Omaha / Lincoln, NE - HDTV - Page 324 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9691 of 9703 Old 05-26-2015, 04:41 PM
Member
 
advcomp2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Western Iowa
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Miller View Post
Chubby, old guy in Omaha, Nebraska

What do you have for an antenna setup to reach Sioux City Stations from Omaha?
I grew up in Sioux City (I know, I'm sorry for me too!) and would like to get their "local" information sometimes. ... or of course watch the Bears instead of the Packers or Vikings. I'm just in the process of trying OTA, does not look like you need much to get the local stations, but I would like to get Sioux City Stations ... Des Moines would be nice too

Unfortunately I'm actually in Papillion, just south of Omaha, so that probably is not going to help me. On the plus side we are on top of a hill, and I can see the woodman building and much of downtown omaha from my roof.

Chubby, old guy in Papillion, Nebraska
To get the Sioux City channels will be really really hard unless the TV bands are open or you would need a system that will work around 100+ miles. Even with a good antenna where I live, it is hard to keep 15 and 42 from Omaha in while it is windy, and I am about 60 miles north of the Omaha and about 35 miles south of Sioux City.
advcomp2019 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9692 of 9703 Old 05-27-2015, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
JoelWNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
To get the Sioux City channels will be really really hard unless the TV bands are open or you would need a system that will work around 100+ miles. Even with a good antenna where I live, it is hard to keep 15 and 42 from Omaha in while it is windy, and I am about 60 miles north of the Omaha and about 35 miles south of Sioux City.
You're going to need something like this: http://www.channelmaster.com/Digital..._p/cm-2020.htm
Even then, no guarantees. It might get Sioux City channels one day and not the next, or part of a day and not the next. Sioux City is out of range from your location.


Before the digital conversion, I used to be able to get KPTH/44 on a pretty consistent basis in Omaha, and KCAU/9 came in but barely viewable overnight and in the early morning hours. After 2009 I could only get Sioux City sporadically, usually on warm humid mornings.


All that to say even after you invest in the above antenna and get it installed on your roof, you might still only get Sioux City on occasion.
JoelWNelson is offline  
post #9693 of 9703 Old 05-27-2015, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
JoelWNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just got back home (Missouri) from a weekend in Lincoln and Omaha and of course I tested the OTA reception again in both cities. KOLN really needs to do something about OTA reception in Lincoln. Using my portable indoor antenna I had no problems with ABC, NBC or Fox, as well as subchannels including MyTV/MeTV, by way of the channel 18 and 31 repeaters in Lincoln. But no CBS. Gray owns KWAZ-LP 35 - they really need to get that upgraded to digital and then put 10/11 on that signal. I know Lincoln is a strong cable market and KOLN comes in fine with a good VHF antenna. But if they could put CBS on 35 digital, it would be a nice perk.
JoelWNelson is offline  
post #9694 of 9703 Old 05-27-2015, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Papillion, NE
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelWNelson View Post
You're going to need something like this: ...
Even then, no guarantees. It might get Sioux City channels one day and not the next, or part of a day and not the next. Sioux City is out of range from your location.


Before the digital conversion, I used to be able to get KPTH/44 on a pretty consistent basis in Omaha, and KCAU/9 came in but barely viewable overnight and in the early morning hours. After 2009 I could only get Sioux City sporadically, usually on warm humid mornings.


All that to say even after you invest in the above antenna and get it installed on your roof, you might still only get Sioux City on occasion.
Disappointing ... but Thank You advcomp2019 and JoelWNelson for your replies.
Vincent Miller is offline  
post #9695 of 9703 Old 05-30-2015, 07:40 AM
Member
 
dfunk44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is CenturyLink in Omaha all digital like Cox is doing? I just want Internet and clear QAM.
dfunk44 is offline  
post #9696 of 9703 Old 06-01-2015, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfunk44 View Post
Is CenturyLink in Omaha all digital like Cox is doing? I just want Internet and clear QAM.

century link is not cable it is internet based they are already digital box is needed on each tv

Last edited by ajwees41; 06-15-2015 at 02:15 PM.
ajwees41 is offline  
post #9697 of 9703 Old 06-15-2015, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
looks like Cox added or is in the process of adding GritTV(KXVODT3) on channel 129
ajwees41 is offline  
post #9698 of 9703 Old 06-16-2015, 10:58 PM
Member
 
DjohnsonCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
looks like Cox added or is in the process of adding GritTV(KXVODT3) on channel 129
Grit comes through fine on my TiVo TV, but on my small set with a Cox minibox, all I get on 129 is an error message. Cox is of no help. Also, any word on whether or not Omaha will get BUZZR TV?
DjohnsonCB is offline  
post #9699 of 9703 Old 06-17-2015, 06:43 AM
Member
 
jericko76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjohnsonCB View Post
Also, any word on whether or not Omaha will get BUZZR TV?
I hope so, my wife would love that channel!
jericko76 is offline  
post #9700 of 9703 Old 06-18-2015, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjohnsonCB View Post
Grit comes through fine on my TiVo TV, but on my small set with a Cox minibox, all I get on 129 is an error message. Cox is of no help. Also, any word on whether or not Omaha will get BUZZR TV?

no idea on BUZZR sorry
ajwees41 is offline  
post #9701 of 9703 Old Yesterday, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjohnsonCB View Post
Grit comes through fine on my TiVo TV, but on my small set with a Cox minibox, all I get on 129 is an error message. Cox is of no help. Also, any word on whether or not Omaha will get BUZZR TV?
maybe the miniboxes do no not get it we have cablecards no miniboxes, so can't check
ajwees41 is offline  
post #9702 of 9703 Old Yesterday, 11:19 PM
Member
 
DjohnsonCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Grit now comes in fine on my TV with the mini box.
DjohnsonCB is offline  
post #9703 of 9703 Old Today, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
There is definitely NO cable card in the miniboxes. Channel 129 is working on mine.

Last edited by rmalbers; Today at 05:44 AM.
rmalbers is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off