Obsolete Antenna? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 45 Old 09-01-2012, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello - I am in the process of purchasing a home and have had this place inspected by the city inspector. The city inspector indicated that I need to "remove obsolete antennae(s) and obsolete wiring".

I am no expert in OTA and antennas. However, even if this place didn't have an antenna I was looking to have one installed as I've heard good things about local OTA reception in the area.

I'm wondering if anyone could look at the three pictures that I've posted of the antenna and indicate if it is "obsolete". If it isn't obsolete, if you could provide me some information on the type of antenna so I could go back to the city inspector to inform them of this, that would be appreciated.

My goal will be to get OTA HDTV channels.

Thanks for your help,

Pulper
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 Old 09-01-2012, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 26
Well it would have helped us, if you would tell us where you're at. (City/State would be sufficient) This way, we could tell you what TV market you're in, &/or what signals are available in your area. wink.gif
Barring that, hell NO it's NOT "obsolete" - obviously that "inspector" does know $hit about OTA TV reception, or that you CAN still do this in the "digital age"! rolleyes.gif
I can tell it's an all-band (full VHF/UHF) antenna - so regardless of your TV market, it WILL pull in any (frequency) OTA TV signals.
It looks like one of the larger antenna models, & looks relatively new. What kind of lead-in (cabling) is coming down from it - as long as it's (newer) coax, it should be good.
Obviously there is NO rotator, so I assume that your local TV signals come from 1 direction. (but you know when you "assume"...)
I do not see a pre-amp - but again, depending on your location, one may know be needed.