HDTV in Antioch Calif.? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-09-2002, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bassone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My brother has moved to Antioch and would like to know
if he would be able to get any HDTV there. He has asked the some of his Neighbors and they just look stupid at him.
He lives off Lone Tree up the hill from Hwy 4.
I have found that the Sacramento Towers are in Walnut Grove
about 22 miles up the Delta and Sutro towers are
about 36 miles away. I belive he is in line of sight
from Walnut Grove but has some hills blocking Sutro.
Anybody receiving HDTV out there in his area?
Antioch, Oakley, Brentwood, Pittsburgh ect.
and which locations can you receive from?

Thanks for all your help,
Bassone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-09-2002, 05:15 PM
Member
 
glgorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Martinez, Ca
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See the following thread. I'm in Martinez and get everything most of the time. Dont know if you will have any success with any of the Sutro stations, but Sacramento should not be a problem.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=118015

No warranty is either expressed or implied. The universe is a figment of its own imagination. Your milage may vary. Not responsible for lost homework, missed bus transfers, or forgetting to buy a lottery ticket the day they run your birthday. Have fun.

Have spectrum analyzer, will travel.
glgorman is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-10-2002, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bassone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply. Looks like the Sacramento
stations are the way to go. No use fooling around with
trying to get Sutro with those hills to the west of his
house. It would just give him some ill feelings about HDTV.
He wants me to go to his house and set up an STB and Antenna
to varify signal levels before he spends the money.

Thanks,
Bassone is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-13-2002, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I live in Antioch off of Wildhorse. I've been getting good signals from Sacramento for ABC-CBS-NBC but Fox goes in and out. Can't get anything from Sutro. Currently, I'm just using a Radio Shack set of amplified rabbit ears with adjustable gain. I have a Yagi style antenna in my attic,but it's too directionally sensitive and there's no room for a rotator. The wife say's noway to a roof top.
mbroder is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-14-2002, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bassone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mbroder thanks.

I think he may be in the same boat, as the wife isn't
to thrilled about a roof top. I think I will set antenna up
inside just to see if he can get any signals. He does
live up the hill so hopefully that will help.
How did you mount your attic Yagi?
I did not think he would be able to get anything from
Sutro, too many hills right outside his door to the west.
Is FOX antenna located in Walnut Grove also?
How much are those Shack rabbit ears?

Thanks,
Bassone is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-14-2002, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I,ve got a very large attic space and was able to mount a Yagi with a 100" boom, but it can only rotate about 1 foot before hitting a support beam. The rabbit ears are model #ATV1000 from Rad Shack. I think I paid $29.95. I'm not sure exactly where the Fox tower is from Sac. Fortunately, I have 2 antenna inputs I can switch between, so I have both hooked up. It's a little bit of a pain to have to swicth back and forth, but you get used to it. I doubt my wife ever will.

Good Luck
mbroder is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-14-2002, 09:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All of the Sacramento TV stations analog and digital with the exception of channel 29 (PAX) broadcast from towers near Walnut Grove.

Rory
KXTV
Sacramento

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off