Raleigh, NC - HDTV - Page 520 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15571 of 15588 Old 08-04-2016, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm if the TWC Starter TV package (20 or so local channels) is DRM free? I was thinking about the hdhomerun prime with the Channels app on Apple TV but it doesnt support DRM channels. Thanks
beazster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15572 of 15588 Old 08-31-2016, 10:21 PM
Newbie
 
krick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by beazster View Post
Can anyone confirm if the TWC Starter TV package (20 or so local channels) is DRM free?
If by "DRM free" you mean "works without a DTA", then no.

I currently have the TWC "Starter TV" package and they went full digital and scrambled everything a few years ago. If you connect the cable directly to an HDTV without a DTA, it doesn't work.

I'll be dumping Starter TV shortly. As soon as I decide on an HDTV antenna to install in my attic.
Retspin likes this.
krick is offline  
post #15573 of 15588 Old 09-25-2016, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have a question for anyone in the Raleigh market with DirecTV who get WFMY and WGHP as "Significantly Viewed" channels. It appears large portions (or all?) of Chatham and Orange counties get those two channels in addition to the Raleigh locals.

Are these added channels (WFMY and WGHP) in HD in those counties, or just in SD? Are there any blackouts on them of network programming?
cpalmer2k is offline  
post #15574 of 15588 Old 09-25-2016, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 2,841
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1068 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
I have a question for anyone in the Raleigh market with DirecTV who get WFMY and WGHP as "Significantly Viewed" channels. It appears large portions (or all?) of Chatham and Orange counties get those two channels in addition to the Raleigh locals.

Are these added channels (WFMY and WGHP) in HD in those counties, or just in SD? Are there any blackouts on them of network programming?
If they are available, it would be just like the Raleigh channels (HD).

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #15575 of 15588 Old 09-25-2016, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
I have a question for anyone in the Raleigh market with DirecTV who get WFMY and WGHP as "Significantly Viewed" channels. It appears large portions (or all?) of Chatham and Orange counties get those two channels in addition to the Raleigh locals.

Are these added channels (WFMY and WGHP) in HD in those counties, or just in SD? Are there any blackouts on them of network programming?
According to the Directv website, WFMY and WGHP are not in HD. I lived near there for a while and got 3 VA channels as significantly viewed, all SD. WGHP and other Greensboro DMA stations are available in several counties in VA (as SV) but are HD there. It will never make sense to me. There were never any network blackouts in my experience with SV in the area, including sports on those channels.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #15576 of 15588 Old 09-25-2016, 11:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post
According to the Directv website, WFMY and WGHP are not in HD. I lived near there for a while and got 3 VA channels as significantly viewed, all SD. WGHP and other Greensboro DMA stations are available in several counties in VA (as SV) but are HD there. It will never make sense to me. There were never any network blackouts in my experience with SV in the area, including sports on those channels.
I believe one of the engineers has stated previously that most stations only send an HD signal to the cable and satellite companies, and it is these service providers who choose to downgrade the signal to SD in the secondary markets. Which is silly and pointless to me, and one of the reasons I use an antenna for neighboring regional markets. I use an antenna in Greenville, SC to view WBTV from Charlotte with a nice strong signal and clear picture.

In eastern NC, I know WRAL has been carried on many systems outside the Raleigh DMA, but not sure if HD or SD. And unfortunately in the last year it has now been dropped by some systems, possibly as a result of the affiliate change from CBS to NBC. I would hope an antenna would maintain reception in many areas, but perhaps not all. But WRAL has major NC news, weather, and political coverage concerning state govt. and is a station deserving of carriage, especially in HD as the first in the nation. And now they are developing 4K transmission. Well deserved significantly viewed status.
tylerSC is offline  
post #15577 of 15588 Old 09-25-2016, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
I have a question for anyone in the Raleigh market with DirecTV who get WFMY and WGHP as "Significantly Viewed" channels. It appears large portions (or all?) of Chatham and Orange counties get those two channels in addition to the Raleigh locals.

Are these added channels (WFMY and WGHP) in HD in those counties, or just in SD? Are there any blackouts on them of network programming?
I am not sure if DirecTV carries any Charlotte stations in Gaffney, SC. But all of the major Charlotte signals are available with strong reception with an antenna via over the air. Except possibly WAXN or WTVI could be a bit problematic. And WBTV and WSOC are carried on Charter Cable, but unfortunately only in SD which makes no sense to me. And ironically some of the Charlotte signals such as WBTV may be easier to receive in Cherokee County than some of the official market stations from Asheville and Greenville-Spartanburg.

But if any local station is carried on cable or satellite, it should be HD rather than SD zoomed in. Regardless of the designated market.
tylerSC is offline  
post #15578 of 15588 Old 09-26-2016, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I believe one of the engineers has stated previously that most stations only send an HD signal to the cable and satellite companies, and it is these service providers who choose to downgrade the signal to SD in the secondary markets. Which is silly and pointless to me, and one of the reasons I use an antenna for neighboring regional markets. I use an antenna in Greenville, SC to view WBTV from Charlotte with a nice strong signal and clear picture.

