Las Vegas, NV - HDTV - Page 205 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6121 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So your saying that when someone turns a box in they don't reuse it. I doubt it.
lvthunder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6122 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
bcoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvthunder View Post

So your saying that when someone turns a box in they don't reuse it. I doubt it.

That doesn't necessarily make the box "refurbished." It just makes it "used."
bcoombs is offline  
post #6123 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox isn't allowed to give out the 8300HD anymore. As of July 1, all boxes given out must now have the authentication in a separate device (i.e. CableCARD). Cox SA systems such as Phoenix and Las Vegas are generally using the 8240HDC (DVR) and 4240HDC (non-DVR).
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6124 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought they just couldn't order more. I thought they could use them until they break.
lvthunder is offline  
post #6125 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


ยง 76.1204 Availability of equipment performing conditional access or security functions.
(a)(1) A multichannel video programming distributor that utilizes navigation devices to perform conditional access functions shall make available equipment that incorporates only the conditional access functions of such devices. Commencing on July 1, 2007, no multichannel video programming distributor subject to this section shall place in service new navigation devices for sale, lease, or use that perform both conditional access and other functions in a single integrated device.

Most of the returns on boxes are due to technical problems, so they don't end up back in circulation. I've heard of people getting the old boxes on specific request, but in my experience, a new box is always given out if nothing is specified.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6126 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 02:49 PM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

Most of the returns on boxes are due to technical problems, so they don't end up back in circulation. I've heard of people getting the old boxes on specific request, but in my experience, a new box is always given out if nothing is specified.

If they mail you a box , it looks like its "new", but I'm sure they can package up a refurb model just as good as a new one.
gvc is offline  
post #6127 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
vegashomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a reason to keep the old box and not exchange it for a new one?
vegashomes is offline  
post #6128 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 07:09 PM
Member
 
laszlo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vegashomes View Post

Is there a reason to keep the old box and not exchange it for a new one?

i have an 8300hd and an 8240hdc. i may be wrong, but i think the 8300hd has a 80 gb hard drive and the 8240hdc has a 160 gb hard drive. if size matters, i'd exchange.
laszlo5 is offline  
post #6129 of 9227 Old 11-28-2007, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvc View Post

If they mail you a box , it looks like its "new", but I'm sure they can package up a refurb model just as good as a new one.

I always go down to one of the Cox retail stores and pick up a box there. I've never seen a single indication of previous use on any of the boxes I've picked up, even on places one would expect to see wear such as the cable in plug. I don't know how satellite providers work, though I imagine those boxes are probably made to a higher standard since they are purchased rather than leased, and pissing off someone who spent $600 on a box is a sure way to drive them to the competition.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6130 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 06:11 AM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

I always go down to one of the Cox retail stores and pick up a box there. I've never seen a single indication of previous use on any of the boxes I've picked up, .

What other "stores" are there besides the main Rancho location--where you can go to get equipment? When they give you the new equipment, is it packaged in a box or do they just bring out a unit "unwrapped"?
gvc is offline  
post #6131 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 07:48 AM
Member
 
laszlo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvc View Post

What other "stores" are there besides the main Rancho location--where you can go to get equipment? When they give you the new equipment, is it packaged in a box or do they just bring out a unit "unwrapped"?

i picked up my last two set top box's at the henderson office. the box's were tightly packaged and contained the stb, component cables, coaxial cables, splitter, user's manual, remote and batteries. i don't know if they reuse their equipment, but i can tell you from personal experience that i always have gotten new and unused.
it may be that i'm easy to please or i'm lucky not to have the problems some seem to have with cox. the issues i had with cox were resolved years ago when service was spotty and unreliable.
cox reminds me of japanese cars. when they first came out, they were cheap and poor quality... now, cox is reliable and their service is much better than most (although their automated system is a pita).
i often wonder if the reception many complain about is related to the cheap high definition televisions some buy or is it cox? the reception i receive on my two high definition sony televisions is great in high def and standard def (just a thought and not meant to start a new argument).
laszlo5 is offline  
post #6132 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 09:52 AM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Orange County Calif web page:

gvc is offline  
post #6133 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Demodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow...HD Net and HD Net Movies!! I would love to get those here in Vegas...Even if it is an extra $5.

Now available in living COLOR
Demodave is offline  
post #6134 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 01:56 PM
Member
 
JoustGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Henderson, NV.
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demodave View Post

Wow...HD Net and HD Net Movies!! I would love to get those here in Vegas...Even if it is an extra $5.

Just through a cursory look at the HD Movie schedule, is there really a compelling reason to want to pay another charge for movies that can be found via my current set of premium channels (HBO,Cinemax,TMC,Showtime)? I did see an interesting Hitchcock festival. Other than that, I'm not so sure those other movies are worthwhile. What are the quality aspects? Much better than premium or about the same?
JoustGod is offline  
post #6135 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picture Quality on HDNet Movies is one of the best. I don't even think they put a bug on the screen during the movie.
lvthunder is offline  
post #6136 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
LVKeith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They put a bug on the movies in the very lower right hand corner just for a few minutes during each movie. It goes away quickly and is transparent.

I just moved from Cox to D* to get all the new HD channels and HDNet and HDNet movies are 2 of the ones I like best. Quality is very good.

