Greensboro, NC - HDTV - Page 375 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11221 of 11242 Old 06-07-2014, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post

I'm just glad to see the Royals get some TV airtime. I'm not so fond of the Yankees, but there are a lot of New York transplants all up and down the east coast, so no TV network is going to turn its back on such a large audience.

Then why advertise it? The OTA, TWC, Directv, and Dish guides as well as all online guides I found show Red Sox @ Tigers showing on WGHP. Yet, last second - Yankees. There are many Red Sox fans in NC.

 

 

Maybe there was some law passed making today New York Day on network TV.

The Yankees were on FOX in prime time, and NBC had the Belmont Stakes followed by the NY Rangers playing in the Stanley Cup finals.

veedon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11222 of 11242 Old 06-08-2014, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post

I'm just glad to see the Royals get some TV airtime. I'm not so fond of the Yankees, but there are a lot of New York transplants all up and down the east coast, so no TV network is going to turn its back on such a large audience.

Then why advertise it? The OTA, TWC, Directv, and Dish guides as well as all online guides I found show Red Sox @ Tigers showing on WGHP. Yet, last second - Yankees. There are many Red Sox fans in NC.

We are given a list of games we would "prefer" to air. It is ultimately up to FOX and MLB which game we air. We have no say in the final decision.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #11223 of 11242 Old 06-14-2014, 12:41 PM
Member
 
amos1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was WGHP's o-t-a signal off or possibly on a lower power for a bit this afternoon? (saturday 6/14). of course antenna reception isn't perfect, but for a while i couldn't get ANY signal. a couple of hours later i tried again and it's as strong as ever now. i live in rural hall, attic mounted cm (original) 4221 with a booster amp and a rotor.
amos1001 is offline  
post #11224 of 11242 Old 06-14-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by amos1001 View Post
was WGHP's o-t-a signal off or possibly on a lower power for a bit this afternoon? (saturday 6/14). of course antenna reception isn't perfect, but for a while i couldn't get ANY signal. a couple of hours later i tried again and it's as strong as ever now. i live in rural hall, attic mounted cm (original) 4221 with a booster amp and a rotor.
From 11:10am to 3:20pm we were operating on our standby antenna as we were doing tower light maintenance on the lights at the antenna level.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #11225 of 11242 Old 06-14-2014, 02:32 PM
Member
 
amos1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post
From 11:10am to 3:20pm we were operating on our standby antenna as we were doing tower light maintenance on the lights at the antenna level.
ahhh, makes sense. thanks foxeng!
amos1001 is offline  
post #11226 of 11242 Old 06-23-2014, 10:40 PM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
WMYV to get getTV on a subchannel soon:

http://www.tvtechnology.com/news/008...tations/271009

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
post #11227 of 11242 Old 06-24-2014, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
WGPX is gone OTA and from Directv. Anyone know what happened?
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11228 of 11242 Old 06-24-2014, 03:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It is still on my HR20.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #11229 of 11242 Old 06-24-2014, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
"no need to call us" slide is on Ch 16 on my HR34 and there is no signal OTA. WGPX and WUNC are my strongest signals, usually nearly 100%.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11230 of 11242 Old 06-25-2014, 03:14 PM
Newbie
 
JayCeeNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use OTA and I lost ION network on Channel 16 as well.
JayCeeNC is offline  
post #11231 of 11242 Old 06-26-2014, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
It's back now.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11232 of 11242 Old 06-26-2014, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
JayCeeNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I see it is. Thanks.
JayCeeNC is offline  
post #11233 of 11242 Old 06-28-2014, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
This needs to be resolved. It's simply unacceptable. I don't want to hear excuses about Fox sending what they want - someone somewhere needs to fix this. It happens FAR FAR FAR too often. It does happen with other Fox stations, but not nearly as much as WGHP. At least WRAZ is showing the advertised game.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 20140628_203629.jpeg (465.9 KB, 11 views)
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11234 of 11242 Old 06-28-2014, 07:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Greensboro, NC - HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post
This needs to be resolved. It's simply unacceptable. I don't want to hear excuses about Fox sending what they want - someone somewhere needs to fix this. It happens FAR FAR FAR too often. It does happen with other Fox stations, but not nearly as much as WGHP. At least WRAZ is showing the advertised game.
Ok, since you didn't understand me the last time you DEMANDED action, let me put this as bluntly as possible, WE CAN ONLY BROADCAST THE GAME FOX SENDS US BECAUSE WE DO NOT HAVE ANY CONTROL TO CHANGE WHAT THEY SEND US.

