Omaha / Lincoln, NE - HDTV - Page 330 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9871 of 9880 Old 01-26-2017, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Oppliger View Post
So I solved my own problem, and the solution is pretty bizarre. I unhooked the preamplifier from our antenna and everything started tuning again just fine. Usually we need the preamp to get 15 with a reliably strong signal, and it's helped with some of the other stations that have weaker reception - mainly the Lincoln channels. As soon as I disconnected the preamp from the antenna everything started tuning just fine again. I imagine I'll need to hook it back up once the snow melts, but I'm astounded that the weather could have this much of an effect on our signal.
Sounds like your preamp went bad. I would test it behind the tv before putting it back up on the antenna. I guess it could also be the power supply that feeds the preamp also, anyway I would test everything out before going to the work to put it back on the antenna.
rmalbers is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9872 of 9880 Old 01-26-2017, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jericko76 View Post
Looks like NE PBS is adding a 4th sub-channel dedicated to PBS Kids 24/7. As a father of 2 young kids, this is awesome news. The channels are up, but are dark currently.
PBSKids launched January 16th but some affiliates did not get on board at launch due to technical issues.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #9873 of 9880 Old 01-26-2017, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jericko76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
PBSKids launched January 16th but some affiliates did not get on board at launch due to technical issues.

It is now showing promos stating official launch is March 1st.
jericko76 is offline  
 
post #9874 of 9880 Old 03-01-2017, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
jericko76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 64
15.2 is was ThisTV now is TBD

http://tbd.com/



15.3 Was Grit, now Charge!

http://watchcharge.com/
jericko76 is offline  
post #9875 of 9880 Old 03-08-2017, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottChez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't believe what I am watching on the KXVO 15.2 TBD sub channel, it is so bad. Seems like stuff you might find for free on Youtube.
Put a channel on that shows real TV shows or put some kind of Weather channel on that we can all use please.
I am surprised the Cable providers even carry it, in fact COX did not carry it for a few days as they had to think about it, they did carry the 15.3 Charge channel right away.
Lots of repeats and very little unique programing through out the day, it just repeats on and on and one . . . So sad.
I know KXVO reads these as their social media team searches on their call signs to see what people are commenting on .

Channel 15.3. which is the. Charge Channel is really good. Really its like the Grit channel in a way.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jericko76 View Post
15.2 is was ThisTV now is TBD

http://tbd.com/


15.3 Was Grit, now Charge!

http://watchcharge.com/

Last edited by ScottChez; 03-08-2017 at 06:55 PM.
ScottChez is offline  
post #9876 of 9880 Old 03-08-2017, 10:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Since both TBD & Charge! are owned by Sinclair and its on a Sinclair owned station.....dont expect it to be leaving anytime soon

In Minneapolis we lost GetTV and Grit (although Grit is on a DTVAmerica low powered station now)
unclehonkey is offline  
post #9877 of 9880 Old 03-09-2017, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottChez View Post
I can't believe what I am watching on the KXVO 15.2 TBD sub channel, it is so bad. Seems like stuff you might find for free on Youtube.
Put a channel on that shows real TV shows or put some kind of Weather channel on that we can all use please.
I am surprised the Cable providers even carry it, in fact COX did not carry it for a few days as they had to think about it, they did carry the 15.3 Charge channel right away.
Lots of repeats and very little unique programing through out the day, it just repeats on and on and one . . . So sad.
I know KXVO reads these as their social media team searches on their call signs to see what people are commenting on .

Channel 15.3. which is the. Charge Channel is really good. Really its like the Grit channel in a way.
I see what you mean, it does look like it's youtube stuff, I guess it's for people that don't have internet or maybe to lazy to get off the couch to get a tablet or use a keyboard, LOL! If that's the intent it just might work!
rmalbers is online now  
post #9878 of 9880 Old 03-09-2017, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmalbers View Post
I see what you mean, it does look like it's youtube stuff, I guess it's for people that don't have internet or maybe to lazy to get off the couch to get a tablet or use a keyboard, LOL! If that's the intent it just might work!
Oh, BTW, the host gal that's on right now is hot hot hot, that might be part of the marketing also!
rmalbers is online now  
post #9879 of 9880 Old Today, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So I have finally decided to hire Zager's in Lincoln to install a UHF/VHF antenna in my attic, and now I'm thinking again about cancelling DirecTV and going with just OTA and a service like PS Vue.

Do any of you know of a single box (Tivo/Channel Master, etc) that can show an OTA guide AND has access to PS Vue?

I know I could buy a Roku/Apple TV,etc and use that to access PS Vue, but those devices don't include a way to display the OTA guide.

I also know that I could just switch inputs on my TV, but I'd prefer a single box solution even if there was a cost.

Thanks!

Chris

PN59D8000 and HW50ES with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - B&W CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Sweetmeat is online now  
post #9880 of 9880 Old Today, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
So I have finally decided to hire Zager's in Lincoln to install a UHF/VHF antenna in my attic, and now I'm thinking again about cancelling DirecTV and going with just OTA and a service like PS Vue.

Do any of you know of a single box (Tivo/Channel Master, etc) that can show an OTA guide AND has access to PS Vue?

I know I could buy a Roku/Apple TV,etc and use that to access PS Vue, but those devices don't include a way to display the OTA guide.

I also know that I could just switch inputs on my TV, but I'd prefer a single box solution even if there was a cost.

Thanks!

Chris
I'm no expert with streaming but the only way I know of to get close to what (I think) you want is with Kodi and an HDHome run OTA tuner and the HDHomeRun app installed in Kodi and then one of the streaming plugins for Kodi, PS Vue is not supported in Kodi AFAIK. You would have an OTA guide for OTA in the HDHomeRun app and would have to switch to a different streaming plugin for other stuff within kodi but it could all be in the Kodi app.
I guess you have probably looked at the Direct TV streaming service and it doesn't have the OTA stuff.
Also, are you really going to be happy with streaming video quality on that 120 inch screen?
rmalbers is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off