Colorado Springs, CO - HDTV - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 6840 Old 06-18-2003, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never seen burn in on a direct view, and I've left DVD on menu screens for over 24 hours sometimes etc(and games on pause for a long period of time too)... I think that's very rare. I don't worry about burn-in on direct view.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 6840 Old 06-18-2003, 07:32 PM
Member
 
MikeP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no idea what the signal strength is. As I mentioned before, I know how to see the signal strength of the D* dish, but I have no idea how to measure the signal strength with the OTA on the Panny HDS20.

Also, it looks like the TV55 is a newer version of the TV50, so maybe they have improved it since then. It was $99 from SoundTrack though.
MikeP is offline  
post #303 of 6840 Old 06-19-2003, 08:16 PM
Member
 
MikeP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got home and turned on the HT. Now, I'm still new to this CBS HD schedule, but isn't CSI supposed to be in HD? I'm getting the stretched 4:3 picture.
MikeP is offline  
post #304 of 6840 Old 06-19-2003, 08:38 PM
Member
 
MikeP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, this is really creepy. CSI magically fixed itself. It's in HD now. Someone at KTTV must be watching this forum thread.
MikeP is offline  
post #305 of 6840 Old 06-20-2003, 01:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I've caught them doing some shady things lately like you (MikeP) just described.

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ here!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is online now  
post #306 of 6840 Old 06-24-2003, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I just spoke with Mike Dunlap at KXRM, and he said that we should see a test signal being broadcast from noon to midnight starting next week. He said that once they work the bugs out, they will probably maintain the 1200-0000 schedule for some time (which is really not that big of a deal, since the network feed doesn't provide any so-called "high resolution" broadcasts until prime-time). He also said that they will be broadcasting in low power, but that anyone in the Springs area should be able to receive them without any problem.

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ here!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is online now  
post #307 of 6840 Old 06-25-2003, 12:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
For shites and giggles, I fired off an email to Mike Dunlap with the New York Times article regarding Fox's 720p rollout next year to see how he'll respond. After all, seems like they'll have a headache on their hands if they start broadcasting 1080i now, when a year from now they'll have to switch to 720p.

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ here!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is online now  
post #308 of 6840 Old 06-25-2003, 12:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Them upconverting to 720p is fine by me. Better then 480p to 1080i :-)

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #309 of 6840 Old 06-25-2003, 12:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Vaggeto, when the network feed goes to 720p next year, they won't have to upconvert.

http://www.nytimes.com/2003/06/25/bu...partner=GOOGLE

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ here!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is online now  
post #310 of 6840 Old 06-25-2003, 12:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see.
I meant if they only had the current equipment that is ready to do1080i.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #311 of 6840 Old 06-25-2003, 12:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Proponents say this format, which sends a complete picture 60 times a second, does a better job of reproducing the fast movements of sports. Both NBC and CBS transmit their HDTV programs using the interlaced 1080i format, which alternates sending odd and even lines, and thus sends a complete picture 30 times a second."

More like sends a complete picture 30 times a second, and 1080i sends half a complete, higher resolution picture 60 times a second.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #312 of 6840 Old 06-26-2003, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TallGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do any of you get program information (like the name and description of the show) on KKTV-DT? The guide screen for my Samsung receiver just says "Regular Programming" and I want to make sure that reason for the lack of info is on KKTV's end. If so, hopefully KKTV will add that to the digital signal later.
TallGuy is offline  
post #313 of 6840 Old 06-26-2003, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Yeah, KKTV hasn't figured out how to include proper PSIP data in their transmission.

Call them and let them know you'd like to see it.

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ here!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is online now  
post #314 of 6840 Old 06-26-2003, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No guide data is a pain. I noticed channel 51 local was somehow on my channel list and it has guide data. I had never seen the channel before, but it was analog local.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #315 of 6840 Old 07-01-2003, 01:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tested Sunday and today for Fox digital, and got nothing. Anyone else try yet?

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #316 of 6840 Old 07-01-2003, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TallGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Fox -- but I just activated the new DirecTV package of HD channels. $10.99 a month gets HDNet (again but for 24 hours a day this time), HDNet Movies, Discovery HD, and ESPN-HD. Does not include HBO-HD or Showtime-HD. This morning early they're not showing anything too exciting - will have to check back tonight. SportsCenter does not appear to be stretched too much, maybe a little. Of course the sources for their clips have to be 4:3.

