FOX KTXL Sacramento is Down? Or just rain fade? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-19-2002, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Getting very jumpy reception, if any at all. Stays at Zero for minutes at a time, then jumps to 50% or 75% for a half a second, then gone again.

Anyone one else?

Guess I'll have to check the weather for tonights big X-Files Finale.

Hammer
hammerdwn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-19-2002, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Receiving 40.1 fine down here in Stockton.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-19-2002, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 39
3-1 89%
10-1 83%
13-1 87%
40-1 00%

Hammer
hammerdwn is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 05-19-2002, 09:36 PM
Member
 
JarredInTheHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problems for me in Stockton.
JarredInTheHouse is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-19-2002, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Mike KE6HDV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching the 10 o'clock news on KTXL, no problem signal is usually between 82-85 depending on conditions.
Mike KE6HDV is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-20-2002, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Very strange. Must have been weather related. The signal did slowly come back, and by 8p it was at normal levels with only an occasional drop out.

Hammer
hammerdwn is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-20-2002, 09:28 PM
Member
 
SteveD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Granite Bay, CA USA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the weather is awful tonight, but ZERO signal on all 4 channels? I usually get 100 signal strength from Granite Bay. I'm concerned that something else is wrong... maybe water on the coax or something? My analog reception is also very snowy - barely a picture on 31, 40, or 58.

Thanks,
SteveD
SteveD is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-21-2002, 12:06 AM
Member
 
SteveD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Granite Bay, CA USA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, one problem solved - I had a loose coax connector going from my pre-amp power supply to my tuner.

But, still no digital reception on 3 of the 4 Sacramento stations. My current signal strengths from my DST-3000 at 12 midnight on Monday (still raining, but it's let up quite a bit):

13-1 (dig. 25): 100
3-1 (dig 35): 15-18
40-1 (dig 55): 0-6
10-1 (dig 61): 0-6

Any ideas? I just moved to the area and this is the first storm I've had since I moved. If this is weather related, I'm very bummed. Funny thing is, I moved from Pleasanton and, although my reception was much weaker overall I didn't seem to notice much weather interference.

By the way, my reception in general has been excellent. 100 signal strength almost all the time on all 4 stations. On some evenings, I even get SF stations, and I'm probably 100 miles away!

My antenna set-up is CM 4228 (8way bowtie) with a CM 7775 pre-amp connected to a DST-3000.

Thanks!
SteveD
SteveD is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-21-2002, 12:34 AM
Newbie
 
bigsmoniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Antioch,Ca USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At the position I used to recieve KXTL-10, I now get two Channel KOVR-13's. This has been going on for a week or so.
bigsmoniz is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-21-2002, 12:50 AM
Newbie
 
bigsmoniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Antioch,Ca USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's try this again. In the space I used to recieve KXTV-10, I now get a duplecate of Channel KOVR-13. This is coming off the Dish system with the 6000 and the over the air modual. As I said, this has been going on for a little over a week.
Anyone else having this problem? Is there a way to reset the 6000?
bigsmoniz is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-23-2002, 12:53 PM
Member
 
bnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Folsom, CA, USA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SteveD,
Try without the preamp -- I get 90-100% with the same antenna in Folsom.
Byas
bnam is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off