close captioning on HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-08-2002, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Arlington TN
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
as a hearing impaired person, i am very interested in the status of CC on hdtv. does anyone have this capability on their hi-def stations?

Memphis Home Builder
rjhseven is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-08-2002, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeanKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. Several of the digital stations in the San Francisco Bay Area include closed captioning in their broadcasts.

Sean Kelly / Independent Consultant
http://www.seankelly.tv/
SeanKelly is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-08-2002, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
RickRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach. FL
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The two stations I receive in my area have CC (NBC and PBS). The odd thing - the PBS station's CC doesn't work when they are passing the PBS National HDTV feed about 7-10 pm, but the simulcast of their analog programming from 7 am to 7 pm has captions working fine.

Rick Steverson

Surely you didn't make the mistake of thinking I know what I'm talking about?!!
RickRS is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-08-2002, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOIN is the only station in Portland, OR providing Closed Captioning on all program services, HD and SD.
Lee Wood is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-08-2002, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gerald C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also keep in mind that many of the STBs (including the Dish 6000) do not [yet?] support closed captioning. CC is invoked in a completely different way with DTV; i.e. it's no longer part of the VBI.

Gerald C
Gerald C is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-08-2002, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeanKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, good point to note. I can confirm that closed caption display works on the Samsung SIR-T150.

Sean Kelly / Independent Consultant
http://www.seankelly.tv/
SeanKelly is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-09-2002, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
RickRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach. FL
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am also using a Samsung SIR-T150. Like you, I'm hearing impaired, so I had a similiar question about CC. I heard from some other users that the RCA DTC100 and the Toshiba DS3000 work with CC. No idea which STB won't work with CC.

Rick

Rick Steverson

Surely you didn't make the mistake of thinking I know what I'm talking about?!!
RickRS is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off