Raleigh, NC - HDTV - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 15335 Old 05-25-2004, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
daggerNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fuquay Varina, NC
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
NBC17ENG - just want to say thankyou for participating in this forum!
daggerNC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 15335 Old 05-27-2004, 10:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
ENDContra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like NBC 17 HD has went to $hit again.
ENDContra is offline  
post #903 of 15335 Old 05-28-2004, 04:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
gillcup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 662
SA 3250HD boxes with IEEE 1394 (firewire) output are now available (I have one). I am recording successfully except for Showtime HD which has no audio. This seems to be a problem at other locations as well. I received a note regarding HD DVR's also. Here is the response:

"We anticipate releasing HD DVRs in early June, however no concrete launch date has been given. We have pushed back the initial launch timeframe to June so we will have an ample supply of HD DVRs for the initial rollout."

Mark

There is a very thin line between "hobby" and "mental illness". - Dave Barry
gillcup is offline  
post #904 of 15335 Old 05-28-2004, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Excellent news about the HD DVR gillcup. I can't wait!

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
post #905 of 15335 Old 05-28-2004, 11:16 AM
Member
 
wjarrettc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cary, NC USA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by gillcup
"We anticipate releasing HD DVRs in early June, however no concrete launch date has been given. We have pushed back the initial launch timeframe to June so we will have an ample supply of HD DVRs for the initial rollout." [/b]


I just signed up for TWC this past week and I got the same response from about 4 different people. They're really good at the party line. I also asked what the fee would be to rent the box, and they seemed to indicate it would be the same as the SD PVR, $6.95, but no one really seemed to know for sure.

Years have gone by and I've finally learned to accept myself for who I am: a beggar of good football. I go about the world, hand outstretched, and in the stadiums I plead: A pretty move, for the love of God. And when good football happens, I give thanks for the miracle and I don't give a damn...
wjarrettc is offline  
post #906 of 15335 Old 06-01-2004, 09:39 AM
Member
 
mikedaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm out in the woods chapel hill and just got my ota equipment setup this weekend. I can pull in the digital versions of PBS, NBC, ABS, CBS and FOX fine, but I'm only getting around 40% (and no picture) for UPN and WB. They are all supposedly at the same antenna farm, yet UPN and WB are listed as blue on antennaweb for me while the others are red. Are these 2 stations broadcasting with less power or something like that? Just curious what others are experiencing...
mikedaul is offline  
post #907 of 15335 Old 06-01-2004, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep - our local WB and UPN stations are run by Sinclair Broadcasting (known for their low enthusiasm of HDTV) and they are on STA's (Special Temporary Authority) for low power transmission of their ATSC channels. - I beleive each station is using less than 10KW transmission power.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #908 of 15335 Old 06-01-2004, 10:27 AM
Member
 
splogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh/Cary/RTP, North Carolina
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Time Warner is working on adding the signal "pass through" capability for the 3250 boxes for our area? I have a couple of Pace boxes and one SA 3250. I like the 3250 better than the Pace, but I like the ability of the Pace to pass through signals unaltered (without scaling them).

Sean

"If you can't win, change the rules."
splogue is offline  
post #909 of 15335 Old 06-01-2004, 03:30 PM
Member
 
mikedaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ah ha - so that explains it! Thanks for the info Scooper.
mikedaul is offline  
post #910 of 15335 Old 06-02-2004, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
NBC17ENG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wendell, NC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBC 17 DT is off the air due to a cooling line burst at the transmitter. The transmitter building is flooded with glycol, and we hope to patch the leak and get the transmitters fired back up as soon as possible. It's a sticky mess to clean up, and I just had the floors stripped and waxed!

The analog transmitters are not affected.
NBC17ENG is offline  
post #911 of 15335 Old 06-03-2004, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
NBC17ENG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wendell, NC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WNCN-DT signed back on about midnight. The repairs and clean up took 4 hours to complete.
NBC17ENG is offline  
post #912 of 15335 Old 06-03-2004, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
NBC17ENG, thanks for the info. In time for tonights premiere of Come to Papa.
Daryl L is offline  
post #913 of 15335 Old 06-03-2004, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey, I love a good industrial accident picture.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman

Do you want a nice Keystone Jack panel behind your TV with HDMI, and Toslink? Check This Thread at AVS
Lee L is offline  
post #914 of 15335 Old 06-07-2004, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
OK, it's early June...

Any HD-DVR sightings?

