Audio sync on WLWT-DT Cincinnati Leno Show - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-01-2002, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Akenyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fairfield, Ohio
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For some reason someone at WLWT seems to think that passing NBC's HD video of the Tonight Show with Jay Leno and pasting in their local audio is a great idea. Maybe - if the time sync was close it would be OK. It is nowhere near in sync. I keep forgetting to call Rich Lohmuller, CE, during business hours (412-5000 x5630). Maybe if a few more folks check in with Rich this situation will be corrected.
Akenyon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 04:50 AM
Member
 
CincyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfield, OH
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same issue with Crossing Jordan the other night. The sync was so bad I switched to the SD broadcast. Seems I've also had to call WLWT several times in the last few weeks to remind them to "flip the switch". :confused:
CincyHD is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 06:11 AM
Member
 
richard-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: lebanon oh. usa
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also had the sync problem, at times it was laughable. When the tonight show starts, I rarelly see the opening in HDTV, they must be asleep watching ch 5 news? What no. do you call to get them up?

RICHARD
richard-s is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 06:33 AM
Member
 
CincyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfield, OH
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I normally call the news desk number and asked to be transferred to Engineering. I get the same "Oh yea, I'll change it over" response everytime I call.

Why can't they all be like the local CBS affiliate ??

Rob
CincyHD is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 10:58 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 270
In their defense, it's new to them. The old digital transmitter was 4:3 all the time. They just got the pass-thru gear in a week before the Olympics. Then they were off the air for March. So, it's probably just not being in the habit. I know when I get a new thing to do it's sometimes weeks before it becomes automatic.

But I do wish there were an easier way of calling the control room without bothering the newsroom.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-03-2002, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Akenyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fairfield, Ohio
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just spoke with Rich Lohmueller at WLWT. He was very kind (must not have read my first post - oops! Sorry Rich.). I told him about the late HD video switching and the lack of audio sync. In response he asked if the audio was in sync on up convert NTSC programming, which is the correct question to confirm if my receiver is at fault. The answer is that upconvert video and audio are in sync. He said that he'd check it out this afternoon. He may need to request an action feed from NBC to confirm time sync once he confirms that they have the correct audio and video routing through the studio plant.

I also asked about their current ERP. He says that with the new transmitter and current temporary 3" feedline and antenna they are at about 125 kW. He can't push much more power or the small feedline may end up like the Lubbock, TX, DTV antenna that burned last week. He expects to have the new channel 35 feedline and antenna up sometime this summer.
Akenyon is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-03-2002, 06:50 PM
Member
 
CincyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfield, OH
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Akenyon,

Thanks for the info. Now if Rich would only light a fire under his engineers to ensure a timely switch to the HD broadcast for the limited amount of HD programming that NBC hac.

Rob
CincyHD is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-03-2002, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Akenyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fairfield, Ohio
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tonight the switch was done right at the beginning of the monologue and the audio is in proper sync.

Thanks Rich!!
Akenyon is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off