Las Vegas, NV - HDTV - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 9403 Old 10-28-2003, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is a much better place to air out opinions about ESPN's rate increases
It has been discussed on this thread for a while. It appears that most are not happy with the price increase and really do want it on a seperate tier.
Since this directly affects us as viewers (those of us on COX) I thought it should be mentioned so others can find it.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 9403 Old 10-28-2003, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info Vegggas. However, given that I tend to live on ESPN and given that my cable bill is now larger than my power bill, a few extra bucks is like rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic.


Also, I will pile on Mr. Heine....when will I get Leno in HD?
Tallen234 is offline  
post #633 of 9403 Old 10-28-2003, 11:34 PM
Member
 
HeinePaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Tallen234

Also, I will pile on Mr. Heine....when will I get Leno in HD?

Most likely, before Cox offers HD PVR's.
HeinePaul is offline  
post #634 of 9403 Old 10-31-2003, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
benspal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas NV
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's nice to have some football games in HD, but I still can't get a steady picture on Ch13 on Monday nite. None of my other HD gives me this problem so I figure its got to be the channel. Is everyone still experiencing this or am I doing something wrong?
benspal is offline  
post #635 of 9403 Old 10-31-2003, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
bcoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only "problem" that I experience is when the station switches from local to national programming. Otherwise, the games have been excellent.
bcoombs is offline  
post #636 of 9403 Old 11-01-2003, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by benspal
It's nice to have some football games in HD, but I still can't get a steady picture on Ch13 on Monday nite. None of my other HD gives me this problem so I figure its got to be the channel. Is everyone still experiencing this or am I doing something wrong?

Not quite sure what to say... If there is a problem, it may be related to the way your receiver decodes and displays the 720p signal. The Mits TVs do not show native 720p signal, so the tuner you use has to convert it to either 1080i, 960i, or 480p, to show a higher res signal. I don't see what your specific tuner is, but try changing some of your output settings to see what happens to the display. There have been some limited reports that a few sat boxes have some issues with the 720p to 1080i conversion. The next thing would be to see if the box handles the format conversion from 720p to stretched commercials. Try this - When you come back from a commercial and are in HD again, turn the box off the channel, and then back again to see if it re-syncs to the 720p signal.

good luck
vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #637 of 9403 Old 11-01-2003, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tonight at 10:00 PM Eastern, 7:00 PM Pacific, there is going to be an HD basketball game between the Cavs and Blazers shown on NBA TV. We have NBA TV on channel 319 here in Vegas. There does NOT appear to be any special events HD channel on the guide and COX has said that the HD games will be shown on the same channel.
Let's hope we get to see the game in HD on COX. I will be home to try to get the game and post if we can get it and what we have to do. If anyone knows for sure what the situation is, please post here.

thanks
vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #638 of 9403 Old 11-01-2003, 07:39 PM
Member
 
jb1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: henderson,nv
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vegggas

i've been waiting to see if it will appear in hd as well. i have my fingers crossed. hasn't everything else in hd always been on channels numbered in the 700's? i guess we'll find out in a few minutes...

jb
jb1219 is offline  
post #639 of 9403 Old 11-01-2003, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No HD NBA
I'm looking at a letterboxed display of the game in a 4x3 window. This blows.
I scoured through the guide and test channels and even rebooted my box and forced a download. It's not here.
I guess I'll sit and wait on the phone to ask COX what's up with this SD stuff...

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #640 of 9403 Old 11-02-2003, 10:32 PM
Member
 
Outflying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else had any problems with channel 13's hd? For almost 2 weeks now I'm not receiving hd on channel 13. BUMMER! Veggas said something about a reboot? How do you do this? Would this help? Is every one else ok on 13's HD? THANKS!
Outflying is offline  
post #641 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 08:10 AM
Member
 
jb1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: henderson,nv
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC (channel 732 on Cox) did not have their shows in HD last night. I don't know why.
jb1219 is offline  
post #642 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a phone call - Dec 1st is when INHD 1 & 2 are launching along with the price decrease (ummm that's spelled F-R-E-E) for ESPN HD for all digital HD customers here in Las Vegas.

Repeat: INHD 1 & 2 and ESPNHD are going to be FREE for all Digital HD customers, (along with the local HD stations, of course) starting Dec 1st.

It also looks like the NBATV HD deal is only available through INHD. This means the games will be shown on INHD and NBATV with the HD version on INHD and SD on NBATV.

"can you say free boys and girls?" "I knew that you could!"
vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #643 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 06:07 PM
Senior Member
 
bcoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I'm talking about!
bcoombs is offline  
post #644 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, now its time for HD via Cox.
doormat is offline  
post #645 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 08:11 PM
Member
 
jb1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: henderson,nv
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fantastic Vegggas!!

I've been wonderin' about INHD and it's debut....

thanks Cox cable!

jb
jb1219 is offline  
post #646 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you say free does that mean free to those who have digital cable, or does it mean free to those who have the digital gateway, or does it mean free for everyone that has an HD box? I bet it's only free for those who have digital cable. Also why is ESPN-HD going to be free and not Discovery? It doesn't make any sense to have all the channels free except one. With exception to the Movie channels.

My speculation is that they are making ESPN free so if it comes down to it they can pull it if the fight with ESPN and Fox Sports turns ugly. Remember one of the options is to have ESPN and Fox Sports be its own tear.

It's good to hear about InHD though.

Also has anyone heard if/when Fox Sports West is going to do HD?
lvthunder is offline  
post #647 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Half-time! 13-17
Quote:


When you say free does that mean free to those who have digital cable, or does it mean free to those who have the digital gateway, or does it mean free for everyone that has an HD box?

