Greensboro, NC - HDTV - Page 104 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
MilChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I currently do not have any HD TiVo boxes, only HD receivers. (One is a Samsung SIR-TS360 and the other is a H10) I've heard you can get a free swap if you already have an HD DVR, but I'm not sure what kind of deal I can get upgrading to a HD-DVR.
MilChad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
sprdbstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would not pay anything for the HR20. Call DirecTV retention 800-824-9081. You may have to hang up and call again if you don't get the deal you are looking for. They just flat out offered it to me on the first call for free with 19.95 S&H. If I had to come up with something I would say I LOVE LOVE LOVE Directv but how can I possibly pay $400 when I can go to cable and get it for free. My wife just won't let me spend that kind of money. Get creative. Ask for programming discounts or anything to get the price down so you don't have to go to cable. If it doesn't work hang up and call back. Try this and I bet you will get it by the 5th call. Be very nice and you should be able to get it for free, everybody else is. Good Luck.
sprdbstr is offline  
post #3093 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
sprdbstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you don't feel like making a few phone calls to Directv for a free DVR at least buy from beach audio or value electronics for $299. They will start shipping on the 13th. Directv will still come install it for free. Also you can buy me a few rounds for saving you some money.
sprdbstr is offline  
post #3094 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 03:45 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

Thanks for all the useful information. For those with questions as to why DirecTV over Dish and why not cable:

1. Because of tall trees I can not get Dish and actually I wanted them some time back.

2. Last year I tried cable for like 12 hours and then switched back to my Sattelite. All non digital channels are the worst reception I have seen!!! I will NEVER go back to cable until they can give me the reception I deserve for the money I am spending.

I will be on the retention line with D*tv tonight and we will see what happens, however I think I might be on the hook for a contract already, not sure though. We will see.

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3095 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
uncrules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by itms1022 View Post

Hi guys,

Thanks for all the useful information. For those with questions as to why DirecTV over Dish and why not cable:

1. Because of tall trees I can not get Dish and actually I wanted them some time back.

2. Last year I tried cable for like 12 hours and then switched back to my Sattelite. All non digital channels are the worst reception I have seen!!! I will NEVER go back to cable until they can give me the reception I deserve for the money I am spending.

I will be on the retention line with D*tv tonight and we will see what happens, however I think I might be on the hook for a contract already, not sure though. We will see.

I thought long and hard yesterday about switching from D* to E* after D*'s TNT-HD fiasco. But I ultimately decided to stay with D* (and even bought a H20). The first and foremost reason is the fact that E*'s MPEG-4 HD-DVR only has one OTA tuner. Couple that with the fact that our market is nowhere on E*'s list of upcoming HD LiL markets and I would be stuck with only being able to record or watch one OTA channel at a time. Can't do both at the same time and can't record 2 OTA at the same time. For me that is a deal breaker since I watch more network HD than the other channels (except for maybe ESPN-HD/ESPH2-HD). As most of you all probably know, D* will roll out HD LiL here by the end of October.

Also, while the HR20's 2 OTA tuners are currently disabled, they should be active around the time we get HD LiL from D*. While E* has more HD content than either D* or TWC, D*'s long term plan with give them more capacity than E* which should translate to at least as many channels as E*.

Lastly, I would have to replace 5 receivers, which would cost a lot of money, plus my wife and 2 children know where to find their favorite channels.
uncrules is offline  
post #3096 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 07:38 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok...I spoke with rentention at D*tv...They offered me the HR20 for $150, plus 4 month of HD for free, $10 off my bill for 12 months, plus showtime for 3 months for free, and installation, and the dish...

Seems like a fair deal to me...The guy that has to do the installation will be here for at least an hour possibly 2...

What do you all think?

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3097 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
MilChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I feel confident that I can get the H10 swapped out for the H20 free of charge. My main goal is to get the new HD DVR as cheap as possible. I know it's unlikely that I'll get it free, but less than $300 would be nice. Do you think they will want to take my Samsung Sir-ts360? I got it on eBay and own the unit. I'd like to keep it if I could.
MilChad is offline  
post #3098 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
MilChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by itms1022 View Post

Ok...I spoke with rentention at D*tv...They offered me the HR20 for $150, plus 4 month of HD for free, $10 off my bill for 12 months, plus showtime for 3 months for free, and installation, and the dish...

Seems like a fair deal to me...The guy that has to do the installation will be here for at least an hour possibly 2...

What do you all think?

That's a sweet deal. I assume you are a new DirecTv customer right?
MilChad is offline  
post #3099 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 08:26 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilChad View Post

That's a sweet deal. I assume you are a new DirecTv customer right?

I have been with DirecTv for 6 years now...

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3100 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 08:34 PM
Member
 
jacksonws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was on the phone with DTV the other night....the retention department....and the CSR informed me that while there were 2 OTA antenna inputs they were not programmed to work...and won't be until an October software update....so I decided I'd wait.

