Milwaukee stations in lincolnwood? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-10-2012, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ngnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read that it's possible to pull in Milwaukee stations in lincolnwood, but seems to be more of a sales pitch. Folks here know their stuff...so is it possible? If so, what would recommended setup be? Thanks in advance. PS: have 2 story house so 30' high setup is doable.
Ngnr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-10-2012, 08:30 PM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Post a TVfool report http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29

but going by a general TVfool look-up of Lincolnwood you shoudn't have any issues.
BCF68 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-10-2012, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You should ask in the appropriate message thread, in this case Chicago, IL - OTA . Check this message for more info on how we organize and post messages here.

Flicks? Here's
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. And I've
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 07-11-2012, 03:59 AM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post

You should ask in the appropriate message thread, in this case Chicago, IL - OTA . Check this message for more info on how we organize and post messages here.

Since he was asking about Milwaukee stations I assume he lived in Wisconsin.
BCF68 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-11-2012, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ngnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks all. Appreciate the advice. I'll switch to the Milwaukee firm, sorry about that.
Ngnr is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-11-2012, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF68 View Post

Since he was asking about Milwaukee stations I assume he lived in Wisconsin.

He lives in Lincolnwood, IL, a nearby northern suburb of Chicago, near Evanston & Skokie.


To the OP, it is possible to pull in Milwaukee stations. However, since you live close to Chicago, it will be a challenge to get some stations, since some Chicago translators & other LPTV stations broadcast on the same RF channels as some full power Milwaukee stations. If you want to try, you need a deep fringe VHF-HI/UHF antenna & a pre-amp, & only use that antenna for Milwaukee stations. The UHF end must be pointed toward Milwaukee. For Chicago stations, you need a much smaller VHF-Hi/UHF antenna & no pre-amp pointed somewhere between the John Hancock & Sears Tower (or point at just the Sears Tower, since WYCC is the only full power English language station that broadcasts from the John Hancock (WGBO is the other full power station broadcasting from the John Hancock, but in Spanish). You'd join both antennas into an A/.B switch. Depending on the converter box or TV tuner, you might have to rescan everytime you switch antennas.
dave73 is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off