My suggestion to you would be to contact FOX and complain to them. We have told them what game we would like to have. Beyond that request, it is totally up to them and MLB.

Got it? Good.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.

Last edited by foxeng; 06-28-2014 at 07:36 PM.
foxeng is online now  
post #11235 of 11242 Old 06-28-2014, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Hey, any baseball game is better than World Cup soccer. And it's nice to know that at least a little bit of MLB still exists on broadcast TV instead of on ESPN. TV broadcasts of MLB began 75 years ago in NYC, but every year more and more games move over to cable.

I do wish the baseball players would learn how to wear their socks correctly, though, instead of having the pant legs go all the way down to the tops of their shoes.

Last edited by veedon; 06-28-2014 at 07:37 PM.
veedon is offline  
post #11236 of 11242 Old 06-28-2014, 08:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post
Ok, since you didn't understand me the last time you DEMANDED action, let me put this as bluntly as possible, WE CAN ONLY BROADCAST THE GAME FOX SENDS US BECAUSE WE DO NOT HAVE ANY CONTROL TO CHANGE WHAT THEY SEND US.

My suggestion to you would be to contact FOX and complain to them. We have told them what game we would like to have. Beyond that request, it is totally up to them and MLB.

Got it? Good.
They say to contact the local affiliate. I emailed them before I posted here, maybe I'll hear back, maybe I won't. They have said previously that the local affiliates chose and they give them what they ask for. They gave NFL games as an example, but said that the MLB is similar. I tried to find the email, but it's been a while and I can't find it.

I get the same run around when I inquire as to why I can't watch "local" games on my phone with the Sunday Ticket package. They say that the local affiliates are responsible for providing an online stream of the games that are on Sunday Ticket. WFMY said that streaming is available with Directv's Sunday Ticket option. I got nothing from WGHP, WRAL/WRAZ. Not helpful.

Got the game? Yes. Thanks to not Fox 8.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11237 of 11242 Old 06-28-2014, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I can certainly understand why FOX wants to reserve the right to make changes to its regional slate of Saturday baseball games on fairly short notice.

When the tentative slate was announced in February, the Braves-Phillies game was not even on the schedule for June 28. An April 15 game between the two teams was postponed, and I think that is what caused today's day-night doubleheader to be scheduled.

The Braves are currently tied with the Washington Nationals for first place in the NL East. That may have influenced the decision to bump Red Sox - Yankees and go with Phillies-Braves instead.

Here in Raleigh, there is less interest in the Braves than in Greensboro, and there are more transplants from the northeast, so maybe that's why FOX chose to give WRAZ the Yankees game.

The FOX contract is big money. The affiliates may have some input, but the final say has to belong to the network.

Everybody's a critic. Some people ask why the whole state of Missouri did not get to see the Cardinals game. But some people in western Missouri might be Royals fans, and since the Royals were not on the slate, they would prefer to see an AL game rather than the Cardinals-Dodgers matchup.

http://www.cbssports.com/mlb/eye-on-...-broadcast-map
veedon is offline  
post #11238 of 11242 Old 06-29-2014, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
I can certainly understand why FOX wants to reserve the right to make changes to its regional slate of Saturday baseball games on fairly short notice.

When the tentative slate was announced in February, the Braves-Phillies game was not even on the schedule for June 28. An April 15 game between the two teams was postponed, and I think that is what caused today's day-night doubleheader to be scheduled.