Oh....only got Superfan....will try later...
jacksonws is offline  
post #3101 of 11268 Old 09-11-2006, 09:28 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksonws View Post

Was on the phone with DTV the other night....the retention department....and the CSR informed me that while there were 2 OTA antenna inputs they were not programmed to work...and won't be until an October software update....so I decided I'd wait.

Oh....only got Superfan....will try later...

How come you need the OTA if in Oct. we will get the local HD? Am I missing something?

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3102 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 03:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
sbarrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by itms1022 View Post

Ok...I spoke with rentention at D*tv...They offered me the HR20 for $150, plus 4 month of HD for free, $10 off my bill for 12 months, plus showtime for 3 months for free, and installation, and the dish...

Seems like a fair deal to me...The guy that has to do the installation will be here for at least an hour possibly 2...

What do you all think?

Are you swapping out the HR20 for another receiver, or is this a new receiver?
sbarrier is offline  
post #3103 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 05:14 AM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbarrier View Post

Are you swapping out the HR20 for another receiver, or is this a new receiver?

New

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3104 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
uncrules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by itms1022 View Post

How come you need the OTA if in Oct. we will get the local HD? Am I missing something?

Couple of reasons. For the most part, D* is only including CBS, ABC, NBC, and Fox on the spotbeams for HD LiL. A few markets have the CW in HD but I haven't heard if our market will get either the CW or My Network TV in HD from D*. I haven't heard of anybody that is getting their local PBS in HD. So if you want the CW, My Network TV or PBS in HD you will still need an OTA. Also D* won't be putting any of the sub channels on their spotbeams. That means you won't get stuff the 2.2 or 12.2 weather channels. PBS has several sub channels and 48.2 has The Tube Music Network on it. I will admit that some of these sub channels aren't worth it but I do watch channel 2's and channel 12's weather sub channels since we don't get the local Weather Channel from D*.

Then there will be those times when rain fade will knock out the channels from D* but if you have an OTA you still can watch local programming which can be very important in the case of severe weather.

Finally, while a lot of reports I've seen says that the PQ with the MPEG-4 channels is pretty good, it will never be as good as the PQ you get with an OTA antenna.
uncrules is offline  
post #3105 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
pwrmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep in mind that since CW is going to our (current) WB station, there will be no HD CW (OTA or otherwise) around here for a while.

-John
pwrmetal is offline  
post #3106 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
sprdbstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by itms1022 View Post

Ok...I spoke with rentention at D*tv...They offered me the HR20 for $150, plus 4 month of HD for free, $10 off my bill for 12 months, plus showtime for 3 months for free, and installation, and the dish...

Seems like a fair deal to me...The guy that has to do the installation will be here for at least an hour possibly 2...

What do you all think?

Pretty nice deal. Basically they are paying you $40 to get the HR20. Better deal than what I got. I believe I need to call back and get some more programming discounts!!!
sprdbstr is offline  
post #3107 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
sprdbstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilChad View Post

I feel confident that I can get the H10 swapped out for the H20 free of charge. My main goal is to get the new HD DVR as cheap as possible. I know it's unlikely that I'll get it free, but less than $300 would be nice. Do you think they will want to take my Samsung Sir-ts360? I got it on eBay and own the unit. I'd like to keep it if I could.

I traded my h20 for the hr20 for free so you should be good. You can keep the Samsung. Peace
sprdbstr is offline  
post #3108 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 02:32 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone gotten the HR20 yet in the Triad? The guy at retention seem to believe it was not out yet here...

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3109 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 03:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwrmetal View Post

Keep in mind that since CW is going to our (current) WB station, there will be no HD CW (OTA or otherwise) around here for a while.

Really? Then I guess you know something the guy who is install it doesn't know because he told me last week, all of the gear is sitting at the station awaiting installation while he installs the high power transmitter.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is offline  
post #3110 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
awursta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got off the phone with retention and am getting the HR20 with new dish and HD programming for $19.95. I have been a customer for 7yrs. They are going to move my R15 to my daughters room where I currently have an old Sony DTV reciever. I ended up having to call in about 4 different times over the course of a week to get this deal. Thanks all for all the great info!
awursta is offline  
post #3111 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
MilChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quoted from another thread:

Originally Posted by mrg2k
I am a customer in San Diego for 4 years. Called CR 800-824-9081 today and asked for an upgrade to HD. I currently own an old Phillips DVR (Tivo) with no HD, no HBO, etc. Nothing but regular programming.
The guy on the other end said I was a "good customer" for a "long time". I told him my "friends" had been "good customers" and were given the $19.95 deal. He said he'd check and sure enough, in a few minutes, he said I'd be given the $0 - pay $19.95 shipping for the whole package, HR20 and 5 LNB dish. A two year contract was mandatory, but 4 months free of HD programming (no Sunday ticket necessary).
He called the installation company to make sure they had the right equipment and verified an install in 13 days.
Thanks for this forum and all who posted - it paid off big for me.
MilChad is offline  
post #3112 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 04:53 PM
Member
 
rtisovec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too am considering D* as I now have TWC. I would love to get ESPN2HD but the others I can get on TWC. Also if the HD by satellite only has the main channels and not the subs, remember that CBS usually runs 3-4 games of March Madness at a time on the subs locally. My neighbor has D*, so I'll see how the locals are before considering a switch. Right now I get ABC by indoor antenna on a 26" samsung with a tuner. My main TV, a 50" Toshiba was bought pre-internal tuner.

