Raleigh, NC - HDTV - Page 511 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2014, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NW VT
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post
Anything new ?
This is new (to me, at least)...

http://www.broadcastingcable.com/news/local-tv/abc-discontinue-live-well-network/131646
ejb1980 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2014, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
What do you suppose WTVD will chose as a replacement for LiveWell?
The Raleigh DMA already has most of the available diginets. Will WTVD go back to having a weather feed?
veedon is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 07:03 PM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
What do you suppose WTVD will chose as a replacement for LiveWell?
The Raleigh DMA already has most of the available diginets. Will WTVD go back to having a weather feed?
No news on a replacement just yet.

However, I am crossing my fingers for some Classic Disney! Running on the subchannel of a major-market ABC station, it makes perfect sense!

Would writing letters, submitting a petition, or starting a Facebook group help any?

And apologies if it looks like I'm "trolling" every "R.I.P. Live Well" message; a free, all-family network is like a breath of fresh air...WAVES!

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv_junkie87 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
What do you suppose WTVD will chose as a replacement for LiveWell?
The Raleigh DMA already has most of the available diginets. Will WTVD go back to having a weather feed?
No news on a replacement just yet.

However, I am crossing my fingers for some Classic Disney! Running on the subchannel of a major-market ABC station, it makes perfect sense!

Would writing letters, submitting a petition, or starting a Facebook group help any?

And apologies if it looks like I'm "trolling" every "R.I.P. Live Well" message; a free, all-family network is like a breath of fresh air...WAVES!

dtv_junkie87
I really can't imagine Disney doing that. They make too much money from DVD sales of the true classics ("Snow White", "Bambi", "Pinocchio", etc.), so they wouldn't be willing to put that stuff on free TV. And the live action Disney movies from the 60's and 70's were really not that great, so I can't see a station full of those movies commanding much of an audience.
veedon is offline  
Old 07-16-2014, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
jbwhite99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess this isn't surprising - WRAL has now developed the first 4K programming by a local station. Even less surprising, it includes another Capitol Broadcasting company - the Bulls.

http://www.wral.com/wral-achieves-an...tary/13811223/
jbwhite99 is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 01:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 5,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 125
The "first" would be if they actually broadcast something in 4K... Lots of things shot on film going back before my lifetime have the equivalent of 4K-8K resolution... and in recent years things shot using digital cameras have been shot in 4K... so I'm not sure what is "first" about this if you really look at it.

Yeah baby!  It's Halloween!
HDMe2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 11:57 AM
Member
 
Bruce Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbwhite99 View Post
Guess this isn't surprising - WRAL has now developed the first 4K programming by a local station. Even less surprising, it includes another Capitol Broadcasting company - the Bulls.

http://www.wral.com/wral-achieves-an...tary/13811223/
4K is a solution in search of a problem.

The human visual system can resolve detail at around 0.6 arcminute per line pair. That's an excellent eyeball in excellent conditions. Now I'll grant that looking at a light source (which is what a TV really is) is pretty good conditions. So... do the math (and you thought you'd never need that high school trigonometry!).

Turns out that most people don't sit close enough to their TVs to get the benefit from increasing resolution from 720 to 1080. If they are getting the full benefit of 1080, asking them to move to 4k, while keeping everything else the same, is asking them to cut the distance between their seat and the TV in half. If they don't, there's little point to the increased resolution. Think about that -- would you move your seating position that close to your TV? I wouldn't.

Same exact thing applies in theaters. Sony has done the research and published a white paper on it (which I can't find the link for when I need it, of course). Basically, they concluded that even in a modern (stadium seating) theater, you had to be sitting in the first few rows to get the benefit from 4K. The farther you get from the screen, the less detail you can resolve. If you are sitting mid front to middle, 2K is all you resolve. Middle to mid-back, 1080. Mid-back to the back row, 720.

And this is why nearly all the DCPs going to your local theaters are 2K. Just because they've got that fancy 4K Sony projector doesn't mean they are showing you a 4K movie. Nearly all of them are projecting just 2K. And most of the films not captured using Red cameras are actually captured at less than 3K. Skyfall was mostly shot on Arri cameras at 2.7K, and was a sharp and clean on the screen as anything I've ever seen, including the parts of The Dark Knight which were shot on 65mm film, the highest resolution media available (think 8K+).

