Raleigh, NC - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 15314 Old 07-30-2003, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sinclair is a company, one of the largest TV and Radio owners in the US I believe. You should search on "sinclair" in the HDTV Programming forum, I'm sure you will come up with plenty of hits. There is a representative of the company that posts at AVS occaisionally under the handle MisterDtv. He is a VP I think and is the one who mentioned that they might finally ne moving on getting some HDTV going. The comany has definitely been against spending anything on HDTV so far and with the weak FCC regs on the DTV transition, they do not really "have" to show any HDTV ever.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman

Do you want a nice Keystone Jack panel behind your TV with HDMI, and Toslink? Check This Thread at AVS
Lee L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 15314 Old 07-31-2003, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty sure that there was a thread on the forum that stated that Sinclair is appropriating funds for HD transitions in markets - not sure if it is all (probably not), but lets not get overboard on the never end....once Fox announced they announced so they should be on board "soon"
mhdiab is offline  
post #273 of 15314 Old 07-31-2003, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Believe it when you see it.... IMHO

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #274 of 15314 Old 08-02-2003, 06:46 PM
Member
 
cgreco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kudos to dafra on all the work he put into his home theater. Just got back from his "unveiling" and have to admit I'm extremely impressed at what he's accomplished, especially since he admitted that he never used a wood router before this project. The custom cabinetry looked great. It was also great to hear about his experiences with issues like light, sound, heat, power, etc. Thanks, dafra, for sharing.
cgreco is offline  
post #275 of 15314 Old 08-05-2003, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an FYI - I emailed WRAL today and asked them what there plans were for NFL HD coverage this season. Here is the reply ...

<<<<br /> Yes, we do intend to air the HD games every weekend including those weekends that we do not air that particular game on WRAL-TV. Hope you enjoy.
>>>

YES! WRAL ROCKS!!
deArgila is offline  
post #276 of 15314 Old 08-05-2003, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Raleighwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by deArgila
Just an FYI - I emailed WRAL today and asked them what there plans were for NFL HD coverage this season. Here is the reply ...

<<<<br /> Yes, we do intend to air the HD games every weekend including those weekends that we do not air that particular game on WRAL-TV. Hope you enjoy.
>>>

YES! WRAL ROCKS!!

We're indeed very fortunate to have such a forward-thinking broadcaster in our immediate area. I can't wait to join the local HD party when my targeted set finally becomes available next month!

Can't wait for ACC action in HD!

Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.
Raleighwood is offline  
post #277 of 15314 Old 08-06-2003, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Bama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone picked up the new STB from TWC in or around the Raleigh area?
Bama is offline  
post #278 of 15314 Old 08-06-2003, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't know they had one - which one is it?
deArgila is offline  
post #279 of 15314 Old 08-06-2003, 03:55 PM
Member
 
dafra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went in to ask on Saturday at the Cary Branch - they said " no plans for any new HiDef Settop box other than the current 3100HD (which I have). They are planning a Tivo/Replay-like box.
dafra is offline  
post #280 of 15314 Old 08-06-2003, 05:35 PM
Newbie
 
GreggD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

A while ago, someone wrote that according to the Cable Act of 1992, Time Warner customers should be able to subscribe to BASIC cable service and rent the HD box without having to pay for the digital tier. Someone else said they tried and failed, but would try again and speak to a superviser. This person said he would report back, but then I never saw any other messages on this topic. So, has anyone successfully gotten Time Warner to provide the local HD channels and yet only pay for BASIC service and the HD tuner box rental? I'd really like to do this and I'd like to hear about successes (and failures). Thanks,

GreggD
GreggD is offline  
post #281 of 15314 Old 08-06-2003, 06:10 PM
Newbie
 
GreggD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I just recently bought an HDTV and I would like to try to get local HD channels over the air. I bought a Samsung SIR-T151 HD tuner at Best Buy and an antenna at Radio Shack. I don't recall the model number of the antenna (I ended up returning it), but it was about 6 feet long and only a few inches thick and deep -- like a long flat bar -- similar in appearance to the Turk 55 (I think that is the correct model). I put the antenna in the attic of our ranch house. Our house is located on a hill (near Crabtree Mall), but there are lots of large trees in our yard. I was able to get most of the HD channels, but they all experienced drop outs and pixelation every few minutes. Here are my (naive) questions:

1. What is the best antenna for an attic?

2. Will I get a better picture with a roof-top antenna? I have heard some people say that the roof is no better than the attic and others say the roof is definitely better (and these were antenna resellers and professional installers).

3. Can someone please recommend a GOOD installer?

4. Approximately how much should I expect to pay for installation of a roof-top or attic antenna?

5. Would I lose anything by splitting the cable to feed 2 TVs?

6. Is a power amplifier (or whatever it's called) recommended?

I know that many of these questions are pretty basic, but I would really appreciate answers to them. Thank you very much for the help,

GreggD
GreggD is offline  
post #282 of 15314 Old 08-07-2003, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by GreggD
A while ago, someone wrote that according to the Cable Act of 1992, Time Warner customers should be able to subscribe to BASIC cable service and rent the HD box without having to pay for the digital tier.