I was told it was going to now be part of the HD Tier that's included to all digital HD customers, including those with the gateway. It sounds like you have to have the gateway as a minimum service to get any tier, other than just the locals with a "dead" box.
Quote:


why is ESPN-HD going to be free and not Discovery?

Don't know? Maybe if they have to pay for every subscriber anyway, they might as well give it to them??? I don't know, I'm not a lawyer, but I do understand the FREE part

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #648 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen the numbers for the ESPN HD subs? Maybe ESPN saw the poor uptake from consumers and lowered the price, and its low enough for cox to put it in the "basic HD" tier.
doormat is offline  
post #649 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good News Vegggas!

One quick question for anyone out there. How do you manually reset a SA3100HD?
Tallen234 is offline  
post #650 of 9403 Old 11-03-2003, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Tallen234
Good News Vegggas!

One quick question for anyone out there. How do you manually reset a SA3100HD?

Pull power plug - Press and hold power button while plugging it back in - Let it circle a time or two and release when it shows something like "br." on the screen and starts to repeat.
Done.
vegggas is offline  
post #651 of 9403 Old 11-04-2003, 12:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
vegashomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of programming will inhd have?
vegashomes is offline  
post #652 of 9403 Old 11-04-2003, 12:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by vegashomes
What kind of programming will inhd have?

From Ken's synopsis at The Official AVS HDTV Programming Synopsis - Fall 2003!
The Press release provided by Ken
And Finally, their website at http://www.inhd.com/
A little bit of everything, so it seems and possibly more. This is also a "special events" channel for "one off" programs and events not carried on other channels as well as a local outlet for HD programming on a regional level.
It now appears that NBA TV is using INHD to show all their HD games, instead of being just a 6 hour a week NBA HD channel. A lot of other stations may follow the same path and show their minimal HD content on these channels too.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #653 of 9403 Old 11-04-2003, 09:29 AM
Member
 
NevadaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Slight change of subject...

Any info on when and if the SA3250HD will be available with the DVI connection software active? Presently have the SA3100HD and would want to upgrade the box when available.

Just got my HD set installed and I am looking for more programming. Hope the INHD programming is good for Dec 1.
NevadaJack is offline  
post #654 of 9403 Old 11-09-2003, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Demodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This info has been available for a while, but I had not seen a post with the specific info yet....so here goes:


What's New From Cox

To accommodate the addition of MTV2 on channel 38 beginning December 1st, the following channels will move to new channel positions: LV One to ch. 19, TLC to ch.33, ABC Family to ch. 74, VH1 to ch. 39 and MTV to ch. 37. Questions? Call 383-4000 or log on to www.cox.com/lasvegas. Cox Communications is happy to announce the addition of 7 new channels to its lineup beginning December 1st. The new channels are MTV2 on ch. 38, Nick Toons on ch. 356, Nick GAS on ch. 357, MTV Hits on ch. 358, VH1 Classic on ch. 359, VH1 Mega Hits on ch. 360, and VH1 Country on ch. 361. Questions? Call 383-4000 or log on to www.cox.com/lasvegas.

Now available in living COLOR
Demodave is offline  
post #655 of 9403 Old 11-09-2003, 04:09 PM
Member
 
jb1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: henderson,nv
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dec 1st i'm looking forward to INHD1 and INHD2! No info on Cox's website about that though.
JB
jb1219 is offline  
post #656 of 9403 Old 11-10-2003, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone forwarded me an email about tomorrow's DVR launch and the HD status of the SA8000 unit.
Quote:


The new Explorer 8000 (DVR unit) is compatible with EOD. Unfortunately, the same is not true for HD. Currently an HD/DVR compatible unit is being developed with testing to occur over the next couple of months. We are hopeful this unit will be available in the first quarter of 2004 and will provide more information in the future on its availability.

Can't figure how to do a poll within a thread - so here goes a lame attempt!

How many will get the SA 8000 DVR:
1) Now - As a way of recording digital content immediately.
2) Later - Only when the HD version comes out and not sooner.
3) Now and Upgrade - Get it now and upgrade to the HD version when it comes out.
4) Now and Later - Get it now AND get the HD version when it comes out.
5) Never - Hell is not cold enough yet!

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #657 of 9403 Old 11-10-2003, 05:41 PM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


How many will get the SA 8000 DVR:
1) Now - As a way of recording digital content immediately.
2) Later - Only when the HD version comes out and not sooner.
3) Now and Upgrade - Get it now and upgrade to the HD version when it comes out.
4) Now and Later - Get it now AND get the HD version when it comes out.
5) Never - Hell is not cold enough yet!

well, to me its a no-brainer( i dont have hdtv yet)..customer service said the box will cost 9.95/month which is only $6 more than the one I'm using now. Well worth it to me. I'll probably wait a few days though before I decide to waste my day waiting in line to make the switch
gvc is offline  
post #658 of 9403 Old 11-10-2003, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Later. With the new HD tier structure coming in december, HD is more important than PVR right now. To me at least. YMMV.
doormat is offline  
post #659 of 9403 Old 11-10-2003, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5) especially if next year Directv can offer HD locals. I think TiVo has the best DVR software of any I've seen.
lvthunder is offline  
post #660 of 9403 Old 11-10-2003, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lvthunder: not likely D* or E* would have HD locals for vegas. Even with all the extra bandwidth from FSS Ku band sats. Their HD Tivo PVR will however have an antenna for OTA HD locals.. is that what you were talkling about?
doormat is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off