Omaha / Lincoln, NE - HDTV - Page 330 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 38Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9871 of 9895 Old 01-26-2017, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Oppliger View Post
So I solved my own problem, and the solution is pretty bizarre. I unhooked the preamplifier from our antenna and everything started tuning again just fine. Usually we need the preamp to get 15 with a reliably strong signal, and it's helped with some of the other stations that have weaker reception - mainly the Lincoln channels. As soon as I disconnected the preamp from the antenna everything started tuning just fine again. I imagine I'll need to hook it back up once the snow melts, but I'm astounded that the weather could have this much of an effect on our signal.
Sounds like your preamp went bad. I would test it behind the tv before putting it back up on the antenna. I guess it could also be the power supply that feeds the preamp also, anyway I would test everything out before going to the work to put it back on the antenna.
rmalbers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9872 of 9895 Old 01-26-2017, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jericko76 View Post
Looks like NE PBS is adding a 4th sub-channel dedicated to PBS Kids 24/7. As a father of 2 young kids, this is awesome news. The channels are up, but are dark currently.
PBSKids launched January 16th but some affiliates did not get on board at launch due to technical issues.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #9873 of 9895 Old 01-26-2017, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jericko76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
PBSKids launched January 16th but some affiliates did not get on board at launch due to technical issues.

It is now showing promos stating official launch is March 1st.
jericko76 is offline  
 
post #9874 of 9895 Old 03-01-2017, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
jericko76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
15.2 is was ThisTV now is TBD

http://tbd.com/



15.3 Was Grit, now Charge!

http://watchcharge.com/
jericko76 is offline  
post #9875 of 9895 Old 03-08-2017, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottChez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't believe what I am watching on the KXVO 15.2 TBD sub channel, it is so bad. Seems like stuff you might find for free on Youtube.
Put a channel on that shows real TV shows or put some kind of Weather channel on that we can all use please.
I am surprised the Cable providers even carry it, in fact COX did not carry it for a few days as they had to think about it, they did carry the 15.3 Charge channel right away.
Lots of repeats and very little unique programing through out the day, it just repeats on and on and one . . . So sad.
I know KXVO reads these as their social media team searches on their call signs to see what people are commenting on .

Channel 15.3. which is the. Charge Channel is really good. Really its like the Grit channel in a way.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jericko76 View Post
15.2 is was ThisTV now is TBD

http://tbd.com/


15.3 Was Grit, now Charge!

http://watchcharge.com/

Last edited by ScottChez; 03-08-2017 at 06:55 PM.
ScottChez is offline  
post #9876 of 9895 Old 03-08-2017, 10:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Since both TBD & Charge! are owned by Sinclair and its on a Sinclair owned station.....dont expect it to be leaving anytime soon

In Minneapolis we lost GetTV and Grit (although Grit is on a DTVAmerica low powered station now)
unclehonkey is offline  
post #9877 of 9895 Old 03-09-2017, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottChez View Post
I can't believe what I am watching on the KXVO 15.2 TBD sub channel, it is so bad. Seems like stuff you might find for free on Youtube.
Put a channel on that shows real TV shows or put some kind of Weather channel on that we can all use please.
I am surprised the Cable providers even carry it, in fact COX did not carry it for a few days as they had to think about it, they did carry the 15.3 Charge channel right away.
Lots of repeats and very little unique programing through out the day, it just repeats on and on and one . . . So sad.
I know KXVO reads these as their social media team searches on their call signs to see what people are commenting on .

Channel 15.3. which is the. Charge Channel is really good. Really its like the Grit channel in a way.
I see what you mean, it does look like it's youtube stuff, I guess it's for people that don't have internet or maybe to lazy to get off the couch to get a tablet or use a keyboard, LOL! If that's the intent it just might work!
rmalbers is offline  
post #9878 of 9895 Old 03-09-2017, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmalbers View Post
I see what you mean, it does look like it's youtube stuff, I guess it's for people that don't have internet or maybe to lazy to get off the couch to get a tablet or use a keyboard, LOL! If that's the intent it just might work!
Oh, BTW, the host gal that's on right now is hot hot hot, that might be part of the marketing also!
rmalbers is offline  
post #9879 of 9895 Old 03-23-2017, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 74
So I have finally decided to hire Zager's in Lincoln to install a UHF/VHF antenna in my attic, and now I'm thinking again about cancelling DirecTV and going with just OTA and a service like PS Vue.

Do any of you know of a single box (Tivo/Channel Master, etc) that can show an OTA guide AND has access to PS Vue?

I know I could buy a Roku/Apple TV,etc and use that to access PS Vue, but those devices don't include a way to display the OTA guide.

I also know that I could just switch inputs on my TV, but I'd prefer a single box solution even if there was a cost.

