Anyone in Akron Ohio with a OTA STB? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-13-2002, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrCrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wondering what channels anyone in Akron Ohio is getting with a OTA STB, maybe can offer some help even?


Mr. Crowley
Akron, OH
MrCrowley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-14-2002, 07:05 AM
Member
 
KenNEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live about 20 miles south of Akron, but I work in downtown Akron. At my home I can get digital versions of 3, 5, 8, 19. 43 is just starting to come on the air, but I have not been able to get it the last few days. Also, in the last few days, channel 3 has started multi-casting. On digital channel 3.1 they have HDTV, on 3.2 they have the normal channel, and on 3.3 they have radar. This seems like a very, very bad idea, because it is decreasing the quality of the 3.1 HDTV channel.

I have an outside antenna about 20 ft. up.

Anything else you want to know?
KenNEO is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-14-2002, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrCrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That about sums it up, thanks Ken.

43 seems to back on the air today, some breakups but is working now. Far as channel 3 the format changed some, it fills the 16x9 screen a bit better now and seems to have cleared up a little.

PBS emailed me back today and said sometime mid-2003 they might be on air with their DTV broadcast, I guess thems the channels we will get for now.

TWC has an appointment to bring a HDTV cable box today so will see if that works out, if not we are gonna just drop cable altogether, easy getting spoiled with the DTV even with a limited number of shows sure cuts down channel surf time realising there aint nothing on TV-heheh


Thanks again Ken for replying.

Mr. Crowley
MrCrowley is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-14-2002, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrCrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Uhm, not sure if its the sampo 34" or maybe the squirrels chewing on the wires but this hd cable box from twc is horrible, definitely not worth the wait. I think I better stick to OTA and DVD till a better box is available, unless DSS is all that and a bag a chips.

Mr. Crowley
MrCrowley is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off