:36 AM
Member
 
merlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed that CBS Buffalo's 39-1 main channel has gone down in power? I use to be able to pull in 80% signal consistently...now I'm getting somewhere between 25% - 50% and having a tough time getting a lock on it. Luckily I can still get strong signal on 23-1 which seems to be broadcasting the main CBS feed now instead of the UPN feed. Has anyone else experienced a signal drop on 39-1? Does this have anything to do with the recent problems they've been having with remapping etc?

merlock
merlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 7342 Old 04-16-2004, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My signal strength on 39-1 is the same as it always has been. I get 9-bars
consistently. The only problems i've had with WIVB-DT has to do with station itself and not my reception of it.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #723 of 7342 Old 04-16-2004, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
By the way, the Canadian culture thing you mentioned is nothing more than a lot of BS. Its just another excuse to keep out American and other foreign broadcasters. In fact the CRTC after 14 months has still not ruled on the application for RAI International and Al Jazeera to broadcast on cable here. They're saying its all political, that the Liberal government is forcing the CRTC to stall the ruling until after the election because it might influence votes from certain ethnic groups here.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #724 of 7342 Old 04-16-2004, 02:15 PM
Member
 
roto22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York, NY (Manhattan)
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I'm seeing a signal again on channel 14, so it seems that WUTV got the part they needed and are back up and running.

--Todd
roto22 is offline  
post #725 of 7342 Old 04-17-2004, 07:24 AM
Member
 
sprocto4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brockport, NY
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thursday night there were 2 CBS HD feeds. One was showing as 39.1 with 60% signal, the other showed as 4.1 at 100%. I hope this all gets straightened out by the time the HD tivo arrives!
sprocto4 is offline  
post #726 of 7342 Old 04-17-2004, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This is because WIVB is duplicating itself on both Ch-32 and ch-39 for now.
Some technical thing with WNLO. It will be a while before its fixed.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #727 of 7342 Old 04-17-2004, 10:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Without going back in this LONG thread, what HD stations out of Ontario and Rochester are up and running??

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #728 of 7342 Old 04-17-2004, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
2 stations are currently broadcasting, or actually 3 but one is a duplication of the other. CH-66 Toronto 1 is receivable at least some others report in Lockport. Also City Tv on ch-53 at 600 watts. The other is ch-15 Hamilton which is a duplication of ch-66. Funny thing is that I get that religious station from Grand Island on ch-15 but not the digital one from Hamilton.
By the end of this year or sooner their should be CBC,CTV,Global, CBLFT and CITS on the air. They will operate on ch20,ch40,ch64,ch24 and ch35. CTV and CBC will broadcast at about 40000 watts, so it should be receivable in Buffalo. As for Rochester, ABC,NBC, CBS and PBS are all operating, most at low power except for WXXI-DT which is at full power and I can receive it most days, but not in the winter. CBS and NBC Rochester are just low res. upconverts with no HD at all. They are hard to receive because of the low power situation.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #729 of 7342 Old 04-17-2004, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
daredevil23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Niagara Falls, ON, CA, Earth
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is The Mummy Returns being broadcast in HD, TitanTV indicates it as so, but I'm not getting enough signal strength to even see a hint of a picture.

Married Men Live Longer Than Single Men, But Married Men Are More Willing To Die.
All Rights Reserved.
daredevil23 is offline  
post #730 of 7342 Old 04-18-2004, 03:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WKBW hasn't done ANYTHING in HD yet. But I did specifically check, and no.
Daniel Tonks is offline  
post #731 of 7342 Old 04-18-2004, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
mrpergo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hilton,NY
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was shown in HD out of Rochester on 59.1.
mrpergo is offline  
post #732 of 7342 Old 04-18-2004, 07:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Thanks New Cable Guy for the info................

I'm not east enough for Rochester (except in the summer sometimes, just enough to see what channel/network they are, just as Erie can be), but those HD channels in Toronto I will try. I don't know how they can allocate 2 ch 15's within 25 or so miles of one another! You can't get 15 out of Hamilton with that useless religious station overriding it!