Thanks!

Chris

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 4, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #9880 of 9895 Old 03-23-2017, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
So I have finally decided to hire Zager's in Lincoln to install a UHF/VHF antenna in my attic, and now I'm thinking again about cancelling DirecTV and going with just OTA and a service like PS Vue.

Do any of you know of a single box (Tivo/Channel Master, etc) that can show an OTA guide AND has access to PS Vue?

I know I could buy a Roku/Apple TV,etc and use that to access PS Vue, but those devices don't include a way to display the OTA guide.

I also know that I could just switch inputs on my TV, but I'd prefer a single box solution even if there was a cost.

Thanks!

Chris
I'm no expert with streaming but the only way I know of to get close to what (I think) you want is with Kodi and an HDHome run OTA tuner and the HDHomeRun app installed in Kodi and then one of the streaming plugins for Kodi, PS Vue is not supported in Kodi AFAIK. You would have an OTA guide for OTA in the HDHomeRun app and would have to switch to a different streaming plugin for other stuff within kodi but it could all be in the Kodi app.
I guess you have probably looked at the Direct TV streaming service and it doesn't have the OTA stuff.
Also, are you really going to be happy with streaming video quality on that 120 inch screen?
rmalbers is offline  
post #9881 of 9895 Old 03-28-2017, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Our Sony TV with Android supports the PS Vue app and OTA (of course), but perhaps it involves a bit more to buy a TV vs just a streamer...
andersa is offline  
post #9882 of 9895 Old 04-03-2017, 09:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 74
So I finally decided to try and put an antenna up in my attic by myself and I am extremely happy with the results. The antenna I put up there is a Mohu Leaf and was previously getting just 14 channels with it mounted in my basement. Now that I've moved it to my attic I get 32 stations!

I thought that antenna was UHF only as before I couldn't get any Lincoln stations but was getting all of the Omaha networks. Evidently I was wrong because now I get Lincoln's ABC and NBC!

Now that I'm getting all of those channels with my little indoor antenna, I'm thinking I'll cancel my Zager install scheduled for Thursday. I'm still not getting CBS OTA, but I get that from my PS Vue subscription.

I have all of this hooked up with a HDHomeRun Extend and wirelessly transmitting to my 3 media streamers (Apple Tv 4 and Shield Pro).

I think I can learn to live without Directv with this new setup. I've invested a lot of money in this setup, so it's going to many months to make my money back, but In the long run it's definitely going to be much cheaper.

For some reason HDhomerun's software doesn't provide a signal strength but my homeworx $30 device does. I'm going to connect my antenna to my homeworx box and see how my signal strength is and I may still end up putting a larger antenna up there. What antenna would you guys recommend?
duder1982 likes this.
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #9883 of 9895 Old 04-04-2017, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 74
So I started looking at putting in separate antennas (one for UHF and another for VHF) and it appears that I need to use either a splitter or a combiner (or both?) and possibly a pre-amp.

Do any of you use those? Could you recommend one to me, preferably one where it can be bought locally (Omaha or Lincoln)?

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 4, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #9884 of 9895 Old 04-04-2017, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
jericko76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
So I started looking at putting in separate antennas (one for UHF and another for VHF) and it appears that I need to use either a splitter or a combiner (or both?) and possibly a pre-amp.

Do any of you use those? Could you recommend one to me, preferably one where it can be bought locally (Omaha or Lincoln)?
I have a ClearStram 2V, which Walmart now sells for $79 and does both UHF/VHF. Its a great little antenna, very light/easy to mount and not bad looking. I mounted mine on my old DirecTV mount, and used my tvfool report and a compass to align/point and it works great.

Here is mine:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/k9x897rhpw...57.18.jpg?dl=0

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Clearstream-2V-J3/24849758
Sweetmeat likes this.
jericko76 is offline  
post #9885 of 9895 Old 04-09-2017, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I may be posting old information, but I just discovered something that I didn't know existed.

I am getting crystal clear HD channels using my Time Warner (Spectrum) internet cable. To be clear, I only have internet through TWC, and I do not pay any extra for any channels.

I split the coax that was going into my modem, ran one side to my router (which is still working perfectly) and the other side to my HDHomeRun Extend. I ran a channel scan and got 24 channels.

I also tried an older Mediasonic Homeworx 150 device, and it found like 300 channels but all but about 24 couldn't be watched because they were encrypted - but if you don't want to spend $175 on the HDHomeRun you can still get by with the Homeworx.