The Braves are currently tied with the Washington Nationals for first place in the NL East. That may have influenced the decision to bump Red Sox - Yankees and go with Phillies-Braves instead.

Here in Raleigh, there is less interest in the Braves than in Greensboro, and there are more transplants from the northeast, so maybe that's why FOX chose to give WRAZ the Yankees game.

The FOX contract is big money. The affiliates may have some input, but the final say has to belong to the network.

Everybody's a critic. Some people ask why the whole state of Missouri did not get to see the Cardinals game. But some people in western Missouri might be Royals fans, and since the Royals were not on the slate, they would prefer to see an AL game rather than the Cardinals-Dodgers matchup.

http://www.cbssports.com/mlb/eye-on-...-broadcast-map
It doesn't bother me that WGHP showed the "wrong" game - in the long run it benefited me because I got both games. Technically, WGHP SHOULD have shown the Braves game since Greensboro is in the Braves local area and the Braves are not. It must be horrible to like MLB and live in Raleigh with TWC - no local teams! MASN isn't carried so you can't watch the Nats and O's and the Braves and Reds territories each seem to stop at the DMA line, from what I have been able to figure out.

It bothers me that WGHP continually does this and everyone blames someone else. Someone somewhere can fix this and clearly people would rather play the blame game than do something about it. WGHP should just put "MLB Baseball" in the guide because whatever they're doing now isn't working.

At least we don't live in Columbia, SC. Using the logic of NL East standing, WRAZ probably SHOULD have shown the Cubs - Nats game since the Nats are a "local" team. Luckily, no one cares about them.

Last edited by ejb1980; 06-29-2014 at 06:51 AM.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11239 of 11242 Old 06-29-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I understand your frustration about sports coverage, but it does sound like WGHP has no choice in the matter, and must air what FOX sends to them. So not really their fault. I don't know if WHNS and WJZY show the same games or have different options. But WBTV and WSPA often air different NFL games during football season, so it can be nice at times to have a choice.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11240 of 11242 Old 06-30-2014, 10:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
In trying to get to the bottom on what the true story is on the MLB game situation, it is starting to look like TWC's EPG provider is having some issue since we have confirmed that the games listed in their EPG was not what was on our OTA EPG, which comes from Tribune Media. We have a call into TWC now to find out what the deal is. When we find out, I will let you know. We have just started to scratch the surface.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #11241 of 11242 Old 07-01-2014, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Directv, Dish, and others get their info from Tribune, too. All providers I saw listed the Red Sox/Yankees game in the guide on WGHP. Disclaimer: I can't confirm U-Verse or Comcast. All online sites I saw also showed the Red Sox/Yankees game. I forgot to check the "Real" ota signal, only what the AM21 listings said, but that doesn't count since it's from Directv.

GetTV is now on WMYV 48-2. Directv users, I got 48-2 to appear in my guide, but it's completely off (showing KTBN 48-2 instead of WMYV 48-2). Can anyone else see accurate information for 48-2 so I can determine if it's worth resetting the stupid thing?

A while ago, I forced KTBN into my AM21 so that 40-3 and 40-4 would appear on my guide, although with incorrect guide data. KTBN is the TBN affiliate for Los Angeles. KTBN and WMYV share RF33, so I suspect that is the reason I am seeing it incorrectly.

Last edited by ejb1980; 07-01-2014 at 09:28 AM.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11242 of 11242 Old 07-01-2014, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I think all of the Sinclair stations have now picked up the getTV. As it has now appeared on WMYA 40.2 in the GSP/Asheville market. Which is good as I seldom see WAXN 64.2 from Charlotte. So I am now pleased to be getting a good selection of movie channels, as well as MeTV on WSPA 7.2. I now also get Movies! network on WJZY 46.2, and ThisTV on 4.2 and 55.2. But I am now mssing Antenna TV, but I hope some other station will pick it up.
tylerSC is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off