Who's tower is that religious station using? I like how they say it is in Buffalo when it is on Grand Island! Around here, we all know that is really another country!

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #733 of 7342 Old 04-18-2004, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone around Buffalo pick up this station?

I get some signal in St. Catharines but I can't lock on to it.


WENY-TV NY ELMIRA USA (Digital)

Licensee: LILLY BROADCASTING, L.L.C.
Service Designation: DT Digital television station

Channel: 55 716 - 722 MHz Construction Permit
File No.: BPCDT-19991029AGG Facility ID number: 71508
CDBS Application ID No.: 423212

42° 06' 20.00" N Latitude Site in Canadian Border Zone 76° 52' 17.00" W Longitude (NAD 27)

Polarization: Horizontal (H) Effective Radiated Power (ERP): 44. kW ERP Antenna Height Above Average Terrain: 320. meters HAAT Antenna Height Above Mean Sea Level: 718. meters AMSL Antenna Height Above Ground Level: 198. meters AGL
dsspredator is offline  
post #734 of 7342 Old 04-18-2004, 02:04 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There is a Global repeater using Ch-55 in Fort Erie which surprises me that you are getting a Digital ch-55 instead of the Fort Erie Signal since you are way closer to Ft. Erie.
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #735 of 7342 Old 04-18-2004, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Global repeater using Ch-55 in Fort Erie

I know. But my box is digital only and I've seen at least 1 blink every 10 seconds on my 151 while tuned to 55. NCG have you received any signal on 55?
dsspredator is offline  
post #736 of 7342 Old 04-18-2004, 11:54 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I get nothing on ch-55 at my location. Are you sure its WENY-DT?
New Cable Guy is offline  
post #737 of 7342 Old 04-19-2004, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a search on the FCC site and Elmira is the closest
digital 55. I have been getting hits on that channel ever
since I re-scanned my channels when WIVB/WNLO started having
mapping problems. Interestingly, I get more hits on 55 than 33 since
I still cannot lock on WGRZ.
dsspredator is offline  
post #738 of 7342 Old 04-19-2004, 08:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:


Originally posted by dsspredator
I know. But my box is digital only and I've seen at least 1 blink every 10 seconds on my 151 while tuned to 55. NCG have you received any signal on 55?

That "blink" is probably just garbage since you are WELL out of range ESPECIALLY since you are below the escarpment!!
I doubt anyone in the northernhalf of Erie county could pick up a analog station let alone a digital station that far away!

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #739 of 7342 Old 04-19-2004, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
dzt41j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Check with the poster "rwantennas", he does a lot of the long distance watching, he'd be able to tell you.

Has anyone heard when 29 is going to go HD?
dzt41j is offline  
post #740 of 7342 Old 04-19-2004, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
daredevil23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Niagara Falls, ON, CA, Earth
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you look at http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...31#post2312831 you'll find that I once got a blip on 55 almost one year ago.

Married Men Live Longer Than Single Men, But Married Men Are More Willing To Die.
All Rights Reserved.
daredevil23 is offline  
post #741 of 7342 Old 04-20-2004, 12:00 PM
Member
 
GregHoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buffalo NY area
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our semi-reliable friends at TITAN TV have got WKBW-DT listed
as NOW broadcasting ABC shows in HIGH DEFINITION.

Is this true???

. . . . or has TITAN jumped the gun . . .


If so hopefully this means their PICTURE QUALITY will get better.

If it's just a HIGH DEF version of the crap PQ they've had til now I actually think it'll be
MORE frustrating


Boy, every time I go out of town . . . . . .
GregHoey is offline  
post #742 of 7342 Old 04-21-2004, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by GregHoey
Our semi-reliable friends at TITAN TV have got WKBW-DT listed
as NOW broadcasting ABC shows in HIGH DEFINITION.

Is this true???