Well, I haven't tried this - but I seem to have read somewhere that the cable companies do NOT have to do this, and it is just a common misunderstanding. I could be wrong, it's worth a shot.

However, I was able to get a really great deal from TWC for switching from satellite. They offered me basic, standard, and digital tiers - including all the HD channels (PBS, ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, DiscHD) - plus all the HBO's (inc. HBO-HD), all the Showtimes (inc. ShowHD) - all for $39.95/mo for a year. That includes the HD box. All I had to do is show them a recent satellite bill.

Quote:


Originally posted by GreggD
2. Will I get a better picture with a roof-top antenna? I have heard some people say that the roof is no better than the attic and others say the roof is definitely better (and these were antenna resellers and professional installers).

5. Would I lose anything by splitting the cable to feed 2 TVs?

6. Is a power amplifier (or whatever it's called) recommended?

2. YES - especially given the area you describe. Height is your friend.
5. You would lose some signal strength - you could use a signal booster if you're experiencing low signals.
6. You really only need an amp if you have a lot of splits, or if the signal coming in is just too weak (even with proper placement of the antenna).

Of course, you could go with TWC and not worry about it!
deArgila is offline  
post #283 of 15314 Old 08-07-2003, 07:46 AM
Member
 
thiruvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, is there not going to be a new STB from Time Warner?
thiruvil is offline  
post #284 of 15314 Old 08-07-2003, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Bob Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Space
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any updates on the TWC availability of the SciAm 8000HD HD PVR?
Bob Michael is offline  
post #285 of 15314 Old 08-07-2003, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any of you sent emails to TWC about HDNet, ESPNHD, InHD, FSNHD, and NBATVHD?

I also went to the HDNet website and sent TWC a fax asking them to add HDNet.

Wouldn't it be nice to have all these channels in the line-up?
deArgila is offline  
post #286 of 15314 Old 08-08-2003, 05:37 AM
Member
 
keefer37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been tempted to go back to Time Warner cable for the current HD lineup they have, but with the fiasco I've had this week with our RoadRunner service, I'm reminded why I switched from TW to DirecTV for our TV service.

"There's such a fine line between stupid and clever" - David St. Hubbins
keefer37 is offline  
post #287 of 15314 Old 08-11-2003, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
WildBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think this is old news. UNC HD is up OTA right now. First time I have seen that OTA and the 3-5 sub channels are off at this time.
hmmmm
Wonder if they are going to only do 2 channels at night and then more during the day (without HD).
WildBill is offline  
post #288 of 15314 Old 08-11-2003, 07:02 PM
Member
 
jeremiah75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
keefer37,

I keep thinking the same thing. TWC offered me the same service I am getting with DirecTV with two months of free service (totally free) and a lower price.

I thought about at least trying it out.

But then I thought about how unhappy I was with thier service and HD cable box.

I will recommend them to people just starting with HD, because the initial cost is less. But I am most happy with DirecTV and all the HD channels they have. And I haven't had any service headaches with them.
jeremiah75 is offline  
post #289 of 15314 Old 08-11-2003, 07:06 PM
Member
 
keefer37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jeremiah75,

I'm definitely staying put with DirecTV. I've had no problems, complaints or anything with DirecTV.

While I had constant problems with Time Warner. I'm totally psyched cause as of Friday, they won't even be getting any cash from me for my high speed Internet. I'm moving to Verizon DSL. Woo hoo!

Another plus on DirecTV for the present -- ESPN HD tonight: Eagles & Saints.

"There's such a fine line between stupid and clever" - David St. Hubbins
keefer37 is offline  
post #290 of 15314 Old 08-12-2003, 03:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Right now I get the local triangle HD OTA (well, most of it - I really need to get a better antena). I'm waiting for someone to make a decent HD PVR (mostly TiVo, since I have one already and love it) before I make a final decision between cable and satellite. Once the OpenCable standards are in fuller use and I can, in theory, buy an HD digital PVR to use on TWC, it comes down to wo things. The customer service and channel selection. While this may change by the time I make a "final" decision, currently I can get HD locals on TWC, but I can't with DirecTV. Since I can get them OTA where I am, that may not end up mattering, but if you can't get your HD locals OTA, that might end up being a *really* big deal.

I'm no fan of TWC, so I guess I'd qualify my first post to this thread as some random thoughts.
pkscout is offline  
post #291 of 15314 Old 08-13-2003, 06:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
WildBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just corresponded with Jimmy Goodman at WRAL last night. After we heard that USA network was going to use the CBS HD equipment to telecast some HD coverage we had hoped that at least the WRAL-HD station could broadcast the USA network feed. Sorta like what was done for some of the Masters coverage.

However Jimmy said that USA network had made arrangements directly with TimeWarner Cable to broadcast a USA HD feed. He didn't say which market specifically that TWC would do this, just that they had agreed. So... The net result is that WRAL can NOT broadcast any of the HD stuff from USA (of course they WILL have the normal CBS feeds).