In eastern NC, I know WRAL has been carried on many systems outside the Raleigh DMA, but not sure if HD or SD. And unfortunately in the last year it has now been dropped by some systems, possibly as a result of the affiliate change from CBS to NBC. I would hope an antenna would maintain reception in many areas, but perhaps not all. But WRAL has major NC news, weather, and political coverage concerning state govt. and is a station deserving of carriage, especially in HD as the first in the nation. And now they are developing 4K transmission. Well deserved significantly viewed status.
Yes, Directv claims the stations send them both while the stations claim to send them only one signal. I believe it was Foxeng who said that they send one signal with the instructions to letterbox for SD so things weren't chopped off and I would believe him over any CSR at Directv.

My current SD locals (Boston) chop everything. You can't read the score on the ABC games. CBS graphics are chopped. Fox SD is letterboxed, though, and ion, the independents, Spanish networks are all severely chopped. Thankfully, those are rarely needed and the HD is, of course, perfect. My SV locals are an HD-only market (Burlington, VT) so I get those in HD.

WRAL was not available via satellite or cable where I lived, but it's OTA signal was strong and nearly flawless, so it was like I had WRAL when using the AM21 tuner.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #15579 of 15588 Old 09-28-2016, 06:01 PM
Member
 
drill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't get either WFMY or WGHP (they don't show up in my on screen guide).

They DO show up in the directv online Guide when i login to directv.com. They both show up as SD only.
drill is offline  
post #15580 of 15588 Old 09-30-2016, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by drill View Post
I don't get either WFMY or WGHP (they don't show up in my on screen guide).

They DO show up in the directv online Guide when i login to directv.com. They both show up as SD only.
But Raleigh is not Chatham or Orange County...

I have seen them with my own eyes on Directv (in SD) in Orange County...
ejb1980 is offline  
post #15581 of 15588 Old 10-01-2016, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 2,841
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1068 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post
But Raleigh is not Chatham or Orange County...



I have seen them with my own eyes on Directv (in SD) in Orange County...


A week or two ago, the Greensboro Fox station appeared in Raleigh. It was HD.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #15582 of 15588 Old 10-03-2016, 05:37 AM
Member
 
dundakitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Did anyone notice CBS (17.1) dropping out Sunday (10/2) night?
I tried to record Sunday night's "Elementary" but when I checked the recording the first 35 minutes were just a black screen. There was another several second drop-out a few minutes after that. The nightly 11:00 PM local news on CBS (17.1) was just fine.
dundakitty is offline  
post #15583 of 15588 Old 10-03-2016, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dundakitty View Post
Did anyone notice CBS (17.1) dropping out Sunday (10/2) night?
I tried to record Sunday night's "Elementary" but when I checked the recording the first 35 minutes were just a black screen. There was another several second drop-out a few minutes after that. The nightly 11:00 PM local news on CBS (17.1) was just fine.
WNCN Facebook is full of complaints about it. OTA signal was off and affected satellite, but TWC and U-Verse are fiber fed and wer fine.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #15584 of 15588 Old 10-04-2016, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Sad news longtime WTVD news anchor Larry Stogner has passed away.
tylerSC is offline  
post #15585 of 15588 Old 10-04-2016, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 6,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
WNCN Facebook is full of complaints about it. OTA signal was off and affected satellite, but TWC and U-Verse are fiber fed and wer fine.
I would never have known... I must be lucky. The only thing I wanted to watch on CBS Sunday night was NCIS: LA, and my DVR recording of that was complete and no problems... so I guess the outage happened sometime after that?

The Doctor... the Original, you might say!
Where I am when I'm not here!
HDMe2 is offline  
post #15586 of 15588 Old 11-01-2016, 09:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If anyone is having Fox 50 reception issues, here's why...

"We are having some issues with our main antenna line. We are currently operating on our standby antenna which isn't as strong as the main antenna.

We are in the process of determining the location of the fault so we can repair as quickly as possible."
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #15587 of 15588 Old 11-02-2016, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
NCCaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
If anyone is having Fox 50 reception issues, here's why...

"We are having some issues with our main antenna line. We are currently operating on our standby antenna which isn't as strong as the main antenna.

We are in the process of determining the location of the fault so we can repair as quickly as possible."
Hmm....seemed OK for game 6 of the World Series last night. Did not check Fox 50 OTA yet today, though. They better get on it with the winner take all game 7 coming on tonight!
NCCaniac is offline  
post #15588 of 15588 Old 11-02-2016, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just got a message back from them that says as of 5am today they are back on the main antenna.

I haven't been able to get them for several days but I am a good 65 miles from the tower. Signal is good now though.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off