Like I said, 4K is a solution in search of a problem.
Bruce Watson is offline  
Old 07-17-2014, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Well when you go in the stores, all they are pushing these days are those overpriced Ultra HD 4K LEDs. But I honestly think that regular HD cable and OTA antenna TV looks best on the basic 720p plasma from Samsung. And right now the 51 inch F4500 model has been selling for $399. Great TV, excellent price. No need for unnecessary upconversion, despite what the salesmen says. Too bad these plasmas are being phased out, as they truly seem to be the best bang for the buck. And for future tech, the LG OLED model at HHG looks like a nice replacement for plasma, as the blacks are very good and there is no side angle vision fade like other LCD/LEDs. But those prices need to come down.
tylerSC is offline  
Old 07-18-2014, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Bruce Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Well when you go in the stores, all they are pushing these days are those overpriced Ultra HD 4K LEDs.
Yep. Just like they pushed 3D before this. How'd that work out for 'em?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
But I honestly think that regular HD cable and OTA antenna TV looks best on the basic 720p plasma from Samsung. And right now the 51 inch F4500 model has been selling for $399. Great TV, excellent price. No need for unnecessary upconversion, despite what the salesmen says. Too bad these plasmas are being phased out, as they truly seem to be the best bang for the buck. And for future tech, the LG OLED model at HHG looks like a nice replacement for plasma, as the blacks are very good and there is no side angle vision fade like other LCD/LEDs. But those prices need to come down.
Yep. I'm using a Panny 1080 plasma and an OTA antenna supplied by WRAL back during "the conversion". Works a treat. But then, I'm only about 12 miles from the Garner antenna farm. It bloody well should work a treat!

I'm not actually against 4K, or QHD, or whatever anyone wants to call it. But unlike the move from SD to HD for which just about anyone got a big boost in image quality, the move from HD to QD isn't going to be much, if any, improvement for most people.

Especially when it looks like everyone is going to be watching TV on their smartphones. What would be the point of 4k on a smart phone?
Bruce Watson is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 11:43 AM
Member
 
mchrisbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Guys,
I'm hoping you experts can help me with a question. Are there any TWC HD DVR boxes in the Raleigh area that can be controlled via IP? I can control all of my other AV equipment directly via IP using my android phone but I don't see a way to do this with the cable box. Is this possible?
mchrisbrown is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Hi,


Anyone using the iView 3500STBII in the Raleigh NC area? Would like to know if it works with the local TWC before I buy.


Thanks.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
NBC17ENG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wendell, NC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little heads up on some tower work happening next week. We are removing the unused channel 55 antenna we were using prior to the DTV Transition in 2009 next week, which may affect off air reception for local channels. Stations on the shared tower will switch to side mounted antennas during the day while workers are removing the antenna at the top. These side mounted antennas have reduced coverage from the regular antennas. The work will last about a week.

WRAL and WRAZ will use their aux antennas during the day and return to full coverage each evening.
WNCN will use an aux antenna and remain on it for the duration of the tower work.
WLFL will go to very low power during the day, and half power in the evenings.
WRDC and WTVD are not affected by this work and will remain at full power.

Their are 6 TV Broadcast antennas atop the tower, currently only 4 are being used.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCP_3352.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	234729  
NBC17ENG is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NW VT
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by NBC17ENG View Post
A little heads up on some tower work happening next week. We are removing the unused channel 55 antenna we were using prior to the DTV Transition in 2009 next week, which may affect off air reception for local channels. Stations on the shared tower will switch to side mounted antennas during the day while workers are removing the antenna at the top. These side mounted antennas have reduced coverage from the regular antennas. The work will last about a week.

WRAL and WRAZ will use their aux antennas during the day and return to full coverage each evening.
WNCN will use an aux antenna and remain on it for the duration of the tower work.
WLFL will go to very low power during the day, and half power in the evenings.
WRDC and WTVD are not affected by this work and will remain at full power.

Their are 6 TV Broadcast antennas atop the tower, currently only 4 are being used.
Thanks for the heads-up.
ejb1980 is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by NBC17ENG View Post
A little heads up on some tower work happening next week. We are removing the unused channel 55 antenna we were using prior to the DTV Transition in 2009 next week, which may affect off air reception for local channels. Stations on the shared tower will switch to side mounted antennas during the day while workers are removing the antenna at the top. These side mounted antennas have reduced coverage from the regular antennas. The work will last about a week.