Sooke

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
post #915 of 15335 Old 06-07-2004, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikea28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sooke - my installer told me he heard september. who knows though...

Westinghouse 42w2 1.00 | TiVo HD 1TB | Sony DVP-NS70H | Panasonic SA-XR55 | Paradigm Monitor 9 & CC-350 v1 | Harmony 676 | Vista MCE HTPC
mikea28 is offline  
post #916 of 15335 Old 06-07-2004, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by sooke
OK, it's early June...

Any HD-DVR sightings?

I don't know about TWC, but I have one of the HDTiVos from DirecTV and love it. I got on a preorder list in January and got one of the first 200 or so shipped commercially. With 30 hours of HD recording (or 200 of SD) and that ability to record two shows at a time (OTA as well as satellite) it really is a nice box. If you're tired of waiting for TWC and can get satellite, it might be worth a look.
pkscout is offline  
post #917 of 15335 Old 06-07-2004, 10:19 PM
Member
 
mswilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by sooke
OK, it's early June...

Any HD-DVR sightings?

I called today and they said the standard "sometime in June, we don't have a specific date"

Matt
mswilson is offline  
post #918 of 15335 Old 06-07-2004, 10:50 PM
Member
 
jaysoffian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by pkscout
I don't know about TWC, but I have one of the HDTiVos from DirecTV and love it. I got on a preorder list in January and got one of the first 200 or so shipped commercially. With 30 hours of HD recording (or 200 of SD) and that ability to record two shows at a time (OTA as well as satellite) it really is a nice box. If you're tired of waiting for TWC and can get satellite, it might be worth a look.

Yeah, but $999. Ouch.

j.

p.s. - Does anyone know if any TWC NC employees frequent this forum? I'm trying to order Time-Warner service for my new home in NC from CA (where I currently) reside. TWCNC makes it very difficult. The online forms suck if you want to order multiple services from them (cable, internet, phone) and you get zero confirmation once completing the form. The 866 # on their website cannot be reached from CA, and the local service center #'s I tried are constantly busy. They seem not to want my business, but BellSouth sucks so much more, I'm trying my darndest to give it to them...
jaysoffian is offline  
post #919 of 15335 Old 06-07-2004, 10:56 PM
Member
 
mswilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jaysoffian
The 866 # on their website cannot be reached from CA, and the local service center #'s I tried are constantly busy. They seem not to want my business, but BellSouth sucks so much more, I'm trying my darndest to give it to them...

I'm pretty happy when dealing with twc-nc locally... 919-595-4TWC normally works for me, but it has been busy lately. Things seem a little more busy at the start of the month.
mswilson is offline  
post #920 of 15335 Old 06-08-2004, 06:58 AM
Member
 
ewtroan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jaysoffian
p.s. - Does anyone know if any TWC NC employees frequent this forum? I'm trying to order Time-Warner service for my new home in NC from CA (where I currently) reside. TWCNC makes it very difficult. The online forms suck if you want to order multiple services from them (cable, internet, phone) and you get zero confirmation once completing the form. The 866 # on their website cannot be reached from CA, and the local service center #'s I tried are constantly busy. They seem not to want my business, but BellSouth sucks so much more, I'm trying my darndest to give it to them...

Thay have been unusually busy the last week -- dunno why. Before now I've always gotten right through on the local numbers.

Fwiw, I have to give TWC-NC a big kudos on customer service. I used satellite for years until I moved into my most recent house, and switched to TWC for the HD content and roadrunner (it's a new neighborhood and I never got a good answer on DSL). So far, Time Warner has been great. There roadrunner service has been reliable, the tech support on it doesn't suck, and when we've had cable cuts (2 in 2 days thanks to some drainage work being done) they were both fixed within four hours. I've been shocked by how good their service has been. The only things I'm really unhappy about are no HD DVR (which I've just decided to blame Scientific Atlanta on) and no ESPN HD (which is a corporate problem).

Erik
ewtroan is offline  
post #921 of 15335 Old 06-08-2004, 11:02 AM
Member
 
mswilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ewtroan
I've been shocked by how good their service has been. The only things I'm really unhappy about are no HD DVR (which I've just decided to blame Scientific Atlanta on) and no ESPN HD (which is a corporate problem).

Well, if the delay gets the quality of DVR up (which I doubt), I'm willing to wait. I've already taken one Explorer 8000 back with a dead hard drive. The new one works a little better, but is still slow to respond and stutters often.

