Diplexor Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-02-2002, 09:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tigerbacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you use a diplexor to send directv and ota digital throught the same coax. Circuit city tells me yes and my high end electronic store tells me no. Thanks

GEAUX TIGERS
tigerbacker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-02-2002, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesMH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, although not as good as two cables.
JamesMH is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-03-2002, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Belcherwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Haymarket, Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You need two diplexors. One to put the two signals together for the run into your house and a second one in the house that splits the signal back apart before you connect to your system's inputs.
Belcherwm is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-03-2002, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
turbobuick86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Whittier, Ca. USA
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most, if not all, HD STB's will separate the diplexed signal internally. You can join them outside and bring one cable into your home and into your STB.

Radio Shack has one #16-2581 for ~$20.

Terry
turbobuick86 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-03-2002, 01:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have 2 diplexors hooked to my system. One on the outside and one on the inside. I use them to get my local digital stations to my STB down one cable. They do cut signal strength from the OTA antenna but not enough to worry about assuming you have a nice strong signal. I don't see any reduction at all in my satellite reception strength.

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-07-2002, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Art Lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There have been quite a few reports of problems with diplexors. Obviously they do work but are the first place to look if problems occur. Art
Art Lloyd is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-07-2002, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
hodgear72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Fishers, IN (Indianapolis)
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didnt know the stb could seperate for me. Does it matter? Will the Huges 86 do this? I guess it would save 20 bucks.
hodgear72 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-07-2002, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
turbobuick86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Whittier, Ca. USA
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Page 4.7 of the E86 manual tells you how to use a single diplexor.
turbobuick86 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-09-2002, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
George33027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
diplexor do work, but make sure you need one.
Most STB's have 2 inputs, so you don't need a diplexor.
George33027 is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off