WRAL and WRAZ will use their aux antennas during the day and return to full coverage each evening.
WNCN will use an aux antenna and remain on it for the duration of the tower work.
WLFL will go to very low power during the day, and half power in the evenings.
WRDC and WTVD are not affected by this work and will remain at full power.

Their are 6 TV Broadcast antennas atop the tower, currently only 4 are being used.
Will NBC-17 top mount their current antenna after the channel 55 antenna is removed? Or will they remain side mounted? I believe the Charlotte DTV signals in Dallas are still side mounted, except for WBTV. I think WCNC and WJZY still have the 36 and 46 analog antennas on top of their towers, although WCNC did have a permit to top mount and increase power. When WBTV built their digital channel 23 antenna, it was initially top mounted and the channel 3 analog antenna was side mounted and moved down lower on the tower. And they have a very good omnidirectional signal. So I wonder how many DTV antennas are still "temporarily" side mounted in various markets?
tylerSC is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
NBC17ENG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wendell, NC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In case you are curious...

Here's the baby antenna we are using on the air while the tower work progresses and a look at the old channel 55 antenna we just removed. Those of you with antennas that are still getting our signal, congratulations! Your antennas are working perfectly. The ERP on this baby antenna is only about 48 kW, and most people with indoor antennas have been able to find it by adjusting their home antennas. It does appear the trouble spot through the tower is Western Durham and Chapel Hill and the extreme outer reaches of the normal pattern.

Please drop me a PM to let me know if you still have our baby signal or lost it completely and you general location or email us at dtvanswers@wncn.com
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tempantenna.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	353.2 KB
ID:	250954   Click image for larger version

Name:	ch55 closeup.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	328.9 KB
ID:	250962   Click image for larger version

Name:	ch55 antenna.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	407.6 KB
ID:	250970  
NBC17ENG is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by NBC17ENG View Post
In case you are curious...

Here's the baby antenna we are using on the air while the tower work progresses and a look at the old channel 55 antenna we just removed. Those of you with antennas that are still getting our signal, congratulations! Your antennas are working perfectly. The ERP on this baby antenna is only about 48 kW, and most people with indoor antennas have been able to find it by adjusting their home antennas. It does appear the trouble spot through the tower is Western Durham and Chapel Hill and the extreme outer reaches of the normal pattern.

Please drop me a PM to let me know if you still have our baby signal or lost it completely and you general location or email us at dtvanswers@wncn.com
What is the sixth antenna on that tower? You mentioned five of the antennas (WNCN, WRAL, WRAZ, WTVD, and the old Channel 55 antenna that was just removed), but what is the sixth antenna, which is currently unused, and has it ever been used in the past?
veedon is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The sixth is WLFL/22
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
The sixth is WLFL/22
How could I forget them? They even brought us Villanova football yesterday. Quite a game.
And WRDC featured the Rhode Island Rams. How's that for knowing the local market?
veedon is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
The sixth is WLFL/22
I think I misread the original post. WTVD is apparently not on that tower, so even with WLFL included, there is an antenna unaccounted for. The post said that four of the six antennas were in use.
veedon is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yeah you're right, I forgot about the last one too when I posted that. It might be WLFL's old channel 57 DTV antenna?
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
NBC17ENG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wendell, NC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
I think I misread the original post. WTVD is apparently not on that tower, so even with WLFL included, there is an antenna unaccounted for. The post said that four of the six antennas were in use.
Number 6 is the channel 57 antenna WRDC used before reverting back to channel 28 after the DTV conversion. It too will have to come down at some time in the future.
NBC17ENG is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NW VT
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by NBC17ENG View Post
In case you are curious...

Here's the baby antenna we are using on the air while the tower work progresses and a look at the old channel 55 antenna we just removed. Those of you with antennas that are still getting our signal, congratulations! Your antennas are working perfectly. The ERP on this baby antenna is only about 48 kW, and most people with indoor antennas have been able to find it by adjusting their home antennas. It does appear the trouble spot through the tower is Western Durham and Chapel Hill and the extreme outer reaches of the normal pattern.

