Raleigh, NC - HDTV - Page 512 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #15331 of 15348 Old 09-09-2014, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
NBC17ENG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wendell, NC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WNCN switched back to the main antenna this afternoon at 1:20 PM. We tried to switch yesterday and overnight, but the rain never let up. Thanks for all the feedback. The most surprising thing we learned is of the viewers that called or emailed us, 100% of antennas in the attic lost us completely. Indoor antennas were able to get the weaker signal just fine after adjusting the antenna. Makes little sense, but that's science. Go Figure!
NBC17ENG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15332 of 15348 Old 09-09-2014, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm in Winterville, just south of Greenville, with an attic antenna. 60ish miles LOS to the tower. I haven't lost you, WRAL, or WRAZ. Go figure. I got a few breakups here and there but that's all.

Last edited by AndThenScottSays; 09-09-2014 at 03:13 PM.
AndThenScottSays is online now  
post #15333 of 15348 Old 09-09-2014, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No dice on any channels this evening. I used to tune in 17.2 once in a while to watch antenna tv, but I don't have to do that anymore. I don't even try to watch Triangle channels much anymore, since I get so many channels already. I have better luck with Charleston SC than Raleigh.
jspENC is online now  
post #15334 of 15348 Old 09-09-2014, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
MonkeyBoyThom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great evening for a sunset (finally)! Just tuned in and got 17.1 and 17.2 at nearly 100% strength! Great job, y'all! Thanks again for telling us what was going on.
MonkeyBoyThom is offline  
post #15335 of 15348 Old 09-16-2014, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
ENDContra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone happen to know why FOX50 still has to drop to SD when they run a ticker? I thought FOX Network actually designed their HD delivery to allow local affiliates to run tickers/bugs/etc right on top of the HD feed without having to drop to SD. Sorry if this has been covered before, I know its been going on for at least a year...
ENDContra is offline  
post #15336 of 15348 Old 12-20-2014, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Bruce Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ENDContra View Post
Does anyone happen to know why FOX50 still has to drop to SD when they run a ticker?
Just to revive this somnolent forum...

Don't know, but they just did it again during a basketball game today, so their problem persists. It's really ugly, bad enough that I just turned off the TV and walked away. I wonder if that's really the effect they're after?
Bruce Watson is offline  
post #15337 of 15348 Old 12-20-2014, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Any guesses as to what programming WTVD will choose for 11.2 to replace LiveWell next month?
veedon is offline  
post #15338 of 15348 Old 12-24-2014, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
FYI - Couple days ago - Dish and Capital Broadcasting starting a retransmission dispute. The net result of this is that Capitol Broadcasting stations are currently off Dish (WRAL, WRAZ and WILM in Wilmington)

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #15339 of 15348 Old 12-24-2014, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I watch WRAL and WRAZ through my Hopper using an OTA module (my locals are Greenville) and Dish has even replaced the OTA guide data with the "Capitol has removed this channel" wording.
AndThenScottSays is online now  
post #15340 of 15348 Old 01-06-2015, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
Any guesses as to what programming WTVD will choose for 11.2 to replace LiveWell next month?
I never watch LiveWell channel. Nothing on it interests me but that's just me. When are they supposed to make a change?
Daryl L is offline  
post #15341 of 15348 Old 01-15-2015, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
NCCaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Anybody else having problems receiving WNCN 17.1 and 17.2 OTA? I know it worked last week but this morning I got no signal at all over my attic antenna and the signal is normally very strong.
NCCaniac is offline  
post #15342 of 15348 Old 01-15-2015, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCCaniac View Post
Anybody else having problems receiving WNCN 17.1 and 17.2 OTA? I know it worked last week but this morning I got no signal at all over my attic antenna and the signal is normally very strong.

I'm working just fine, even on my Hauppage Tuner card.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #15343 of 15348 Old 01-16-2015, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
NCCaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post
I'm working just fine, even on my Hauppage Tuner card.
Yes, it was working last night for me also. Must have been a temporary issue in the morning.
NCCaniac is offline  
post #15344 of 15348 Old 01-16-2015, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 97
If the story below is accurate, the ABC O&O's, including WTVD, will keep LiveWell programming on the air for at least a few more months, although no new episodes or shows are being produced.

http://www.robertfeder.com/2015/01/1...isnt-dead-yet/
veedon is offline  
post #15345 of 15348 Old 01-20-2015, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well there you have it. ABC O&O stations will be adding LAFF comedy network in the place of the LiveWell SD channel. Looks like they're going to keep the LiveWell HD channel at least for the time being. WTVD is an owned and operated ABC/Disney station.

ABC sticks with LiveWell

Add's LAFF April 15
Daryl L is offline  
post #15346 of 15348 Unread Yesterday, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I had to tune in WRAL last evening to watch the basketball in HD, and also found Grit TV on 28-2. Looks like the whole state pretty much can get Grit TV except the Greenville Market.
jspENC is online now  
post #15347 of 15348 Unread Today, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes - I found the Grit TV channel on 28.2 when I was resetting up one of my ATSC tuners, so I went and added it to all of them that are active.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #15348 of 15348 Unread Today, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sad news out of WTVD. Larry Stogner is retiring immediately - he's been diagnosed with ALS. His final newscast will be the 6:00 on Feb 6th.
AndThenScottSays is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off