So, not matter what I am out of luck because even if TWC in Cary/Apex does provide the HD feed from USA, since I don't have the digital package I won't see it.

I just hope for those of you that have the digital package & HD-STB that you get to see some great tennis. Nighttime tennis in HD is a sight to behold.
WildBill is offline  
post #292 of 15314 Old 08-13-2003, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by WildBill
I don't think this is old news. UNC HD is up OTA right now. First time I have seen that OTA and the 3-5 sub channels are off at this time.
hmmmm
Wonder if they are going to only do 2 channels at night and then more during the day (without HD).

I checked last night but it was about 11:15 and the 4.2 channel was black. I figure they are probably cutting the HD feed at 11:00 though so I will look again tonight. I did notice that the signal strength was the highest I had ever seen on UNC, I wonder if they upped the power on their transmitter as well?

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman

Do you want a nice Keystone Jack panel behind your TV with HDMI, and Toslink? Check This Thread at AVS
Lee L is offline  
post #293 of 15314 Old 08-13-2003, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With PBS's OTA reception, between 8pm and 11pm sub channels -3, -4 and -5 will be off the air while the subchannels -1 SD and -2 HD will be on the air. Between 11pm and 8pm sub channels -1, -3, -4 and -5(all SD) will be on the air while subchannel -2 HD will be off the air. This began Sunday evening August 3rd.

On TWC all 5 subchannels will be on 24/7. You can look at the Wilmington NC thread were UNC-TV's head engineer posted this info.
Daryl L is offline  
post #294 of 15314 Old 08-14-2003, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
WildBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool thanks for the update Daryl.

Lee, I noticed that the signal strength of PBS is much higher as well. From my house, it is on par with WRAL and that is a good strong signal.
WildBill is offline  
post #295 of 15314 Old 08-18-2003, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Jbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. I've been lurking every now and then here, and I finally am up and running HDTV in S. Chapel Hill area. I have a decent roof top channel master and am getting most DTV signals I see here, with two notable problem areas: WUNC (and I can see the antenna from my house!) and NBC 17 DTV channels. I've seen them every now and then so I know they are there, but they mostly do not show up. This antenna is pointed to max out the biggest number of stations and I get fox and CBS and ABC etc just fine. I get analog 17 just fine. I can see why WUNC might be a problem because I am pointed away from them. Perhaps a rotor might be in order - but I'm already getting Greensboro CBS fairly routinely.

Can anyone shed light on the NBC DTV signals? Is the tower more distant or in a different direction than channels 17 and 5-1 etc? Or is there signal just weak (temporarily or all the time)? It's hard to believe I might need bigger than a 10 foot antenna for any local channel.
Jbach is offline  
post #296 of 15314 Old 08-18-2003, 07:53 AM
Member
 
Raleighwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pardon me if this is a dumb question, but has there ever been any thought given to forming a Triangle HD user's group, so to speak? It'd be cool to have meetings and invite people like Jimmy Goodman and folks from other stations broadcasting HD to hear about their HD plans, etc.

If it doesn't already exist, circumstances don't really permit me to organize it myself, but I'd sure be interested in attending the meetings when I could.

Dan

Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.
Raleighwood is offline  
post #297 of 15314 Old 08-18-2003, 08:03 AM
Member
 
keefer37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Raleighwood, that soudns like a cool idea. I'd be interested in attending as well.

"There's such a fine line between stupid and clever" - David St. Hubbins
keefer37 is offline  
post #298 of 15314 Old 08-18-2003, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Raleighwood
Pardon me if this is a dumb question, but has there ever been any thought given to forming a Triangle HD user's group, so to speak?

The Raleigh HT/HD Club was formed a few years ago. I don't know if it still exists.

Here are some threads.
Raleigh HD/HT Club List
Raleigh HT/HD Club Visits the Studios of WRAL-TV/DT in Raleigh, NC
Erik Garci is offline  
post #299 of 15314 Old 08-19-2003, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Jbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay RTP folk, can any of you help me with NBC? The tech there said their tower is right there with channel 17, but that sometimes the DTV signal direction comes in better with an offset. And the FTC didn't allocate as much power to their signal as to WRAL. That's unfortunate for Chapel Hill folks, because the next NBC DTV signal is from Winston Salem. I get that one about as often as 17-1, and I'm pointed in the opposite direction.

Do any of you have solutions to 17-1.
Jbach is offline  
post #300 of 15314 Old 08-19-2003, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I feel your pain and wish I could help. I can't get NBC either (except the rare evening when all the planets align). Of course, I'm using an indoor antenna, so I *think* getting a channel master and putting it in my attic should do it. It's on my list of things to do within the next couple of weeks. No rush though, as none of the stuff I watch on NBC is in HD anyway (at least it wasn't last year).

But if I could get NBC over the air then I could switch to DirecTV after they release their HD PVR and not worry about paying DTV for locals (and get my locals in HD since DTV isn't carrying any locals in HD).
pkscout is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off