BTW - The guide doesn't completely match the actual channel, although 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2, 10-2, 10-3, 12-1, 12-2, 15-1 and 18-1 do match

11-1 is KOLN CBS - not ABC
12-1 is NET, not ABC
12-2 is NET-W, not ABC
5000 is c-span
5001 is WGN Standard Def
5002 is NBC Standard Def
5003 is METV Standard Def
5004 is junk
5005 is public access
5006 is junk
5007 is junk
5008 is Wesleyan TV
5009 is same as 5000
5010 and 5011 are currently showing as weak signal

Looks like there's no need for an antenna when you have internet through TWC Lincoln.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1783.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	83.5 KB
ID:	2076305   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1784.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	2076313   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1785.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	2076321   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1786.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	2076329   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1787.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	81.7 KB
ID:	2076337  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1789.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	2076345  

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 4, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex

Last edited by Sweetmeat; 04-09-2017 at 08:18 PM.
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #9886 of 9895 Old 04-10-2017, 04:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 130
The days of unencrypted QAM on cable systems are numbered. Many systems across the country have already made the change and a set top box from the cable company is needed. Your local service area will eventually make that transition.

Enjoy it while it lasts.
Sweetmeat likes this.

Last edited by ProjectSHO89; 04-10-2017 at 05:12 AM.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #9887 of 9895 Old 04-10-2017, 06:52 AM
Member
 
duder1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Papillion, NE
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cox used to install a trap, which would prevent this from happening. Not sure what they do now, as i am more than happy with the programming i currently have.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
Sweetmeat likes this.
duder1982 is offline  
post #9888 of 9895 Old 04-10-2017, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
The days of unencrypted QAM on cable systems are numbered. Many systems across the country have already made the change and a set top box from the cable company is needed. Your local service area will eventually make that transition.

Enjoy it while it lasts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by duder1982 View Post
Cox used to install a trap, which would prevent this from happening. Not sure what they do now, as i am more than happy with the programming i currently have.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
I had never even heard of QAM before now. For the past 15+ years, I was happily paying DirecTV for programming.

I put an antenna in our attic, and I can get every channel I was hoping for. CBS, NBC, ABC, and Fox channels, along with others, from Lincoln and Omaha.

I decided to see if I could get any channels via the internet coax because I remember the internet installer telling me I could get basic channels while waiting for my DirecTV install.

Anyway, glad that I tried and I won't be that disappointed when they go away. The main reason I wanted it is to watch local weather during tornado warnings and other severe storms, when most likely my OTA signal will drop out.
duder1982 likes this.

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 4, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #9889 of 9895 Old 04-10-2017, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottChez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did a Full Scan on Cox Cable. Everything is encrypted now. Only way to get locals on cable is with a box now.
Only thing not encrypted is one channel that says call Cox to sign up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
I had never even heard of QAM before now. For the past 15+ years, I was happily paying DirecTV for programming.

I put an antenna in our attic, and I can get every channel I was hoping for. CBS, NBC, ABC, and Fox channels, along with others, from Lincoln and Omaha.

I decided to see if I could get any channels via the internet coax because I remember the internet installer telling me I could get basic channels while waiting for my DirecTV install.

Anyway, glad that I tried and I won't be that disappointed when they go away. The main reason I wanted it is to watch local weather during tornado warnings and other severe storms, when most likely my OTA signal will drop out.
ScottChez is offline  
post #9890 of 9895 Old 05-06-2017, 12:54 AM
Member
 
DjohnsonCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Low Power diginet channels

In Des Moines and Kansas City, they each have a low-power OTA channel carrying diginets such as Get and BUZZR. Will Omaha ever get this?
DjohnsonCB is offline  
post #9891 of 9895 Old 05-06-2017, 04:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjohnsonCB View Post
In Des Moines and Kansas City, they each have a low-power OTA channel carrying diginets such as Get and BUZZR. Will Omaha ever get this?
You've already got one such licensed to Omaha, it just appears that DTV America hasn't bothered to actually finish it after filing their license to cover.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #9892 of 9895 Old 06-13-2017, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I'm assuming the following article means I'll no longer be able to get cable channels via my internet - correct?

http://journalstar.com/business/loca...E44D3BB98BC55D


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 4, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #9893 of 9895 Old 06-16-2017, 08:22 PM
Member
 
Opusnbill7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Correct, if you mean you're getting channels w/o a box but only paying for internet.
Opusnbill7 is offline  
post #9894 of 9895 Old 08-14-2017, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
PleaseNoTexting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Omaha
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are Cox channels DRM protected or copy protected? I want to use a HDHomeRun Prime with a CableCARD to watch cable TV on Android TV. I just don't know if Cox allows that.
PleaseNoTexting is offline  
post #9895 of 9895 Old 08-14-2017, 07:03 PM
Member
 
MGOMRJSURF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes but might never get Cable systems to add low power stations. Also KOIB has nothing yet in KC area and it's DTV America station.
MGOMRJSURF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off