Top ten cable companies commit to carry HDTV in top markets - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 04:30 AM - Thread Starter
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
As reported at TVinsite: http://www.tvinsite.com/broadcasting...y=breakingNews

"The cable industry's 10 largest MSOs Wednesday pledged to carry at least five digital channels in top markets beginning Jan. 1."

I wonder if they mean that they'll do this only in the major city of the top market? Using Chicago as an example, most of the city itself has been upgraded so they have the bandwidth to carry HDTV programming, but many of the surburban areas haven't had their systems upgraded and AT&T's always telling us it's coming in six months (and that's been for 2 1/2 years).
rad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
stovetop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Cable operators pledging support are AT&T Broadband, AOL-Time Warner Inc., Comcast Corp., Charter Communications Inc., Cox Communications Inc., Adelphia Communications Corp., Cablevision Systems Corp., Mediacom Communications Corp., Insight Communications Company Inc., and CableOne Inc. These ten collectively serve more than 85 percent of cable customers in the United States. "

Includes Insight which makes me happy! ~_^ It says top ten markets, but this doesn't mean TV Broadcasting Markets, this means Cable Markets which are huge ^_^

john
stovetop is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I learned recently that AT&T just began the process of upgrading their cable TV infrastructure in this area, and it's going to take them TWO years to complete the project. I was told this would increase their bandwidth from the current 550 Mhz to 700 Mhz. Though I'm hoping they'll pass through the 8VSB signal from the locals, I doubt that's what they have in mind. We will probably end up having to rent another of their stupid set top boxes to get even the non-premium channels in HD if they use QAM.
Rudy1 is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 11:49 AM
Member
 
beerme1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Buffalo, NY.
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Adelphia must be flat out lying.

I have inquired about HD 5 times now. They have no plans to offer it.

I recently saw a story on the local news that they are rebuilding their system in their hometown of Coudersport, PA.
The press release said despite their current financial crisis, they are going to rebuild the system there, to be one of the most technologically advanced systems in the country.

So I think maybe they have had a change of heart and call them, and ask if after the rebuild in Coudersport, will they offer HD there?
The answer, No!

So I start asking how can you claim you are offering one of the most technologically advanced systems in the country and not offer HD?
The answer is similar to what they have told me before. There is not enough demand for it, and it' s very expensive.
But I respond many other cable systems currently offer it, so why wont you.
Same answer.

I am not aware of an Adelphia system anywhere in the country that offers HD. Does one exist?


Adelphia's product is a joke if you are serious about picture quality.

I'm so 12 years ago. I don't get this new tech.
beerme1 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 12:28 PM
Member
 
DaMutha1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: North Andover, MA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I missing something, or does this mean nothing for HDTV? Carrying a digital signal doesn't mean carry a high definition digital signal, does it?
DaMutha1 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 01:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
stovetop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes.. you are missing something.. like the entire article.
Why don't you give it a read. =/


"The committed MSOs will carry the signals of up to five commercial or public TV stations or cable networks that provide high-definition programming during at least 50 percent of their prime time schedule or a substantial portion of their broadcast week. "

john
stovetop is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-02-2002, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Forceflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ATT is upgrading their infrastructure to include broadband internet and other improvements in my area now. Anyone know if this would be included in the improvements? It has taken 4 years of promises for them to install broadband internet in the area...I dont want it to take another 4 for HDTV!

***Warning*** Do not look into laser with remaining eye!!
Forceflow is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-03-2002, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
PGHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Accokeek, MD
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The same improvements for cable Internet usually provide sufficient space for HDTV simulcarriage. However, with AT&T merging with Comcast, expect digital cable to be *required* for HDTV reception over any AT&T or Comcast system (as is the case with Comcast today).
PGHammer is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off