Keith
LVKeith is offline  
post #6137 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Word Maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVKeith View Post


I just moved from Cox to D* to get all the new HD channels. Quality is very good.

Keith

Don't be ridiculous. foghorn2 and Vegggas will go to any lengths to prove you wrong. How DARE you make a statement based purely on what you're seeing and hearing. You MUST be wrong.
Word Maestro is offline  
post #6138 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
microbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did a rescan and now I get CW HD on 6-1.
microbit is offline  
post #6139 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
re: cablecards - the idea forcing them to use cablecards is to make the cable companies eat their own dogfood. If they just required cable companies to support cablecards, they could "support" them in such a halfassed way that it would never be viable from a consumer standpoint to actually want to use them. However, by forcing Cox and other companies to use cablecards, they have to make sure that the implementation works and works properly.

Also, does anyone know what CCI flags are in use on the HDNET channels? I'd only get them if I could record them in HD (I dont necessarily care about copying them onto my PC via TiVo2Go, but I need to at least record them).
doormat is offline  
post #6140 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
bcoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Word Maestro View Post

Don't be ridiculous. foghorn2 and Vegggas will go to any lengths to prove you wrong. How DARE you make a statement based purely on what you're seeing and hearing. You MUST be wrong.

I was wondering how long it was going to take our resident Cox hater to say something unprovoked...
bcoombs is offline  
post #6141 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvthunder View Post

BTW does anyone know how much the M-Cards cost compared to the S-Cards? do they charge you 2 digital gateway fees like they do if you get two S-Cards?

Same price as S-Cards. No.

I like my M-Card a lot more actually - the install took 15 minutes vs 4 visits for my two S-Cards.
doormat is offline  
post #6142 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Word Maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcoombs View Post

I was wondering how long it was going to take our resident Cox hater to say something unprovoked...

Now you know.
Although I don't think my remark was "unprovoked" .It wasn't RECENTLY provoked. But in the past, "provoked" it was
Word Maestro is offline  
post #6143 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doormat View Post

Also, does anyone know what CCI flags are in use on the HDNET channels? I'd only get them if I could record them in HD (I dont necessarily care about copying them onto my PC via TiVo2Go, but I need to at least record them).

HDNet is not live for the public on any Cox system anywhere. Even then, channel flagging varies from system to system, so what is set in OC will have no effect on Vegas or anywhere else. If HDNet is still active in testing mode in Vegas, the flags set on that may very well change when it is activated.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6144 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Word Maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a quote from Vin Scully (celebrating his 80th birthday today and his 59th year as a Dodger broadcaster). Although he said it about baseball, it more than sums up my feelings about Cox Cable.

""Good is not good when better is expected."
Word Maestro is offline  
post #6145 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Demodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Word Maestro View Post

Now you know.
Although I don't think my remark was "unprovoked" .It wasn't RECENTLY provoked. But in the past, "provoked" it was

Internet Troll:

An Internet troll, or simply troll in Internet slang, is someone who intentionally posts controversial or contrary messages in an on-line community such as an on-line discussion forum or group with the intention of baiting users into an argumentative response.

Wikipedia Entry for INTERNET TROLL

Now available in living COLOR
Demodave is offline  
post #6146 of 9227 Old 11-29-2007, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
bcoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demodave View Post

Internet Troll:

An Internet troll, or simply troll in Internet slang, is someone who intentionally posts controversial or contrary messages in an on-line community such as an on-line discussion forum or group with the intention of baiting users into an argumentative response.

Wikipedia Entry for INTERNET TROLL

I don't know if Word Maestro baits as much as he's just a grumpy sourpuss...

And I mean that in the nicest way...
bcoombs is offline  
post #6147 of 9227 Old 11-30-2007, 01:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Word Maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Demodave.

I have been accused by you, of being an "Internet troll" based on the following definition;
"An Internet troll, or simply troll in Internet slang, is someone who intentionally posts controversial or contrary messages in an on-line community such as an on-line discussion forum or group with the intention of baiting users into an argumentative response"

So what's wrong with that? Better to be an "Internet troll" than to read a forum which did not have any new messages at all posted for almost one entire week. But if you feel as if I'm trying to "bait" you, I recommend that you don't bite. But apparently you find the bait irresistible. And you continue to chomp away.
Word Maestro is offline  
post #6148 of 9227 Old 12-01-2007, 08:22 AM
Member
 
jb1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: henderson,nv
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah...i have him on my "ignore"..but he evokes such a response everyone quotes him in replies. i can't get away from it!
jb1219 is offline  
post #6149 of 9227 Old 12-01-2007, 05:14 PM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
According to the "whats new" section on the newest Cox invoice, effective Dec 13, Cox will be adding the following HD channels:

722 TLC
723 HGTV
724 Food Network
727 Discovery
734 CW
gvc is offline  
post #6150 of 9227 Old 12-01-2007, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Demodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvc View Post

According to the "whats new" section on the newest Cox invoice, effective Dec 13, Cox will be adding the following HD channels:

722 TLC
723 HGTV
724 Food Network
727 Discovery
734 CW

Interesting...I think that Cox has already signed the deal for CNN-HD; and that it is available in several Cox markets already. Strange that this will not be one of the new HD channels here.

Nice to see the CW finally get added.

Now available in living COLOR
Demodave is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off