Newbie Needs Help...Please Zenith Reciever - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-18-2002, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dbears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of hooking up my new Zenith receiver and I seem to be running into a snag. I haven't hooked up the dish yet, only the OTA signal. I have a strong signal on all the digital channels. Unfortunately, when I switch to 1080i on the Zenith, I lose the video. Any solutions?

Thanks,

Mike
dbears is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-18-2002, 02:37 PM
Member
 
sfmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What output are you using on the Zenith? The 1080i will only work on the component or RGB outputs. Does your TV accept 1080? Panasonics don't.
sfmartin is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-18-2002, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dbears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the component cables connected out of the Zenith. I've tried other cables and it still didn't work.
dbears is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-18-2002, 04:11 PM
Member
 
sfmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What setting *does* give you a picture?
sfmartin is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-18-2002, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dbears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can only get a picture on the 480i setting. Do you have a Zenith receiver also?
dbears is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-19-2002, 12:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tony Chick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Zenith does not output 480i through the component outputs at all, so if you are seeing video on that setting it is via the S-Video or Composite output. Check your cabling, and make sure that the TV input settings are really set to the component input and not the S-Video, RF or composite.

Tony
Tony Chick is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-19-2002, 06:37 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 225
If you're not seeing anything through the component cables, you might have the component/RGB switch set to RGB. But it does sound like you're only using the composite video and not the Y-Pb-Pr outputs.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-19-2002, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dbears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much for all your help. I had the green and blue component cables reversed. Today I'll complete the wiring of the dish and aligning all three satellite. Wish me luck. :rolleyes:

Thanks again.

Mike
dbears is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off