Buffalo, NY - HDTV - Page 250 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #7471 of 7483 Old 02-27-2015, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to FoxChief
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsspredator View Post
I can't record FOX programs on WUTV because my DRV defaults to SAP 1 and WUTV moved their 5.1 audio to SAP 2.


I contacted them with no response. Does anyone here have a contact at WUTV?
Neither WUTV nor Fox Broadcasting moved the 5.1 anywhere, or changed a thing. It's always been on the same channels since 2005....But if you have anything at all on the front end of your TV, check your downmix if possible. I know you said you're watching OTA, but the equipment you're using suggests you are a satellite subscriber, because I watch OTA, with a roof antenna, and I don't have any issues at all, which is why this concerns me. I would like to try to help, but I need more to go on.

Another concern is, saying that you contacted us with no response. I respond to all viewers that call about everything a lot during the day, and return their calls if they leave a message and a phone number. I'm not as quick to check this AVS Forum site, but I am diligent at returning calls. But you have to, at least, meet me half way. If it's after hours, perhaps leaving a message with your phone number and your concern usually gets a response. It's usually better if you know with whom you need to speak if you call at all. Asking to speak to someone in engineering, during the day, is usually a good idea because we can answer questions like this. But saying "..no one responded to my call", doesn't necessarily mean you actually called this facility. It makes it sound like you're angry and wanting to point a finger at someone., when the problem could be right in front of you.
videobruce likes this.
FoxChief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7472 of 7483 Old 02-27-2015, 10:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,636
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce
He mentioned recoding on a Dish DVR.

Not quite. He said:
Recording OTA (RF 14) on a Bell 6141 (same
Then I have to assume this satellite companies receiver/DVR also has a OTA tuner?

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #7473 of 7483 Old 02-27-2015, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I recently checked WUTV'S OTA Signal at my aunt's house which is closer to buffalo than mines & the sound for all programming appeared to be normal. Looks like dsspredator's problem has to be his equipment because FoxChief said no changes have been made to there 5.1 audio.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #7474 of 7483 Old 02-27-2015, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Then I have to assume this satellite companies receiver/DVR also has a OTA tuner?
yes. Bell used Dish equipment but with their own software and model number. The guts are the same

So it almost sounds like its a setting in the receiver itself that needs to be changed. This sounds stupid but there is an option in the receiver that says "alternate audio" and gives other options. Maybe the poster needs to mess with that setting
unclehonkey is offline  
post #7475 of 7483 Old Yesterday, 10:31 PM
Member
 
Warrenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't really expect to get an answer to this question, but since it is obivious that WUTV and WNYO's staff appear to check the forum, I will ask. Has anyone heard if WNYO will build out on its construction permit and install a new antenna? I know the permit runs out on March 20th and I doubt the weather would permit them to install a new antenna, but you never know.
Warrenl is online now  
post #7476 of 7483 Old Today, 04:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,636
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Why is there a need for a "new antenna"??

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #7477 of 7483 Old Today, 04:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The current antenna is directional and WNYO holds a construction permit for one that isn't.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #7478 of 7483 Old Today, 05:35 AM
Member
 
Warrenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can't recieve WNYO with the current directional antenna, but I would be able to get WNYO with the new antenna. So the reason for the question.
Warrenl is online now  
post #7479 of 7483 Unread Today, 02:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to FoxChief
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrenl View Post
I can't recieve WNYO with the current directional antenna, but I would be able to get WNYO with the new antenna. So the reason for the question.
I have no idea where you guys are getting your information from, but you may want to consider another source. WNYO has a directional antenna BTW

Last edited by FoxChief; Today at 05:03 PM.
FoxChief is offline  
post #7480 of 7483 Unread Today, 03:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,636
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Warrenl;
Where are you located?

Trip in VA;
What made you think they were directional??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WNYO 49 coverage.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	142.9 KB
ID:	581553  

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.

Last edited by videobruce; Today at 03:24 PM.
videobruce is offline  
post #7481 of 7483 Unread Today, 05:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
videobruce, WNYO is currently directional per their FCC records. They hold a permit to go omni that expires on March 20.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #7482 of 7483 Unread Today, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Warrenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxChief View Post
I have no idea where you guys are getting your information from, but you may want to consider another source. WNYO has a directional antenna BTW
Many thanks for taking the time to reply. From your reply I can tell that WNYO has no plans on changing their antenna this March. It was only a question based on this application in the FCC.
https://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws...&fac_num=67784
here is the one of the web sites I ues to follow broadcasters
http://www.fccinfo.com/CMDProEngine....Number=1323942
my apologies if my post gave the impression that WNYO was planning to build on the permit, I was just asking if there was any plans to build on CP? And I got the answer. Thank you.


.

Last edited by Warrenl; Today at 06:39 PM. Reason: misspelled Words
Warrenl is online now  
post #7483 of 7483 Unread Today, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Warrenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Warrenl;
Where are you located?:
I live in the Wellsville area.
Warrenl is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off