I would really love it if Time Warner could drop the PowerTV Explorer hardware for something better. I still hope that Moxi (website here) will make it one day. They just added PowerKEY support last month, so Time Warner could (in theory) deploy it on their network. I'm betting that it's still too expensive...
mswilson is offline  
post #922 of 15335 Old 06-08-2004, 11:31 AM
Member
 
kenstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Durham,NC
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In defense of the 8000 DVR - I have had 2 since TWC first gave them out and have not had one problem with either. Several of my friends also have the 8000 and zero problems. The 8000 DVR's gets heavy usage from the wife and kids - and they have not been able to break them yet.
kenstr is offline  
post #923 of 15335 Old 06-08-2004, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ewtroan
The only things I'm really unhappy about are no HD DVR (which I've just decided to blame Scientific Atlanta on) and no ESPN HD (which is a corporate problem).

Erik

These are the exact two reasons I dumped TWC for Voom. I'm still waiting for the HD-DVR (similar timeline expected - October, I think) - but at least I've been enjoying the many ESPN-HD events that have been on and will be on before TWC gets their head out of their a$$.
deArgila is offline  
post #924 of 15335 Old 06-09-2004, 07:06 AM
Member
 
ewtroan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by deArgila
These are the exact two reasons I dumped TWC for Voom. I'm still waiting for the HD-DVR (similar timeline expected - October, I think) - but at least I've been enjoying the many ESPN-HD events that have been on and will be on before TWC gets their head out of their a$$.

Need an antenna, switch to DSL, reprogram pronto...

Inertia wins. No matter how much my two year old enjoys saying "VOOM!" (which he
does enjoy. a lot)

Erik
ewtroan is offline  
post #925 of 15335 Old 06-09-2004, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Does anyone NOT hear a "pop" when they change channels to RALHD or RAZHD using the SA3250 box from TWC?

I occasionally here this "snap" or "pop" when changing to those two channels. No problem with other channels. Sometimes it is pretty loud.

I am trying to determine if this is an issue with MY SA3250 box (which I could fix by swapping it in for another) or if it is an issue with all of them. I'm about to invest in a receiver/speaker system and I was kinda worried about damage to it. Would like to fix this issue first.

Thanks,

Sooke

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
post #926 of 15335 Old 06-09-2004, 09:49 AM
Member
 
macnbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all! I'm new to the forums, great place though.

Some news on the HD DVR front..

I spoke with a TWC employee today, they said that they have the actual SA8000HDs in stock, waiting to go, but they do not have the software yet. They said that as soon as they receive and install the software onto them, then they'll be ready for launch.

It's getting closer folks!

Also on the popping issue, I have an SA3250, and I've never heard the audio popping on any channel whatsoever.

I do have to say, I've really enjoyed TW's service in Raleigh, I've never experienced a single problem with any of it, and they've always been responsive to what ever questions I had. While it would be nice to have ESPN-HD, I know that it's outside of the Raleigh office's control. In fact, knowing the Disney corporation, I'm willing to bet that the hold-up is more on their end than Time Warner's.. (wanting some obscene amount for Time Warner's picking it up)
macnbc is offline  
post #927 of 15335 Old 06-09-2004, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Welcome to the forum macnbc!

Maybe I'll try swapping the box. Ofcourse, it would be nice to swap it for the HD-DVR Hope they get the S/W soon.

Sooke

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
post #928 of 15335 Old 06-09-2004, 11:45 AM
Member
 
kenstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Durham,NC
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sooke, I sometimes hear the "pop" when changing channels on the 3250. It is not really loud enough that it ever made me think it was going to damage any av gear.
kenstr is offline  
post #929 of 15335 Old 06-09-2004, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally posted by kenstr
sooke, I sometimes hear the "pop" when changing channels on the 3250. It is not really loud enough that it ever made me think it was going to damage any av gear.

Yeah, I'm probably being a worry wart. But it is also annoying.

Sooke

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
post #930 of 15335 Old 06-09-2004, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ewtroan
Need an antenna, switch to DSL, reprogram pronto...

Inertia wins. No matter how much my two year old enjoys saying "VOOM!" (which he
does enjoy. a lot)

Erik

Except that ...

1. they provide and install the antenna (for free)
2. you can keep roadrunner - I did
3. the voom remote is layed out very similar to the TWC remote - (I also have a pronto) - reprogramming took 30 seconds.

PS - and my 3 year old not only enjoys saying Voom - but watching it Animania's cartoons in HD are cool.
deArgila is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off