Also, foxeng, I can get Fox8 in HD with an indoor tabletop antenna near Battleground and HorsePenCreek. Thanks for the power boost
rtisovec is offline  
post #3113 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 05:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtisovec View Post

Also, foxeng, I can get Fox8 in HD with an indoor tabletop antenna near Battleground and HorsePenCreek. Thanks for the power boost

Your welcome, but don't thank me. Thank the FCC!!

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is offline  
post #3114 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 05:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 37
This isn't directly HD, but the newly remastered to HD original series Star Trek from the 60's will be re-released to broadcast stations. They have gone back to the original negatives and cleaned them up and redid all of visual effects in CGI. There was no attempt to change the original effects other than to make it viewable in HD, something the original effects would not be able to pull off. (the crude and cost cutting 1960's effects would be very noticable on modern HD sets). The opening theme music has been re-recorded with the original score with a 29 piece orchestra and new wailing siren and the 1966 William Shatner monologue over it. startrek.com and YouTube both have samples of the rework and it is amazing what they have pulled off. The remade opening sequence is just like the original. The CGI Enterprise looks like the model. It would appear they have done a very good job.

This coming weekend. CBS (who owns the TV rights and Paramount owns the movie rights after the Viacom break up) hasn't released it in HD yet, but the HD remastered SD version will be broadcast on OTA stations for the first time (OTA stations are being limited to weekend runs only so not to conflict with the SciFi/G4/TVLand weekday runs) in almost 10 years with the HD version sometime in the near future, maybe next season.

WXLV and WMYV will both air the same episode in the same weekend. WXLV on Sat at 11:30 pm, on WMYV Sun 5:00 pm. According to CBS, the episodes will not air in any particular order but the speculation is on some kind of mysterious "fans favorite." First up, "Balance of Terror."

Also, Star Trek:Enterprise begins airing tomorrow night (Wednesday) on HDNet in HD.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is offline  
post #3115 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PamW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the Star Trek info, foxeng!

Pam
PamW is offline  
post #3116 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 05:53 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, calling Retention right now to see about this 19.95 deal...

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3117 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 06:18 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK...I called back the retention line and got a better rep, however the deal is the same, but the difference is I do not have to call back in 2 weeks like the rep yesterday wanted me to. The HR20 and Dish will be installed Friday.

Seems that they use a rating system to determine what specials you get. It appears I am a "3 heart" customer while those getting the 19.99 deal are "A List" clients. He was explaining to me that they have much higher monthly bills due to things like pay per view and special services like the sports packages.

Oh well...

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3118 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 06:21 PM
Member
 
itms1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. are there different channel numbers for the local channels that are HD and those that are not?

OR

2. Do you watch one channel and if the show/event is broadcast in HD then you see it in HD?

3. Also, I understand that there are dedicated stations like Showtime HD, ESPN HD, etc... that are full HD all of the time. However what if I am watching a station that is not always HD and at the bottom of some shows it says broadcasted in HD where available...Do I then see it in HD?

Thanks

BenQ 7700PE (unreal)
HR20 (Pretty cool so far)
Pioneer vsx-815-k (gets the job done)
Polk rti10, csi5, fxi5, psw505 (they rock)
crappy sony dvd for now :(
itms1022 is offline  
post #3119 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 06:29 PM
Member
 
jacksonws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by itms1022 View Post

OK, calling Retention right now to see about this 19.95 deal...

Any luck?
jacksonws is offline  
post #3120 of 11268 Old 09-12-2006, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
MilChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by itms1022 View Post

1. are there different channel numbers for the local channels that are HD and those that are not?

OR

2. Do you watch one channel and if the show/event is broadcast in HD then you see it in HD?

3. Also, I understand that there are dedicated stations like Showtime HD, ESPN HD, etc... that are full HD all of the time. However what if I am watching a station that is not always HD and at the bottom of some shows it says broadcasted in HD where available...Do I then see it in HD?

Thanks

1) The main channel numbers are the same except for the -1, -2 etc are the HD channels and other sub channels. For example, 45 on my HD receiver is ABC over satellite, while 45-1 is the same channel OTA in HD. You can really see the time lapse when you switch between the two. (OTA is a few seconds faster).
2) If the show is offered in HD, I watch it in HD, no doubt about it.
3) Yes there are dedicated channels for HD 24/7 like HBO and Showtime. Not to mention ESPN 1 and 2, Universal HD, Discovery, HD Net, HD Net movies, and TNT.
If you see "broadcasted in HD where available" I guarantee you'll get it in HD as long as you can tune the channel. The only time I can think of that it might go out of HD is if there is a severe weather alert or something like that.

Hope this helps. I love DirecTV, and you will too if you decide to go with them. All the channels are digital and put most of the analog channels that TWC offers to shame.
MilChad is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off