NO
dsspredator is offline  
post #743 of 7342 Old 04-23-2004, 08:10 PM
 
rwantennasat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LOCKPORT, N.Y.
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dzt41j
Check with the poster "rwantennas", he does a lot of the long distance watching, he'd be able to tell you.

Has anyone heard when 29 is going to go HD?

Rich here,
regarding weny elmira i have seen them analog numerous times but nothing yet didital. plus conditions must be just right . Tropo /inversion or fantastic ground scatter. i have watched syracuse, in fact it was in last week during the couple warm nights. i've also seen Erie/Cleveland/Toledo/Akron-Canton oh.
And Toronto ocassionally. Watertown+rochester are regulars.
Keep in mind im using a 7' parabolic dish with a winegard preamp for uhf at about 75' high.
hopefully this will enlighten. i doubt what your seeing is Elmira.
your signals could be intereference or noise.
Rich
rwantennasat is offline  
post #744 of 7342 Old 04-26-2004, 06:11 AM
Senior Member
 
dsspredator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Catharines ON (Below the Escarpment)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone used this antenna from RS with success?

Outdoor Antennas for UHF-Only (Channels 14-69)
$23.99
Catalog #: 15-2160


dsspredator is offline  
post #745 of 7342 Old 04-26-2004, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
daredevil23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Niagara Falls, ON, CA, Earth
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That doesn't look like it has enough elements. Maybe something like this would help.

http://www.warrenelectronics.com/antennas/4228.htm

Married Men Live Longer Than Single Men, But Married Men Are More Willing To Die.
All Rights Reserved.
daredevil23 is offline  
post #746 of 7342 Old 04-26-2004, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
mrpergo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hilton,NY
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually have both of these antennas on the same mast.The 4228 I use to get Buffalo stations and the little rat shack one I use to get Rochester stations.
The little rat shack yagi does pretty good but I think I'm only about 20 or 30 miles from the towers.The 4228 does great.I have it hooked with the 7775 preamp and I pick up all the Buffalo channels with no problem at 60 miles.
mrpergo is offline  
post #747 of 7342 Old 04-26-2004, 08:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Is anyone in this area using a HTPC and a LCD display to view OTA HD channels?

I'm wondering how 'cartoon' like the image looks like on SD material.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #748 of 7342 Old 04-26-2004, 10:11 AM
Member
 
rf75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: WNY
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WUTV-DT:volume - watched my usual FOX lineup last Sunday night, and noticed the volume pumping all over the place, almost like a misadjusted limiter ... which I foolishly thought would be an artefact of the past once digital started. Sounds like poor engineering is just as likely in a digital world. Audio is by way of the HiDTV card over the PCI bus to the Audigy 2 Soundblaster card.

Too bad, since the video was beautiful, better than 29 analog over cable (ch 6) which used to be best (i.e. no UHF reflections to deal with).

Anyone else notice oddio from 29-1?
rf75 is offline  
post #749 of 7342 Old 04-26-2004, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
daredevil23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Niagara Falls, ON, CA, Earth
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone has noticed that now the TitanTV schedule for WGRZ-DT now extends past 2300 hours on a daily basis, that was my fault as I sent TitanTV a quickie email about it and they fixed the missing information. Surprisingly it was also done relatively fast, since I emailed them on the 17th and they sent a reply on the 21st.

Married Men Live Longer Than Single Men, But Married Men Are More Willing To Die.
All Rights Reserved.
daredevil23 is offline  
post #750 of 7342 Old 04-26-2004, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
New Cable Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone notice WIVB is stretching their SD stuff now like WKBW does. I wonder why. I also wish WIVB would stop broadcasting from 2 transmitters and put back the higher quality WNLO where it should be. I'm beginning to wonder if this is a permanent thing, using 2 transmitters to increase their overall range. By the way, dsspredator, I'm using that antenna you posted in my attic. Its quite directional but doesn't have as much gain as my combo antenna.
New Cable Guy is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off