We're gradually getting choices in HD in Colorado Springs.
TallGuy is offline  
post #317 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tested fox at 3:30 and it was in on 21-1! My signal strength is 93-100 for KKTV, and a constant 100 for channel local 22 which is Fox. They are upconverting Judge Mathis without stretching it currently.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #318 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and BTW: There is no signal for UPN.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #319 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TallGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. My antenna, which is not in an optimum location in my lower level, picks up KKTV at only 69% but no Fox signal at all as of 3:55 this afternoon. Guess I'm going to have to work on moving the antenna up to the space over the garage on one of these 100 degree days!

Vaggeto, what part of town are you in?
TallGuy is offline  
post #320 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
South Carefree and Murray, or Maizeland and Murray.

Up the hill on the other side of Academy from Palmer Park.

The only thing in the view of the antenna from my roof is a good sized tree about 3 houses down from me.

I'll go recheck my signal.

You might want to try moving the antenna by hand. When using old bunny ears, I would get 0 or 100 signal strength from my living room depending on the position of it.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #321 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm now getting a 65-72 on both stations.

I have no idea why my signal occasionally drops like this on KKTV.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #322 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
royrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I rescanned with my integra tuner. It easily picks up all analog channels and KKTV-DT. Anybody else getting getting Fox digital?

Roy
royrose is online now  
post #323 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Hurricane looks to be is 16:9. It fills the whole screen, and doesn't look stretched compared to the regular Fox, but the camera changes so much it is hard to have a good comparison yet. I didn't see an "available in Fox Enhanced Definition" logo or anything.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #324 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having trouble seeing if it's wider. It's pretty good quality, about DVD.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #325 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I think I figured it out... there is definently top and bottom information missing, and it doesn't appear to be any wider the the 4x3 version.

So they cropped the 4x3 version into widescreen, so you lose top and bottom, but get a full widescreen picture.

The fox logo is towards the middle compared to the analog station, and they put thier own FOX21 logo on it for a few seconds occasionally.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #326 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
royrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I am getting it now. I had to program that channel in specifically. It does look quite good, very clean and clear but not as sharp as CSI. It is nice to be able to compare two digital stations in Colorado Springs.

Roy
royrose is online now  
post #327 of 6840 Old 07-03-2003, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yah, but remember... CSI is true HD. This is 480i/480p. I'm not sure what format they're sending in, but for me it's upconvrted to 1080i.

I would say it's the quality of a DVD that was zoomed as this movie is. If it was 1.85, or 2.35, it would be much clearer.

One thing I'll mention... The upconverted regular programming didn't have much of an improvement over the analog like KKTV does. The colors didn't improve etc like they do for me when comparing KKTV analog vs. digital.
They have been Very good at not taking it back to SD during the movie though. Commericals are all 4x3 non-stretched, and the movie is always 16x9.

EDIT:

Anyone else seeing the sync problem with audio? It's off by a little bit, just enough to bother me.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #328 of 6840 Old 07-07-2003, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
royrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Manitou Springs, CO
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are on again today. They are not stretching 4x3 material. I also like that they are being honest in lableing their channel KXRM-SD!. On the downside, I am experiencing lip sync being off.

Does anyone know where there is a list of which Fox shows are in widescreen 480p?

Roy
royrose is online now  
post #329 of 6840 Old 07-07-2003, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The audio was off a bit Thursday too.

I figure they didn't come back on until today because Friday was July 4th, and then the weekend with possibly different workers.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #330 of 6840 Old 07-11-2003, 06:36 PM
Member
 
MikeP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting KXRM tonight here near Norad (channel 22). But I'm not getting anything from KTTV...just a black screen. I don't have any way to measure signal strength, so I can't tell if they are off the air, or if I'm just not receiving. Probably time to move my TV55 antenna outside instead of it's below-par basement location.

I just got my Sat-C kit and need to hook that up to get the D* HD package. Wow, it's like Christmas with all of these new channels!
MikeP is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off