Please drop me a PM to let me know if you still have our baby signal or lost it completely and you general location or email us at dtvanswers@wncn.com
No WNCN for me in Burlington. WNCN isn't the easiest Raleigh signal to tune in due to interference on RF17 in VA, but I can usually get it. WSLS or WXII will peek through OTA for a few minutes every now and then, but WNCN is usually the only NBC I can get OTA. I am glad I am not relying on OTA for football tonight. Go Colts!
ejb1980 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NW VT
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
How could I forget them? They even brought us Villanova football yesterday. Quite a game.
And WRDC featured the Rhode Island Rams. How's that for knowing the local market?
I am liking the American Sports Network, or whatever it is called that is on the Sinclair stations. I hope it is successful.
ejb1980 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post
I am liking the American Sports Network, or whatever it is called that is on the Sinclair stations. I hope it is successful.

I think they will be showing some Conference USA teams, so maybe ECU fans will be interested in that. But I'm wondering how much the station is trying to appeal to transplants from the Northeast.

Oh, wait, ECU isn't in Conference USA anymore.
I can't keep track of all the conference realignments.
veedon is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 09:13 AM
Member
 
drill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still get 17, but it is weak now ... weak enough that i get enough errors that it is unpleasant to watch. FWIW, i am located just north of 540/falls of neuse intersection and use an antenna mounted inside the attic. this setup has worked flawlessly for several years. I still get WRAL/WRAZ at 100%.

when will everything be back to normal?
drill is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
I think they will be showing some Conference USA teams, so maybe ECU fans will be interested in that. But I'm wondering how much the station is trying to appeal to transplants from the Northeast.

Oh, wait, ECU isn't in Conference USA anymore.
I can't keep track of all the conference realignments.
They are showing an Appalachian State game in a couple weeks. Appalachian moved up to the Sun Belt Conference (D-1A) this year. I'm not sure if they are showing it on behalf of App or their opponent, but at least it gets them a game with local interest.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
They are showing an Appalachian State game in a couple weeks. Appalachian moved up to the Sun Belt Conference (D-1A) this year. I'm not sure if they are showing it on behalf of App or their opponent, but at least it gets them a game with local interest.
When I hear "Sun Belt", I immediately think of the mountains of western North Carolina. And when I hear "Atlantic Coast Conference", I immediately think of Louisville down by the banks of the Ohio. The Big Ten now has fourteen football teams, and the Big Twelve has ten.

Hey, but everybody's gotta get those big TV bucks, don't they?
veedon is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NW VT
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Charlotte 49ers @ Elon is showing on WLFL for 9-21. According to Wikipedia, the network will air games from the Big South Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Patriot League, and Southern Conference.
ejb1980 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 09:14 PM
Newbie
 
MonkeyBoyThom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if this is directly responsible but...17.1-17.3 dropped off my radar and I can't get the signal back. I am in Durham, zip code 27701. I have a Channel Master CM-4228HD in my attic that had you coming in loud and clear before. Now I get black screen. No blitting either tonight when I rotated and moved the antenna around while trying to find your signal. Channels for ABC, CBS, FOX and the others (22, 28, 40, etc) come in 5x5.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NBC17ENG View Post
A little heads up on some tower work happening next week. We are removing the unused channel 55 antenna we were using prior to the DTV Transition in 2009 next week, which may affect off air reception for local channels. Stations on the shared tower will switch to side mounted antennas during the day while workers are removing the antenna at the top. These side mounted antennas have reduced coverage from the regular antennas. The work will last about a week.

WRAL and WRAZ will use their aux antennas during the day and return to full coverage each evening.
WNCN will use an aux antenna and remain on it for the duration of the tower work.
WLFL will go to very low power during the day, and half power in the evenings.
WRDC and WTVD are not affected by this work and will remain at full power.

Their are 6 TV Broadcast antennas atop the tower, currently only 4 are being used.
MonkeyBoyThom is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 08:03 AM
Member
 
donnied4rko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm experiencing the same problem but I am in New Light near Falls Lake, 27587. I was getting WNCN without issues up until last week. All other local networks come in clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyBoyThom View Post
I don't know if this is directly responsible but...17.1-17.3 dropped off my radar and I can't get the signal back. I am in Durham, zip code 27701. I have a Channel Master CM-4228HD in my attic that had you coming in loud and clear before. Now I get black screen. No blitting either tonight when I rotated and moved the antenna around while trying to find your signal. Channels for ABC, CBS, FOX and the others (22, 28, 40, etc) come in 5x5.
donnied4rko is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off